We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well maintained garden apartment on intercostal.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #2 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We were surprised with the great reviews. The rooms and pool were no better than one would get at a Hampton Inn. The draw here is it being on the intercostal and having very comfortable lounge chairs in which to watch the boats go by.

We tend to stay at small hotels and inns and found this one to be overpriced. It seems most of the money went into the entrance, reception desk area and restaurant . By 5:00 the lovely sitting area by the intercoastal is turned into a restaurant and are no longer for guests.

The front desk staff are young and attractive and helpful. The Pillars seems to appeal to those over 50 and international visitors and anyone looking for privacy and relaxation. It is also gay friendly .

The pluses were free parking, great
linens, and ice tea by the pool area. A refrigerator and microwave. It is also a 5 minute walk to beach and restaurants. For the better restaurants, which Ft Lauderdale has many, you will need a car.

For these prices we expected more. Even a continental breakfast or afternoon wine hour or tea would be more in line with other small hotels.

Unless pricing changes we will stay elsewhere. Prices listed on trip advisor are much lower than actual fees.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PillarsManagement, Owner at The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Thank you for your review and your kind comments about our service, location and the complimentary items we offer such as free parking and ice tea by the pool.
We are a little confused on how you concluded that our rooms are no better than a 3-star chain hotel. Certainly the size of the room you stayed in might be similar and of course, both rooms offer the same basic features such as flat screen TV, ironing board and so on but our rooms, like most other 4-star properties, include his and hers robes, high thread count luxury linen and towels (in our case Frette), duvet, feather bed, iPhone/iPad docking station and speakers, high end toiletries, marble bathrooms, custom and top end designer furniture and custom created photographs on the wall. Unlike the chains, our hotel rooms (whether you approve of the design or not) were created for our hotel only and will not be found in any other place around the world. By the way we like Hampton Inns. They offer a great product at budget prices. They are certainly a leader in their competitive universe.
Our prices are similar to the other 4-star hotels on Fort Lauderdale Beach. We have a strong upscale, repeat business base that returns on a regular basis. These guests understand that running a small intimate hotel on one of the best sites in Fort Lauderdale costs more per room to own and operate. As you mentioned in your review, The Pillars also attracts an international crowd. These guests and many others from the USA come here because they look for a special place and find it in what we offer: sophistication, intimacy, luxurious amenities, fine dining under the stars, outstanding location and personal service.
Yes, the dock converts to a private dining facility at night for the exclusive use of our hotel guests and members of our private club which helps support the property. The restaurant is not open to the general public. We introduced the club concept to provide the economy of scale we needed to operate a first class dining experience. The dockside fine dining experience at The Pillars is one of the highlights for people staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,013)
There are newer reviews for The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

673 - 679 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

The service and the food were excellent. The Pillars Hotel is like an oasis in the middle of all the hustle and bussle. We certainly enjoyed the quite, peaceful setting. We will be back next February.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Loved this place. So quaint and hidden. The view from the dock was spectacular and the chairs set up around it made for a lovely place to sit and enjoy it. Dinner was also available waterside. The pool area was lovely and seating was arranged such that you weren't next to others which was nice for privacy if you wanted it. The rooms were nice with beautiful linens and bath products. The bathroom was a bit small but nicely done. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and courteous. Cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: second floor might be best voice wise. we heard rushing water from drains above
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CUH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We had a two night stay at this hidden gem in Fort Lauderdale last year on route to the Carribbean. never having been to Florida before, we were not sure what to expect as Fort lauderdale has a bit of a reputation for being a party town for spring break students. We had also booked a run of the house room as this was all that was available at the time of booking. We were efficiently greeted by the owners and shown to a delightful room at the side of the pool which was beautifully located and pleasantly large with all the facilities we needed after a long haul flight. We had two very special days in Fort L which were made all the more enjoyable by staying in this really special hotel. In fact it's so hidden that the taxi driver from the airport told us that he had never heard of it before. We walked all over town one evening and the next day spent the day on the water taxi stopping on and off where we felt like it having lunch (the Casablana Cafe was super) and then spent the late afternoon relaxing at the lovely poolside. The pool facilities and adjoining rest rooms were spotless and there were thoughtful drinks left at the poolside for the guests and coffee in the reception area.
The highlight of this memorable trip was the dinner al fresco under the stars on our second evening on the water's edge . One previous reviewer made reference to the additional charge of $ 5 for having breakfast outside. Well it was worth every cent for the memory to take away forever. Remember, you would be paying more for room service. Anyway we were sorry to leave and the hotel kindly organised out taxi to the airport. We had an extremely memorable 48 hours in this hidden and charming paradise.

Room Tip: Pool rooms are helpful for either families with small children or those with mobility problems.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mum07Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

As a frequent traveler, my wife and I truly enjoy staying in smaller boutique hotels. My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend as we have stayed in many of the hotels in the "Small Luxury Hotels of the World" chain. This hotel met our expectations! Although it is not as luxurious as many of their partner hotels in Europe - then again - Fort Lauderdale is not Europe! As for other reviews, I agree with the television complaint as it is very difficult to operate if you are not used to DirecTV. As for other complaints, I just do not concur. Could the hotel use sprucing up? - Yes, but it is quite satisfactory the way it is. The bathrooms are made from Italian marble and are quite nice, there again maybe not like one could find in Rome, Paris or even Venice - but they are very nice for a hotel that is stateside.

The beds were comfortable and the service was very good. The location of the hotel is very good being two blocks from the beach and directly on the intercoastal waterway. The views are excellent also. My wife and I both truly enjoyed being addressed by our last name by members of the staff even the first time we met a staff person in the hall or out by the pool. The Pillars is the type of hotel that gives good service and is small enough to accommodate your needs at the drop of a hat without having to get pre-approval from higher management.

Overall, our three night stay went extremely well and we feel we got what was requested with the room that was booked. Maybe other people just enjoy complaining, however, when you stay at a hotel of this nature and for the price that is paid, I simply do not agree with the complaints of others - they are simply unjustified in my opinion. If you want a mediocre hotel, stay at one of the chain hotels in Ft. Lauderdale, if you want upscale service, room and a staff that treats you very warm and friendly, then The Pillars is the place to stay in Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duvanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My wife and I have stayed at this fabulous boutique hotel and recommend it to family and friends who visit us now that we have moved to Ft. Lauderdale. Having read the review by PeggySue2810 I would take issue with their comments on pricing, cleanliness, noise, service...just about everything except the TV system, which does take a degree in computer science to operate. This is one of the cleanest, quietest, hotels I've ever stayed at, and we stayed in one of the small rooms in the main building just off the lobby. The front desk and staff have always been attentive and responsive to any request from us or our family members who have stayed there.

I would place the emphasis on "boutique"! You have to pay attention to what you are booking yourself into. These are not hotels meant for "family vacations" unless this is the experience you want. The rooms, and bathrooms, will be smaller and unique.

We are members of SLH, Small Luxury Hotes of the World, and stay in them frequently all over the U.S. and Europe. They are typically smaller, older hotels in fantastic locations with outstanding service, great restaurants, and very well maintained. The rooms can be a bit quirky, not your typical hotel experience. The Pillars in Ft. Lauderdale is no exception. The restaurant is so good we joined their dining club just so we could eat there. It is not overpriced, the chef has a unique menu and the "on the canal" dining experience at dusk is one of the best in Ft. Lauderdale. These are not the type of hotels to book if you are traveling as a family with small children, not becuase they can't handle it but because that's not what they are designed for.

As for pricing, this is actually one of the more reasonalbly priced luxury hotels in this particular area, especially compared to the larger, luxury hotels on the A1A, like the Ritz, W, or Westin. Again, if that's the experience you want, book there, don't book a boutique hotel. It's apples & oranges.

Room Tip: Spend the $ and go for the suite with a view of the intracoastal and the seven isles. It's wort...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Offsnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We were on our way to a cruise and had a delightful stay at the Pillars. It is a small boutique
hotel right on the causway. Dining on the deck over looking the water and view was very relaxing. The food was excellent and the room was small but very well appointed with luxury's.
The lobby is quaint and beautiful. This is a very romantic location for couples looking for something special.

Room Tip: I don't think there could be a bad room. We were in the center facing the pool on the bottom fl...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmandersee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,572 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,124 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,814 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,297 reviews
Central Beach
Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
#5 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Address: 111 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £141 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on New River Sound, a block from the beach, the Pillars Hotel is a beautiful mix of classical British Colonial architecture and 30's "Art Deco". Well-known for its magical sunsets, unpretentious service and its special dining experience, the hotel caters to travelers looking for a sophisticated intimate venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pillars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing