We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Ranked #79 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
MADISON, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not Worth The Price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I had read some not-so-good reviews of this hotel before we arrived. But, we couldn't find another one to switch to, so we hoped for the best during a two-night, pre-cruise, stay. I called the hotel directly the day before our arrival to check on the "no ice machines in the hotel" comment I had read. I was told they had an ice machine on each floor. I also verified the cost of the room at $208, including all charges. They will charge your for your entire stay when you arrive, which violates rules they are required to follow by the major credit card companies.

Take it from me; there is no icemaker in the entire hotel, and they denied tellng me this. The charges I ended up paying under protest were $262 per night, at least twice what this place is worth. And, one person I spoke with was actually paying $138 per night for this, at best, two-star property.

Despite a great location (near many restaurants and stores, and close to a water taxi stop and Port Everglades) and a decent physical structure, everything about this place screams cheap. Instead of providing a decent experience and charging appropriately, the management thinks it can survive long-term by gouging people on the room price and pinching pennies on every single part of the guest experience. The business center is obviously a filthy old broom closet, with two antique computers trying to access achingly slow internet service. It is kept locked, has no signage, and has one dirty chair, with another available "upon request" at the front desk.

The internet service in the rooms is dreadfully slow and cannot be accessed by following the printed instructions provided, but only by asking how to really make it work.

Their is no daily housekeeping service, the kitchen equipment, like everything else in the place, is the cheapest money can buy. The kitchenette is completely antiquated, the newest part being a $30 miniature microwave. The stovetop must be at least 30 years-old. The mattresses were vary hard, as mentioned in other reviews, yet were so thin I could squeeze the top and bottom togther with one rather small hand.

Tiny bits of the cheapest soap and shampoo were offerred, along with dollar store towels. You could read a newspaper through the toilet paper. The toilet was loose and rocking, despite being siliconed to the floor, indicating some very amateurish maintenance work.

Two positive things about our stay. 1. The air conditioner worked. 2. The staff tried to smile and be nice while enforcing all of endless rules and working in such a cheapo, penny-pinching place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1redleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
The feedback provided in your review is much appreciated. I apologize that you were not pleased with our free Wi-Fi, your mattress or your fully equipped kitchen. As well, I am sorry that our housekeeping policy did not meet your needs. Lastly, I apologize for our lack of an ice machine. Your comments will be considered as we continue to improve our hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly, at fls2@extendedstay.com, with any additional comments or questions. I do hope that you will stay at our hotel, or any of our other Extended Stay Hotels locations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    101
    88
    31
    23
See reviews for
53
109
37
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
México
Level Contributor
124 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We booked about two months prior arrival. Over the phone the guys were very helpful. We were told that they would pick us up at FLL airport. We were. The first person we greeted (and whose name I can't remember) was completely friendly and helpful to our needs. Once we arrived to the property, the girl at the front desk (Cindya) was also very helpful and answered all our questions regarding the hotel and the city and its surroundings. We also were assisted by Moises (a few days after our arrival) and Aragon, who is the manager of the hotel. I want to congratulate them, as they really made us feel as if we were home (one of the goals of this hotel chain).

We were told that every morning from 7 to 9:30, there would be apples, oranges, bananas, coffee, hot chocolate, muffins and oats, and that we could take them to our room or to go. It was a plus, as we saved some time and money on breakfast. You are allowed to take as much as you need.

The room was very nice. They seem to have been redecorated recently. Everything seems new. In the room there are some appliances for your convenience, like microwave, coffee maker, a small stove and even a fridge. In the closet you can find an iron and an iron board. We then bought some food and cook there. The bathroom was pretty nice, clean and spacious. The AC was working perfectly, as well as the TV. The internet, however, was somewhat slow. Not good for streaming some videos on youtube, but good enough for checking e-mail and social networks. On the lobby there is a laundry room with 3 or 4 washing machines and driers. There is, as well, a soda and a snack machine (too expensive, though, better walk to Walgreens which is on the corner or 17th SE and Eisenhower Blvd).

The bad things: the elevators look good, but make a lot of sounds when in use, and they are too slow when opening and closing doors and when operating. And second, they charge you an extra $5 for each day you want the room to be serviced/cleaned. If you do not pay this extra fee you have to clean your room, dry your towels and make your bed, as well as taking out the trash yourself.

Room Tip: Top floors get less noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank César B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am so glad to hear that you were pleased with our newly renovated rooms, our location and your fully equipped kitchen. As well, I’m happy that our grab-and-go breakfast and our friendly, helpful staff met your needs. Still, I apologize that our free Wi-Fi, elevator and housekeeping service did not meet your expectations. Your feedback will be helpful as we continue to improve our guest experience. Thank you again for our comments. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Ft. Lauderdale is dripping with accommodations of all sorts. I wouldn't recommend this at the rack rate of up to $200 per night, but as a Hotwire special for $75 it was great. You can get comfortable with not learning the name of the property until you pay by looking at the percentage of favorable reviews beforehand, which is why I am writing this one. You're most likely to get a deal during the week when the cruise ships are out, because it functions almost like a dormitory for them on the weekends. Each room comes with a well-equipped kitchen. Everything was up to date, beds comfortable with nice linens, staff very friendly and helpful. There is a free continental breakfast buffet in the morning, and popcorn available at the desk to microwave in your room. Rooms are quiet yet the property is convenient to all major highways. Definitely stay here if the price is right.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chalouisduletz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I’m thrilled to learn that you enjoyed our accommodations including our friendly staff, great value and the fully equipped kitchen in your spacious room. The team and I appreciate the kind remarks. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Komoka, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We booked this room last minute on line, before leaving on a cruise, as a one night post cruise stay over. It definitely is only a two star but was clean with a very friendly staff. They are close to the airport and cruise port. They offer free shuttle to and from the airport and for a reasonable fee of $4 per person a shuttle to the cruise port. There are restaurants and shops all very close by, within easy walking distance. All in all a great bang for your buck.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Rick – I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff, convenient location and shuttle service. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great location for us as a pre-cruise hotel. We love the area on 17th street. Lots of restaurants. We walked into the cruise port from the hotel and skipped the shuttle, tough it was available for $4 per person, plus tax. The room is clean and we didn't hear any noise from other rooms, even though I think it was quite full the night before 7 ships left port. The air conditioner worked great, we could keep the room as cool as we wanted, but it is a wall unit and the blower makes some noise. The service is outstanding providing anything we asked for, with the exception of their business center (computer) which apparently wasn't working as the room was dark and locked. My only complaint is that the hotels in this area really raise the prices immediately before the cruises depart. But they all seem to do that, I guess that is price you pay when 20,000 cruisers accumulate in Fort Lauderdale.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Packman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cozumel, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel is in a great area very convinient ubication, but the service is horrible, in 3 nights I stay, they never clean my room, do not even think in step in, worst service ever. Front desk were very helpfull but rooms and house keeping service they do not know what is that.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Everyone on the staff was very friendly and helpful, which is hard to find in Fort Lauderdale. The room is nothing fancy but it's a great value for the dollar. Having a kitchenette is really nice, whether you are staying for a long time or just a night or two. The hotel is recently renovated with a new color scheme and fixtures. Certainly not a fancy place, a curtain on the closet instead of a door and obviously cheaper bathroom fixtures, etc. But it's clean and safe and the staff more than make up for anything it lacks in décor. Very quiet, I never heard another guest even though the hotel was full. Well within walking distance to the convention center, shops and numerous restaurants. No restaurant but a grab-n-go breakfast is free and there are many restaurants close by. Did not try the fitness center so I can't say anything about it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathyfed2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#31 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#54 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,419 reviews
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#27 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port

Property: Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Address: 1450 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1710 (Formerly Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Airport-Cruiseport, conveniently located within walking distance to the Convention Center, Port Everglades and the Art Institute. Our hotel is designed especially for longer stays with studios featuring fully-equipped kitchens and plenty of work space… amenities you won't find in a typical hotel room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Extended Stay and Odigeo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina Hotel
Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale
Extended Stay Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing