We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unorganized, indifferent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park
Ranked #67 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Washougal, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unorganized, indifferent staff”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed one night following a cruise and booked 6 rooms. The property itself was nice, clean etc. but the staff lacked in customer service. We had arranged for the shuttle to the airport upon check-out--however there was much confusion when it came time for us to be shuttled. The staff finally called a van/taxi, which upon arrival, couldn't accomodate our group. All in all it was a confusing, unorganized mess. Others waiting for shuttle to the cruiseport and airport also experienced the same situation. If you stay here, do NOT rely on their "free shuttle".

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Travelwell61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    258
    181
    66
    71
See reviews for
188
249
76
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2014

this was not available even though I made reservations 4-5 months ahead of time. The price was very high for not receiving room requested. I believe we should have been notified that a handicapped room was not available so we could have made reservations at another hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, California, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

WE stayed night before cruise and one night after. Further away from cruise port but worth it. Very clean hotel, nice, helpful staff. They do offer a shuttle to airport and cruise port. When returning to hotel from either there is a long wait. We took a taxi, $27 from airport and $24 from cruise port

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, FL
Level Contributor
269 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

I made my reservation online but didn't expect too much. But... checking in was super easy and there was plenty of parking. We were up on the second floor and the balcony overlooks the pool and tiki bar area. It was quite pretty. We can see why this would be a fantastic spring break spot for the kids. I was surprised when I walked into the room. It was very clean and appeared as if all the linens, bedding, tv, etc. were relatively new and up to date. This is a BW so the bathroom tiles and fixtures were dated but that was inconsequential to us for a one night stay. There is a small gym and free breakfast. The breakfast area was packed so we just grabbed a coffee and headed out. The coffee was much better than we anticipated. We couldn't hear the street noise so that was great and the bed was comfortable. For the price and location, we would go back for a stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank T2Socks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkanass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at this location for one night. We had a pre-paid room and were notified of an additional $100 deposit but no one mentioned a resort fee. We had been in our room for about 10 minutes when the door opened - apparently no one had notified housekeeping that the room was occupied. She was apologetic but sure caught us off guard without anyone knocking and the door locked. (They do have additional security - we had just not made use of it initially).

The room was clean and tidy. It's an older hotel but was clean. Our room was on the 2nd floor above the tiki bar. Noise between bartender and patrons could be heard up until a little past 10:00 but quieted after that.

They must have a severe problem with some of their breakfast eaters. There are signs posted everywhere in the breakfast area that food is not to be taken from the area - even to the point of workers stopping people and not letting them remove anything (banana, etc.) We were on vacation and my wife likes to sleep in a bit and this hotel already has an early breakfast cutoff of 9:00 am prompt. All she wanted was a muffin but "No way" according to this hotel. Again, if you have a problem with folks removing too much food that is one issue but I think there should be some leniency. Minor maybe but we would never stay at this hotel again based on this fact.

And the additional resort fee did not help at all. I wouldn't advertise free parking, free wi-fi, etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arkansas_Traveling50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midkand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The front desk staff was rude and seemed uncaring. The room was better than I would have guessed based on outside appearance. The worst part was out shuttle ride to airport. The driver appeared drunk and drove very recklessly. He even threw up as we pulled up to a terminal to let other people out. We got out and walked to our terminal. Then we called to talked to GM and he was equally rude and would not even apologize.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Good8999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOPI, General Manager at Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
It is indeed sad when an employee of the same hotel chain will “stoop” to such a low level to try to get complimentary rooms for their stay (2 rooms). Guest did actually threaten to conduct a campaign against this property if the rooms were not complimentary. As for our driver, he definitely was not intoxicated. In fact, this driver left the airport at 5:40 a.m. to my house to drive me to the hotel. The driver was not swerving, weaving from the lane, speeding, or the like. Furthermore, this driver has a good driving record and does not drink. However, the driver was ill and had to leave work when we returned to the hotel. He did seek medical attention and was out from work for four (4) days. This guest has embellished the report of the alleged instance several times. I cannot allow any guest to impugn this employee or this property without a response. I will not divulge the name of the property where she is employed, but her words of “an ok place to stay” are the same words others have written to Trip Advisor to describe her property. Very original. Hopefully, this guest will never get sick at work and be subject to such accusations by others for whatever motives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Lauderdale hotels

Saginaw, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel on January 11th. We took the 5am shuttle on the 12th to the airport. The driver was DRUNK!!!! He was swerving all over the road. He didn't even have the brain to pull over when he had to vomit. He did it in the van. When he finally did pullover to throw up it was in front of the airport, but not at our gate. We all got out, got our own luggage out of the van and walked the rest of the way to our gate. If you stay at this hotel - it's just OK- and use the shuttle make sure that the driver is sober. I have noticed that other people have said the same thing about this driver. They are probably the other people that were on the shuttle with us. This was not a way I wanted my amazing vacation to end. We could all have died!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOPI, General Manager at Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
This review to Trip Advisor was written by a member of the same party of a previous review. Therefore, the response to this review is the same, and it is attached here.
It is indeed sad when an employee of the same hotel chain will “stoop” to such a low level to try to get complimentary rooms for their stay (2 rooms). Guest did actually threaten to conduct a campaign against this property if the rooms were not complimentary. As for our driver, he definitely was not intoxicated. In fact, this driver left the airport at 5:40 a.m. to my house to drive me to the hotel. The driver was not swerving, weaving from the lane, speeding, or the like. Furthermore, this driver has a good driving record and does not drink. However, the driver was ill and had to leave work when we returned to the hotel. He did seek medical attention and was out from work for four (4) days. This guest has embellished the report of the alleged instance several times. I cannot allow any guest to impugn this employee or this property without a response. I will not divulge the name of the property where she is employed, but her words of “an ok place to stay” are the same words others have written to Trip Advisor to describe her property. Very original. Hopefully, this guest will never get sick at work and be subject to such accusations by others for whatever motives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Fort Lauderdale
Clarion Inn Fort Lauderdale
#92 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.8 mi away
Universal Palms Hotel
Universal Palms Hotel
#89 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/C...
#69 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#77 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
6.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Port Everglades Cruise Port
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauder...
#62 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Northeast
La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Nor...
#70 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park

Property: Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park
Address: 3001 N Federal Hwy, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33306-1403 (Formerly Oakland Park Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Oakland Park Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Best Western Oakland Park
Best Western Fort Lauderdale
Oakland Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing