We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrogance Costs a Fortune at Renaissance Ft Lauderdale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #32 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 April 2010

I average 4 nights each week in at least 2 different hotels each week so I am a well seasoned traveler. I stayed at The Renaissance Hotel in 17th Street in Fort Lauderdale on April 16 2010 and I will never return. The front desk staff are arrogant, the rooms are well over priced and self parking cost me $8.00 for a mere 90 minutes. In addition, nothing is within walking distance so a vehicle is a necessity. I had several persons attend a meeting at the hotel and could not get so little as one parking card stamped by the hotel manager.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pittston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FTLRenaissanceGM, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2010

My name is Ryan Sistare and I am the General Manager for the Renaissance Fort Lauderdale. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about a recent experience at our hotel. I am very sorry to hear about the challenges you experienced with both the front desk staff and the cost of valet parking.

I would like to share with you that our front desk team conducts continuous service training to ensure that we meeting the expectations of our guests. Having said this, we will be sure to use your comments as an example of how guest perception is a reality for all of us.

Similarly, I understand your concerns in regards to the price of valet parking. In creating a pricing model, we aim to be slightly lower than the nearest Marriott competitor. In the case of hourly parking, we are trending anywhere from 2-3 dollars below other hotels in the area..

As a team, we are committed to delivering on the guest experience and again, I again, apologize for the inconveniences with any issues you experienced and hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,010 - 1,016 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2010

Great location. Within walking distance of the port, cruise terminals, restaurants and more. Clean hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Valet parking is a bit of a challenge and breakfast in the hotel restaurant is overpriced for what you receive. Overall, good place to stay for the money.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

This hotel was alright. Nothing special, my only problem was that I paid too much and expected way too much for what I got. Ideal place for pre-cruise, just don't pay more than 100$ per night. I paid 200$$$ total scam. small pool, lack of service, room below average. No balcony.... my fridge was broken...

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mic_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FTLRenaissanceGM, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2010

My name is Ryan Sistare and I am the General Manager for the Renaissance Fort Lauderdale. Thank you very much for sharing your comments about a recent experience at our hotel. I am very sorry to hear about the challenges you had with the value of the price you paid. While there appears to be other comments regarding this same concern, I can assure you this is not a common theme with our property.

Last year, our hotel was ranked in the Top 20 of Renaissance Hotels in the world for Overall Guest Satisfaction and Product Quality. In addition, we have consistently been noted as an "Outstanding" property with Marriott Quality Assurance property reviews, which is the highest marks a property can achieve.

We are committed to delivering on the guest experience and again, I apologize for the inconveniences with any issues you experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We booked this hotel on a bidding website for 3 nights prior to taking a cruise out of Port Everglades. Check in was a breeze and we were handed our room keys within minutes of our arrival. We had a lovely room overlooking the 17th street bridge and cruise terminal. The location is ideal for dining, restaurants and shopping. We had breakfast all three mornings at Einstein's bagels which serves a variety of various types of bagels. We ate dinner at Bimini Boatyard one evening and Bravo's Italian Restaurant the second night, both across the parking lot from the Renaissance. There is a Walgreen's across the street to pick up last minute items for a cruise and also a Publix and Winn-Dixie supermarket just a few short blocks away. We took the South Beach water shuttle from the Pier just down the street that goes to Miami for the day and had a nice narrated tour through the inter-coastal waterway. There were no issues with the front desk area as we were pleased with the service and our room. We would definitely go back to the Renaissance if we cruise out of Fort Lauderdale in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talcott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

For years, we have stayed at the Embassy Suites before cruises out of Fort Lauderdale. This year, we chose to make a switch to the Renaissance as the nightly rate was about $100 less than the Embassy. The Renaissance is a little further down SE 17th Street and, therefore, closer to Port Everglade. As our cab pulled up, we were greeted by a very efficient bellman, Sam, who, in addition to being very helpful with the baggage, was a wealth of information about the area. The lobby of the Renaissance is attractive and quiet. In fact, the whole property was recently renovated and it has an attractive, somewhat Art Deco atmosphere. Also, there is a continuous supply of coffee or water with citrus in it next to the elevators. Our room was comfortable and nicely appointed with two double beds with retro-looking headboards, a desk and a flat screen TV. The bathroom was perhaps a little smaller than average, but I felt that the Aveda bath products made up for it. From our room, we had a magnificent view of the drawbridge and and all the ships in port. The pool is lovely and surrounded by attractive wicker lounges. Sadly, it was too chilly to swim. The adjacent exercise room has a good variety of equipment for guests. The Renaissance is a few steps from a lovely French bakery and the Bimini Boatyard where we had an excellent fish dinner. There is also a Walgreen's across the street. Pizza, Starbuck's, Office Depot and a liquor store are all within a two block walk. The hotel's breakfast buffet was excellent. There were eggs, scalloped potatoes, oatmeal, fresh fruits, pastries and omelets to order. The orange juice was freshly squeezed. After breakfast, we walked over to see the ships and continued walking about a mile to Fort Lauderdale Beach. (We took the bus back to the Renaissance and it stopped nearly in front of the hotel.) Although there is no complimentary cruise shuttle to the port, the Renaissance will make arrangements for transfers for you. A young lady in the lobby asked us if we needed this service, but we had made our own arrangements. Overall, the Renaissance is a lovely property and the staff were very kind and helpful. We will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We stayed here one night pre cruise and were very happy with hotel and location. Not far from the beach, only about a mile or so. There were all kind of shops on the street to pick up last minute stuff for our cruise (i.e. Walgreens right across the street and also CVS up the street but not in walking distance). The hotel was very clean and the staff was outstanding with anything that we needed. They had on-site parking but it was a fee for that we took the Valet for $20 or $25 and everytime we wanted the car they had it ready for us. Also they didn't have any transportation from the airport but we had a rental car anyway. Easy location from the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CincinnatiElmoe663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We stayed here the night before our cruise, booked thru one of those online make your own bid sites.

Check in was a breeze and very helpful. Room was a little small but suited our needs. The bed was a dream and very much needed after a long day of travel from Seattle. The bathrooms have been renovated but still more is needed, it is showing it's age.

Noise from the hallways can be heard very easily from your room.

Location is very good, Wallgreens is right across the street, Starbucks close by as well as a Publix and total Wine store.

We didn't eat here, we enjoyed a deli for breakfast that was just two blocks away and much cheaper.

We chose to take a taxi to the pier, cost was $12 and we were at the furthest away terminal. The offer a shuttle to the pier at $5 pp.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickie_Bernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#22 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#58 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,304 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,871 reviews
7.5 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Address: 1617 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1720
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £124 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing