We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Nice Discovery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #2 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
FL
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Discovery”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed in room 115 with our two teenage sons for two nights. The room was nicely appointed and 2 bathrooms were great for a family of four! We had a partial view of the intercoastal waterway and pool. I felt the room was very private and the location of the hotel nicely situated. The beach is a five minute walk (at most), the pool area is inviting, and the dock is fun to watch boat traffic or just relax. The staff are gracious and courteous.
The bed in the main room was extremely comfortable, and while the bathroom is small, it has ample shelving space and readily meets one's needs. The shower is a one person deal. The other bathroom was a bit larger with a tub/shower. The bath towels were generous in size and soft. Bath robes are provided for all.
The boys made due with a pull out sofa and we planned to bring an extra sleeping bag/mattress but forgot. The two don't like to sleep with each other and no roll aways are provided. They figured it out!
It's nice to have a fridge in the room but a coffee maker would have been nice. Coffee is served in the morning by the front desk up until 10 am (I believe).
This is our second visit to Lauderdale and we found this hotel very accommodating. The pricing of the room was better than other places, meaning not paying for two separate rooms. There is no additional charge for parking.
There is a cute little pub/bar nearby......Casa Alahambra (sp?) and while we did not eat there, the plates looked very nice. We stopped for a drink. We walked about 10-15 minutes to a place called Coconuts for dinner one night. Some great entrees as well as appetizers. It is pet friendly.

Room Tip: I would suggest checking out the rooms right along the intercoastal....I don't know their room n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fly_momFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    118
    35
    21
    9
See reviews for
89
653
34
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I stayed two nights at the Pillars this week while in town on business. The property is on the inland waterway a couple blocks away from the beautiful Atlantic Ocean beaches of Ft. Lauderdale. The hotel is small, luxurious and tasteful, with excellent staff and food. It is a great refuge from the more glitzy, loud and sometimes cheap feeling of the main beach drive. The rooms, outdoor spaces, restaurant, bar and lounge are all very attractive and understated. The hotel is quiet with friendly and respectful guests. The food is excellent, the best I had during my stay. This was truly a great find and I would heartily recommend it to anyone. Phil, Seattle

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This beautiful place was recommended to us by friends who stayed there last year. It is a lovely oasis in between all the large hotels. Even though it is not the cheapest hotel it is worse while to stay there if you are looking for a few days in a chilled and calm atmosphere away from all the beach action. The personnel is superfriendly and was very helpful! When returning to Florida, this destination will be definitely included again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HG H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I stayed here while on business for 2 nights. The staff were very accommodating and discrete. Only a few minutes away from the bussle of the beach front this is a little oasis of peace with a lovely veranda outside the rooms which is perfect for sitting on and chilling out or catching up with some work. Would certainly stay here again on business or on a romantic break away. A real gem of a find with a real character.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamez_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

First off the cool factor, it's a hidden oasis in a landscape of high rise condominiums where a small hotel can easily disappear but that makes it eaven better. As you step thru the front doors of the Pillars hotel, you immediately find your self wrapped in a comfortable blanket of luxury and it's not expensive. It's a small hotel with character.
I think they are truly worth every penny!
I bring diving customers from Sweden to Florida and they where blown away by the interior design and the layout of the place, amazing.
I don't wan't give away too much information about the place but once you got into your room you felt like you could live there, for ever!
The woman who greeted us was equally fantastic, Caroline. Her manner and service was the best I ever had anywhere in the US even better than the hotel Rosen Shingle Creek in Orlando.
With a smooth delightful tone of voice she welcomed us in and everything felt genuine and sincere not like all the other places where you can see that they have plastered on a smile and that you can see that they are only working there and they have to work hard on their happiness at the workplace.

If there is anything else you would like to know about this place in a stand point from a customers perspective don't hesitate to contact me at info@diveunit.eu.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SwedishDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This hotel is one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. A wonderful warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms and location were amazing sitting right on the waterways of Fort Lauderdale.

Room Tip: We had a lovely poolside room with outside furniture and loungers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LIW35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobe Sound, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My husband surprised me with a weekend at The Pillars for my birthday! WOW! What a wonderful and beautiful place! Everything was perfect Great room, great views and a great location! We will definitely go back! Beth Lindsay

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melindsay57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,705 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,987 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Property: The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Address: 111 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on New River Sound, a block from the beach, the Pillars Hotel is a beautiful mix of classical British Colonial architecture and 30's "Art Deco". Well-known for its magical sunsets, unpretentious service and its special dining experience, the hotel caters to travelers looking for a sophisticated intimate venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pillars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing