We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park
Ranked #64 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Garden City, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

I arrived in Fort Lauderdale a little after 4:00pm, preceded by a day a sitting around the airport waiting for connecting flights. I called Best Western Plus Oakland Park and requested the free shuttle and was very pleased when I was told that they would arrive soon. The ride with other pre-cruisers was pleasing, listening to their conversations of previous trips to Fort Lauderdale and hoping to pick up the name of good restaurant. I was looking for land marks seen on Google Street and hoping to find stores near the hotel to shop for last minute items for my cruise the next morning. The traffic was heavy since it was rush hour but we were at the hotel within 45 minutes (it might have been less as I was just enjoying the people that I was sharing the shuttle with.

Check in was quick, the desk worker very polite and professional. When I opened the door to my room, I was amazed. The hotel is the car lodge type with at least two levels and the room’s entry from outside. It was very clean on a busy three lane two way highway.

The room looked like something that you might expect from a more upscale hotel. I stayed in another major brands hotel in Miami, paid almost twice as much and the room and surroundings were not this nice. The mirrors on the wall next to the large king size bed gave a look like a luxury hotel. An older but good TV, safe in the closet and bath tube with an exterior window (bars on the window). It was nice to shower and have fresh air in the morning.

There was a pool behind a 7’ wooden fence with latches that were not easy for kids to use which was likely intentional for safety. There was a bar at the end of the pool that appeared nice but I didn’t use the services so I can’t comment on that. It was nice to have it there just the same. I surprised to find a laundry room for patrons with washers and dryers.

The greatest amenity for me was about a block down the street. There was shopping center with a Publix grocery store, Target and assorted shops inside a mall. Down the street from the store was a Wendy’s. The only drawback was that the street was not well lit but I felt safe in the area. I later found the best sandwich and pizza shop that called Time Square Pizza across the street from Target. I will review them later.

There was hot breakfast in the morning with scrambled eggs, breads, sausages, coffee and juice. This was a very nice set up. The shuttle service took me to the port after breakfast. I don’t understand why some give the hotel a bad review. You get a bargain in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    252
    172
    62
    68
See reviews for
177
243
71
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Stayed here the night prior to a cruise. Took forever (almost 2 hours) for shuttle to pick us up at airport. Found out upon checking in, on site restaurant/bar has been closed for some time. Went to book shuttle to pier & only two slots left. Had to be out of room by 11 am & but not be at pier until 2:30 pm, so all our luggage stored (unlocked) in breakfast room. Breakfast was decent but late in being set up. Lady running the breakfast room appeared cranky & had to be asked to unlock the yogurt fridge so we could get some. Shuttle to pier was late & we just about missed ship. Another couple paid & took a cab. Mall was within walking distance & there is a nice little pub/bar within a nearby plaza. Room was clean but we had to haul luggage to third floor. Overall impression of motel was that it looked shady. Okay for one night but will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Second floor for safety. Forget the third floor if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bcbarndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Lauderdale hotels

Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Whenever I travel to Fort Lauderdale, this is where I stay. Great location. Great value (free wifi, free parking, free breakfast). Also close to the gay life in Wilton Manors.

Make sure you checkout bestwestern.com for great deals.


  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Sean_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Stayed here late October (Hurricane Sandy) with wife and 2yr old daughter. Nice, clean and updated rooms. We were on the second floor near the entrance and the room was quiet. Surprised we had to pay for a crib rental when we did not see this on their website. Hot & cold breakfast was average, but we did not really care since we were heading the cruise port to stuff our face :). The pool looked nice but it was too windy for us to enjoy. We also enjoyed the free shuttle from FLL airport and to the cruise port! We would stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bdutra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Front desk was courteous. Rooms and bathrooms were VERY clean! Breakfast was a full hot buffet, included belgium waffle makers. Enjoyed LaDonna at the Tiki Bar. Walking distance to Fort Lauderdale Ale House Restaurant which was a good family restaurant. Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Cool, retro joint on Federal Highway. Simple, three-level motel surrounding a nicely landscaped pool area. Some issues with keycard--when trying to enter the room (from the outside), you're supposed to swipe the card downward in a slot, then turn the handle to open it; ours required a lot of jimmying and re-swiping before it would open.

Vending machines were not working well. Otherwise, great little place for a good price. Pool area was clean, tiki bar was a nice touch. Entire property was quite well-kept, and the staff was friendly. Free breakfast was good, nice selection. Mall across the street, Wendy's nearby, also a chinese restaurant a couple of doors down; otherwise, not much in the vicinity other than banks, retail stores, and professional buildings--nothing that a traveler might need on the spur of the moment.

Shuttle was an hour late arriving to pick us up at the airport--we had to call several times to get an ETA. It seems that you have to be persistent. Also, the driver had to turn around en route to the hotel, go back to tha airport & pick up a couple of late stragglers who missed the shuttle. Bit of a headache, but no big deal.

Lobby furniture looking pretty ratty, and elevators quite antiquated. Overall, though, woth the stay. Room was clean, beds were clean and comfortable. Window in bathroom shower overlooking rear parking lot--good for ventilation.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevzapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Fort Lauderdale
Clarion Inn Fort Lauderdale
#87 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
2.8 mi away
Universal Palms Hotel
Universal Palms Hotel
#79 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#77 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Port Everglades Cruise Port
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauder...
#62 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Northeast
La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Nor...
#69 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/C...
#71 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park

Property: Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park
Address: 3001 N Federal Hwy, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33306-1403 (Formerly Oakland Park Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Oakland Park Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Best Western Oakland Park
Best Western Fort Lauderdale
Oakland Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing