We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay before cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park
Ranked #71 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 21 February 2012

All went well and the only negative was we had to wait all day for our room. But, that is the way it goes. We used the beautiful (heated) while waiting, so, you couldn't ask for much more. Breakfast in the morning was pretty good. I would do it again! Go, enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms are 3 levels, pool, bar in the center. Didn't notice any noise, but if you call it a nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WashPA0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

552 - 558 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

Spacious and clean Room. 5 star service. Good location for beach and overall as well.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keeble1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The room looked ok: no bedspread (always a plus) and nice looking light furniture. The bathroom was really good, especially the hand-held massage shower head, which is almost unheard of, even in a high priced hotel. The problem was the room ventilation, which consisted of an exceptionally noisy unit that cycled on and off with a bang every few minutes. It was impossible to fall asleep as you would anticipate the upcoming boom signaling the a/c either turning on or off. Finally, I had to turn off the air conditioning and rely totally on the fan function, which was still really loud, but constant, at least. It was very stuffy in the room and there was the smell of dampness (perhaps mold) coming from the a/c unit. I would guess that they don't change the filter in the a/c unit very often, if ever.
The breakfast was just fine and in general, the place was quite clean. If only it hadn't been one of my worst sleep experiences ever...

Room Tip: You can request a quiet room, as we did. But since we couln't sleep anyway, not much point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaynassister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I spent one night and found the hotel clean and the staff very helpful. The room was not plush but had all the extras. Since the hotel was full, I was worried about noise but all was quiet and I slept very well in a very comfortable bed. The free breakfast was quite good. The shuttle to the airport or the cruise port costs $5.00.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fatima58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Upon arrivial, I thaught it was cute-
We stayed here before catching a cruise-everything the other reviewers said hit it right on the nail. We all recieved a free drink from the tiki bar- the bar tender went out of her way to help us. Was not Happy with the service one bit.Shuttle? Forget it.We had someone with a walker, and asked if we could get a ride to a near by restraunt, we ended up walking,quite a ways.They advertize all the amentities and do not deliver, Shame on you. These are the reasons I opted to stay there. I found the front desk to be almost rude.
The room appered to be clean, turned off the air because I was cold-They had a deoderizer on conditioner, when it was shut off- the room stunk. The place also had bugs, I never saw any, but our friends did. They had a name for them, Can't remember, but where I live they call them cockroaches.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smupmi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This hotel was extremely handy for a one night stay pre cruise. The shuttle from the airport and to the ship worked very well. Because they are very busy due to this service, I found the staff were somewhat overwhelmed. Our friends stayed here 1 night in order to meet us at the end of the cruise and they were locked out of their room at 930 instead of the usual check out time.
The bed was comfortable and the breakfast quite good. I wouldn't stay here for more than 1 or 2 nights or for an extended visit.It is in a business district and quite close to decent restaurants and a shopping center.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joywrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel after arriving on Thanksgiving Day en route to Miami Beach. We were more than disappointed in this hotel. First of all, it is not close to the airport by any stretch of the imagination. It was a good 35 to 40 minutes and that was with very little traffic due to the holiday and the time of day we were arriving. Once we arrived, we were greeted by a very friendly man at the front desk. We were given a coupon for a free drink at the Tiki bar which was nice (until we found out later that it was for a limited selection and a very small drink). When we entered our room, we were very disappointed with the size, cleanliness and appearance. The location of our specific room was also horrible. We were placed in an older section of the building which felt like we had stepped back into the 1950's "motel" era. Our room was on the ground floor only accessible from the sidewalk. We did not like the feeling of our room door opening directly to the outside. Strangely, we did not have cell service inside this room either. In addition, we were situated directly across from the Tiki bar which was quite noisy even though there were only a few people in the bar. The noise would be unbearable if the bar had been full. There were burned out lights and some lights that were just flashing on and off like a strobe light in the ceiling above the sidewalk entrance to all of the rooms in this section. This made the entrance very dark, dank and uninviting. The room itself was very small, very dated, very smelly and very dirty. There were threads and lint all around the carpet indicating the housekeeping staff had not swept after the previous guest. The carpet was worn and dingy. The bathroom was not very clean. The towels were sad - could have read a newspaper through them! So thin, small, and a very dingy off white. There was a strange window in the shower which was apparently at street level because you could hear cars going by while showering and even though the glass is frosted, it was hard to shake the feeling that someone was looking in the window. There was no vent in the bathroom so the entire room was so steamy and hot after showering we almost smothered. This is probably what contributes to the strong musty odor of the room. The bed was not that comfortable and the pillows, as stated in other people's reviews, are the worst pillows we have ever tried to sleep on! They are tiny little square pillows which make you feel like you are resting your head on a cotton ball. Pitiful! There was a taller structure adjacent to this hotel, so we assume this was a newer section of the same hotel. Perhaps this is where some of the other reviewers have stayed because when we read how the rooms were spotless and of adequate size we find it hard to believe we stayed in the same place. Our best advice if you are willing to try this place - refuse to stay in the old section! The pool area was nice with an ample amount of chairs. The bar was nothing special. We did not try the free breakfast as it was only available until 9 am which is way too early to STOP serving breakfast. We were a late arrival and didn't feel like it would be worth getting up early for free food. There are several restaurant options nearby. We would not stay here again. As stated, we had a late night arrival and were driving on to Miami Beach the next day. Had we been staying the week in Ft. Lauderdale, we would have changed hotels because we would not have been able to enjoy a week in that room. We made due for the 12 hours or so that we had to stay. I would not recommend this place for an extended vacation stay. There are many other nicer looking hotels that you pass on the highway en route to this place that are much closer to the airport as well. Overall, we were so happy to have only spent one night here, because this hotel was a huge disappointment. Considering the quality of the accommodations, we feel we overpaid for the room.

Room Tip: Refuse to stay in the old section of the building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2movinon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
6.3 mi away
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/C...
#67 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,195 reviews
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#78 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
215 reviews
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale East
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Laude...
#45 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Port Everglades Cruise Port
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauder...
#60 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
848 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale - Cypress Creek
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale - Cyp...
#53 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
732 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Link Hotel
The Link Hotel
#81 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park

Address: 3001 N Federal Hwy, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33306-1403 (Formerly Oakland Park Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £97 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Oakland Park Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Best Western Oakland Park
Best Western Fort Lauderdale
Oakland Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing