We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pre-Cruise Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Ranked #9 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Overall, the hotel is a great pre-cruise location; but, I wouldn't want to stay there longer than a night or two. It's a great pre-cruise location because there's lots of fast food eateries (McDonald's, Wendy's, Subway, Dunkin Donuts, and a mom and pop asian food take out, etc.) and places to pick up various sundries (Big Lots, Winn-Dixie grocery store, Sally's beauty supply, etc.) in case you forget to pack something. But there's also a 24 hour laundry mat, a bar,a liquor store, and a few other places that didn't give me warm and fuzzies to be walking around after dark. The word "transient" comes to mind as I saw lots of loiterers. I still rated the property well because the rooms were clean, of close proximity to shopping is what we wanted as well as the free airport to hotel and free hotel to cruise port. They did an excellent job transporting our group of 11 from the airport to the hotel, and even better transporting the the large group of other patrons from the hotel to the airport. As long as your expectations are reasonable the hotel will be a good fit, but if you're looking for a hotel off the beaten path where you might feel comfortable taking a stroll in the evening or early morning, you may be disappointed. Either way, for our one night stay it was obvious they know how to take care of cruise passengers and get them to their destination.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidBlevins, General Manager at Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Howdy Annette D! Thank you for such an informative review! Yes we have some delicious eateries near the hotel you can walk to! I agree just like an other location I wouldn't walk anywhere too late at night. I am so happy the rooms were clean and you enjoyed the shuttle service! We work hard to make sure large groups get transported easily and in an organized fashion. I am glad we took care of you and your family. Thank you for your business! I can't wait to welcome you back soon to PARADISE!

Sincerely,
David Blevins
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,023 - 1,029 of 1,890 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

to be well decorated, maintained, have a decent free breakfast, etc. This was no exception. Beds and pillows excellent. Room well equipped and clean. All staff except one were excellent. (When we asked for a taxi to be called, the one staff member insisted we take a car service to downtown, saying we would save money. It cost $20. We took a taxi back and it only cost $11. We felt very "taken." I presume she gets a cut!)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank csteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidBlevins, General Manager at Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Hello csteen! Thank you for leaving such great feedback! I am so happy to know you enjoyed the decor and breakfast the hotel had to offer. The beds are comfy and I am glad you enjoyed them! It is wonderful to know the staff is excellent. I can't apologize enough for transporation issue you experienced. I want you to know our priority is to make sure you are happy and getting the best price possible. I will let the staff know taxis are cheaper when going to the downtown area. Sometimes taxi services cost more cause the cab driver takes the long way but I am glad to know you got a good deal on the way back! I will make sure to address your situation with the staff member to ensure it doesn't happen again. Thank you for your business! I can't wait to welcome you back to SUNNY South Florida!

Sincerely,
David Blevins
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The staff at the Hampton Inn Ft Lauderdale North is extremely helpful and knowledgeable. They will accommodate you however possible. I would recommend this facility for anyone needing a hotel in this area. it is very conveniently located to the airport, major roads and the cruise port.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Stanley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidBlevins, General Manager at Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Greetings Stanley C! Wow what an awesome review! Thank you for your kind comments about the staff! They work extremely hard to make sure you are happy during your stay. I am very blessed to have them on my team. I appreciate your business! I love to hear you enjoyed the location of the hotel! I can't wait to welcome you back to SUNNY Fort Lauderdale!

Sincerely,
David Blevins
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for one night after flying into Ft. Lauderdale. Location is good, close to airport, walking distance to restaurants. There is a plaza right next door with a grocery store and Slackers Bar & Grill. Hotel is in need of some cosmetic updates, but everything was working properly. We did not encounter any foul smell in room. Beds were comfy and we slept great. I paid $50 after using my HH points, but can see why people get annoyed after being charged $300+ per night when cruises are departing. If they are charging that much for an overnight stay, I think they could invest some of that revenue in the hotel and do a little painting/wallpapering. As I said, I have no complaints about my stay, the price was fantastic, breakfast would cost nearly that much if eating out. Would visit again if the price was decent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Travelerfrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidBlevins, General Manager at Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Hello 1TravelerfromWNY! Thank you for staying us! I greatly appreciate your business! I am happy you enjoyed our location and the stores and restaurants within walkign distance of the hotel. It definitely helps being so close to stores just in case you forget something you may need or you are hungry after a late flight! It is great to know everything works properly and you enjoyed your guest room and breakfast. The most important thing is that you as our guest is happy! I am excited to tell you we are renovating the hotel and the first project is the hallways so we can make the hotel even better! I can't wait to welcome you back to PARADISE for your next vacation!

Sincerely,
David Blevins
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our crews always stay at this hotel when they work down at a plant nearby, excellent & easy booking, and the staff is always so friendly. Rooms are clean and comfortable, our guys always know what to expect when they get there...quality service, quality rooms, and a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidBlevins, General Manager at Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Greeting Alicia W! Wow what an awesome review! Thank you for constantly sending us your business! You have no idea how much we appreciate you! It is great to know my staff takes great care of you and your crews while you stay with us. I love to hear our guest rooms are clean and comfortable. Thank you again for the rave reveiw! I can't wait to welcome you and your crews back to SUNNY Florida!

Sincerely,
David Blevins
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I really wanted to give this hotel 5 stars, but it fell just short. The shuttle from the airport to the hotel was very prompt and efficient. The driver took the time to point out places to eat and pick up any forgotten items. Check in was efficient and friendly. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable - on the small side compared to other Hamptons but it more than met our needs for one night. I wouldn't call the area around the hotel great. It's acceptable and probably pretty typical being so close to the airport. We walked to the shopping mall across the street during lit hours so all was fine. I'm not so sure I would do it at night or alone based on the people standing around the mall. My husband wondered if there was a methadone clinic nearby.

My shortfall was the shuttle. I had booked my 2 rooms almost a year in advance when the shuttle to the cruise port was free. I called 2 times prior to our arrival to confirm this and was assured each time we would not be charged anything additional. At check in, this was confirmed again - no charge since we booked before the policy change. When my bill arrived under the door, both rooms were charged $6 per person for the shuttle! I promptly went downstairs and the clerk assured me this was incorrect, my reservation showed no charge and my credit card would be credited. Needless, to say I'll be checking my card in a few days to confirm I was refunded the charge. The shuttle the next day was chaotic, but I blame it on one very disorganized group of passengers who couldn't quite get it together. Not the end of the world.

Would I stay here again? Maybe...it's clean and the staff is friendly. I just find these little items to be inconvenient and now it's my responsibility to follow up on someone else's mistake. For a longer stay, I would find something closer to the beach or a full service location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weltz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidBlevins, General Manager at Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hello Weltz5! Thank you for a great detailed review about your stay with us! I am so glad the shuttle was prompt and efficient. It is comforting to know your check in was smooth and your guest room was satisfactory! Yes just like an area, I wouldn't walk around too late at night. I am deeply sorry we fell short during your shuttle experience. We do currently charge $6 per person for the shuttle, but if you booked before January we promised we would keep our word and provide it for free. I apologize regarding the misunderstanding, but I am happy to know it was fixed! Mistakes happen and I am happy to know a resolution was provided. Thank you for your business! We will get it right next time! I can't wait to welcome you back to SUNNY Florida

Sincerely,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was a great hotel to stay at before a cruise. The facility was clean, employees were friendly, and they provide a shuttle to/from airport. There is also a shuttle (charge per person) that provides transportation to the cruise port. They also offer pre-paid shuttle services after the cruise is over to the airport which is welcomed. Only negative was lack of seating for the breakfast but we were in a hotel full of cruise-ready customers.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and had no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidBlevins, General Manager at Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Greetings Ann J! Wow what spectacular comments about our hotel! I am so happy you enjoyed all the services we had to offer. It is refreshing to hear you enjoyed your guest room and our friendly staff! Yes, we have our complimentary shuttle to and from the airport and we have a cruise port shuttle for just a small fee of $6 per person. I apologize about the lack of seating during breakfast time, but as you can see we are a super busy hotel! Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate your business! I can't wait to welcome you back to PARADISE!

Sincerely,
David Blevins
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,169 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdal...
#39 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#37 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,259 reviews
8 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#36 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port

Address: 2301 SW 12th Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315-2400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#19 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £111 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing