We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Place Prior to Cruising”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Ranked #78 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Quiet Place Prior to Cruising”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights before cruising out of Fort Lauderdale. Had to wait about 30 minutes at the airport for the free hotel shuttle; perhaps that was due to us arriving around 11 pm. There was some heavy wind the first night which rattled the window facing 17th Street. Slept fine after turning on the room's fan to drown out the noise. The free breakfast consisted of granola and cereal bars so we walked to a nearby restaurant for a real breakfast. Great location for walking to nearby eating establishments and shopping as well as an easy 20-30 minute to Fort Lauderdale beach. Arranged to have the hotel shuttle take us to the cruiseport. Not impressed to find out upon checkout that we would be charged $8 per person to travel such a short distance when the free trip from the airport was a longer ride.

We had a great rate that was much cheaper than the Holiday Inn Express next door. However, since we had to buy breakfast both mornings at nearby restaurants and had to pay to ride the shuttle to the cruiseport, I recommend staying at the HI Express (especially if you get a rate similar to Extended Stay America).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuncanMusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for the review of your stay at our hotel. We are happy that this was a great location for you and that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary ride to and from the airport. I sincerely apologize for the long wait for our shuttle as well as the miscommunication regarding the fee for rides to the cruiseport. This amenity, as well as our Grab - N - Go breakfast, should have been properly explained during the reservation process and at check in; I have already addressed this with my staff.

I will be sure to pass along your feedback as we are constantly striving to improve. Thank you again, please feel free to contact me at fls2@extendedstay.com if you would like to discus this further. We hope we will have the opportunity to regain your confidence in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    105
    91
    33
    27
See reviews for
59
114
39
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Typical two star hotel: limited services, average bed, reasonable rate. Easily the best feature is the location. The hotel is a short distance from the airport and beach just off US1. Several drug stores, supermarkets, fast food, chain and upscale restaurants, post office, and library are within an easy walk. Giorgio's take out across the street is recommended. Business center is inadequate - plan to use adjacent hotel for boarding pass. Skip the coffee available in the morning and walk to Panera or Starbucks a block away. No maid service unless longer stay. Ask for a room away from entrance and elevators to minimize noise.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Neponset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to know that our location was a benefit. I will pass along your comments about the breakfast and business center to upper management, as we do strive to improve our hotel as much as possible.

Again thank you for choosing Extended Stay America and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed, like many, before our back-to-back cruises in May. The hotel has a shuttle for the airport and cruise port! Hotel is near many restaurants and shopping areas, all within walking distance! Our room was spacious and clean. The bed was a little hard, but, tolerable. We were even able to catch a trip to the Everglades right from the parking lot. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful with directions to a local drugstore. Thank you! We would definitely stay here again for our next cruise out of Fort Lauderdale! We love this town!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennie1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
It is so rewarding to read that you had a wonderful stay with us, thank you for your comments. We appreciate you letting us know that our staff was friendly and helpful, however we are sorry for this issue with your bed. We are pleased to hear that we provided you with a comfortable stay.

Our staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed at Extended stay for a good amount of duration - almost 5 weeks. Its really a great place to stay and has basic necessities. The staff is very friendly and quite helpful. The rooms are clean and offer kitchen facilities as well. I am very satisfied with my stay and would definitely visit extended stay in my next trip. I want to mention special thanks to the staff there - namely- Cyndia, Austin(Manager), Moises, Jackeline, Nida and Edwin.
Thanks guys!!!


One suggestion: Please try to add Gym/Swimming pool to the hotel, this would be really helpful and convenient for the visitors!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harpreet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Owner at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Our team really appreciates your kind remarks about the level of cleanliness in your room and our wonderful staff members. I look forward to sharing your remarks with everyone, especially Cyndia, Austin, Moises, Jackeline, Nida and Edwin.

Thank you again for your kind words. We would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at Extended Stay both before and after our cruise. Rooms were super-clean, staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is minutes from the cruise port. They have a shuttle to the cruise port for $4/person. They do not pick up post cruise, however. (I'm not sure that any do.) We stored our bags at the hotel after our cruise (10:15 am) while we went sight seeing. Be aware that their airport shuttle does not run after 5 pm. There are public transportation (Sun Trolley and #40 bus) stops right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Vince - Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. It's great to hear that our staff was caring and pleasant during your stay. We are also glad that you were impressed by our cleanliness and found our shuttle service accommodating.

Thank you again for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Exactly what I was looking for. Needed a hotel for the night prior to a cruise, so wanted someplace that was within walking distance of restaurants & shops. Very clean rooms and super friendly staff all while conveniently located to entertainment and dining. Had cheap transportation to the port, and I wish I knew they had free transportation to the airport. Would definitely stay at this location again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelcie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Chelcie - The staff and I read your review, and would like to thank you for writing such wonderful things about our location. It's great to hear that that we were exactly what you were looking for during your vacation and it would be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The Extended Stay America, Fort Lauderdale, Cruiseport - Airport is a good value for the money. We were looking for a room with a fridge, microwave and table. That is what we got. No frills, no luxury, but it delivered what it promised. Only complaint was hot water for the shower was at a minimum.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We appreciate you letting us know about the issue with the hot water, which was reported. Still, we are happy to read that our amenities were an added value for your stay.

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#31 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#49 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#54 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,609 reviews
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port

Property: Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Address: 1450 SE 17th Street Cswy, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1710 (Formerly Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Airport-Cruiseport, conveniently located within walking distance to the Convention Center, Port Everglades and the Art Institute. Our hotel is designed especially for longer stays with studios featuring fully-equipped kitchens and plenty of work space… amenities you won't find in a typical hotel room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Extended Stay, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina Hotel
Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale
Extended Stay Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing