We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel staff off the chart. Just awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #33 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hotel staff off the chart. Just awesome”
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We arrived 5 days early for our Cruise so we could explore . The hotel was wonderful,rooms were clean and large just what I needed to hold my shopping adventures. The staff was very helpful and always attentive to our needs . Parking was not bad don't remember what we paid. I will book this hotel again. Extremely clean and tidie.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    427
    186
    70
    46
See reviews for
248
419
73
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Just stayed the one night before our cruise. Arrived in the evening after our flight into Miami from the UK so we didn't get to see the pool area. The room was very pleasant and the bed was extremely comfortable.

When we went for a walk the next morning, it appeared at first that the hotel is kind of in the middle of nowhere, but there is a really nice restaurant (Bimini Boatyard) just behind the hotel, where we had lunch before getting the shuttle bus to the cruise port. We also came back up to this area by taxi after the cruise when we were staying on the beach, to go to the 15th St Fisheries restaurant so this would be another option if you were staying here.

Great for the cruise ship terminal, but I wouldn't say it would be the place to spend your full holiday.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMandyinLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2010

I stayed at the Renaissance with my family the night prior to our cruise. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating upon our arrival and check-in was a breeze. The lobby was extrememly clean and beautifully decorated. The hotel rooms were spacious, comfortable, and clean. My brother and I ordered room service for dinner, which came very promptly. The food was nothing too special, but it was definitely good enough for a nice, quick in-room dinner. A staff member even came a few minutes after our meal had been taken away to make sure we had gotten everything we needed! My family came in very late at night due to an incompetent driving service (not affiliated with the Renaissance) that we had booked to take us to the hotel. When we told them what had happened, they told us we could use the hotel driving service to be taken to the airport when we returned from the Cruise. The vehicle was waiting for us as soon as we disembarked, and we had a hassle-free return trip!
The only issue (and a very small one) was that my family had booked 3 rooms, which all ended up being on separate floors. We would have preferred to be on the same floor, especially because we were travelling with my elderly grandfather. However, the staff came to each floor with us and delivered our luggage to our rooms. Besides that, everything was great - it was a lovely stay - wish we could have been there longer!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliehansell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City, FL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2010

Got this hotel through priceline on the name your price option and stayed one night. Previous reviewer pretty much nailed it. The staff was excellent and the room was clean and the bed comfortable. The main point of this review was to enlighten anyone planning on driving to this hotel and parking. The self park is $20/night and the valet is $25/night, both very high for this area of Ft. Lauderdale. Hotel is located adjacent to an upscale shopping plaza which is owned by the same group that owns the hotel and was told by the staff that they aggressively tow any overnight cars that park in the plaza that have not paid the extortionary rate that the hotel demands the guests of the hotel pay to park. Shower pressure was not great, but very reasonable. Bottom line, this is a fine hotel to stay at, just be prepared for the additional charge if you decide to drive here.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChangesInLatitudes33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FTLRenaissanceGM, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences in our hotel - my Executive team and I take each TripAdvisor review as a serious snapshot of our operation.

In regards to the price of parking, we set our rate levels based upon similar hotels from a market survey conducted in January 2010. As father who enjoys traveling with his family, I understand that this can be an unexpected expense. Having said this, we have chosen to not increase our prices for 2011.

Finally, I would like to share with you that this hotel is owned separately from the commercial real estate and parking lots adjoining the property. Please know that there is no intent to force anyone to park with us by threatening to tow or ticket.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to being you preferred hotel in Fort Lauderdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2010

The Renaissance ended up being a very good place to rest up and recover after a long flight. It is located near Fort Lauderdale Airport, check-in was fast and effecient, there is lots of hot water and Aveda amenities for a nice shower, and the beds are very comfortable. The free wi-fi is a plus and the desk area set-up is effecient. The fitness center is a place to get an adequate work out and there is food and shopping for nececities near-by. The swimming pool area was pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjb415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2010

I had the opportunity to stay at this hotel over a weekend in November. I had not stayed there before and I was looking nice hotel that was reasonably priced and convenient to both downtown Ft Lauderdale and the airport. So I chose this hotel. I was very pleasantly surprised at how upscale it was. It was recently redone and the rooms, bed and mattress were great. I knew it was close to the Intercoastal but didn't realize it was only a block away from the cruise ships. Very convenient for cruisers (and many were there). The staff couldn't have been nicer. When I checked in I had a problem with my room key, so I asked the maid for assistance but her pass key wouldn't work as well so I went to the front desk. They not only were very apologetic, they walked me to my room and tried to open it for me with a new key. Still problems but rather than having me wait for the repairman, she immediately walked me to another room and offer that one to me. She then went down stairs got new keys for the room and walked them back to me. Similar service in the restaurant. They couldn't have been nicer in taking my order and making sure everything was to my satisfaction (which it was from the outset). I plan on using this hotel many times in the future. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeF41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

One night, December 14, 2010 in room 922 for $145 plus tax. This is about average for south Florida room rate. Overnighted for cruise ship from Fort Lauderdale. No van from airport, use taxi for about $20 (with tip). Rooms are clean. Beds very good. Flat screen TV but limited channels and NO HD. Wireless Internet was available but slow. Front desk service is non existant. The 9th and 10 floor had problems with HVAC system but maintenance got that fixed. Breakfast buffet available but extra, not included in the rate. Van service to ship at no additional charge. Walgreens across the street. One outside restaurant in mall next to hotel. If you need a place to stay for one night this property is good. Close to airport and port. Neighborhood is good.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorvetteTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#54 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,592 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#41 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,726 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,942 reviews
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Extended Stay America - Ft. Laud...
#76 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Property: Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Address: 1617 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1720
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing