We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #2 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“Exceptional Property”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Beautiful hotel. Very European-like. Everyone treated us like royalty. We will definitely stay again when we return to Ft Lauderdale.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfuccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    118
    35
    21
    9
See reviews for
89
653
34
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2011

There is no better way to take in Fort Lauderdale's waterfront beauty and laid-back poolside lifestyle than to stay at the Pillars. The hotel itself exudes British colonial character, centered around a pool and a lush tropical garden. It's quiet and luxurious, a short walk from the beach but completely insulated from the noise and crowds, situated on a wide stretch of the Intracoastal Waterway with exceptional views of the mansions and yachts of the Las Olas Isles. Best of all, you can have a gourmet dinner at sunset right on the dock. We've stayed at the Pillars twice--each time in July, when it's very quiet and more affordable--and it's always been a perfect getaway.

Room Tip: The New River Suite (Rm. 109) is on the top floor with a private terrace overlooking the water--best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmw64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

This was quite a surprise, who would have thought that such a wonderful little retreat would be right in the middle of all the excitement of Ft. Lauderdale beach. It is a great mixture of old and new, everything was clean, bright, and elegant. Our suite had wooden floors, plantation shutters, 2 bathrooms with all the amenities and my personal favorite, a magnifying make-up mirror. The staff gives you a personal tour upon arrival, and offered my husband a cold beer which was provided in a frosted glass, he was in heaven. You feel as though you have just rented a personal villa with all the attention you receive from the staff. Don't miss the almond french toast for breakfast, and make a dinner reservation, we had a party of 6 and everyone was raving about their entrees. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Book a suite, loved having 2 bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRHPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

What a lovely stay we had at The Pillars. We were aware that it was OUR holiday, and staff wanted to let us have it our way. When we asked for drinks, we were asked where we would like to have them. We hesitated, then the staff person suggested the weather was perfect for having them down on the dock, to make ourselves comfortable, and they would find us. It was perfect. We also had a lovely breakfast there the next day, picked up the water taxi to explore the canal and decided that we were in the centre of the universe at our small hotel.

It wasn't elegant, but it was sparkling clean and the hospitality was superb. We will be back, and we will tell our friends. We missed having dinner here on the dock with the elegant white tablecloths. That looked like a must do, and we just couldn't avoid other commitments.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictoriaGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
97 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Small and cozy hotell on the waterway and just a block from the beach. Very peacefull and perfect for a romantic gettaway. Highly recommended, and we will return ASAP!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ghostviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We stayed for too short a time at The Pillars having stayed up the road for a few nights in a chain hotel.

The staff were incredibly helpful in assisting us in light of supplier failures for our wedding and through their contacts we received in turn great service.

The location of the hotel is ideal, with the water taxi stopping right at the hotel upon request, providing ease of viewing Fort Lauderdale from the water. It is close to many amenities and the beach too.

In all, highly recommended and we would love to have the opportunity to revisit in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PKingWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort lauderdale, fl
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Lovely hotel reminiscent of Key West. Quiet, quaint and perfect for a quick getaway. The Secret Garden restaurant was excellent, with a beautiful view of the intercoastal, especially at sunset.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicacollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,704 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,983 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Property: The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Address: 111 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on New River Sound, a block from the beach, the Pillars Hotel is a beautiful mix of classical British Colonial architecture and 30's "Art Deco". Well-known for its magical sunsets, unpretentious service and its special dining experience, the hotel caters to travelers looking for a sophisticated intimate venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pillars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing