We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location on the Waterway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #2 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
231 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great Location on the Waterway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

This was our first stay at this property and we were very happy with it. As I indicated, we had the unique experience of having stayed at the Alhambra Beach Resort [a block away] two days earlier. Then, we went to Key West for a day. And, we booked the Pillars because we had difficulty finding a place during Boat Show Week in Fort Lauderdale.

First the room was excellent. High quality, upscale toiletries, super soft towels, etc. Second, there is a nice pool and you can walk back to a dock with a great view of the waterway. The staff was great. Very helpful. The one young lady took us around the property to show us the various features and facilities that were available. Probably, of the three different beds we slept on over the three day period, I found this one to be the best for me.

They have a nice breakfast available in the morning. However, it is really overpriced - $50 for two people. But, it was a lot faster than running around to find some place for breakfast that morning, as we got ready to go on our second cruise.

The Pillars presents a different value proposition than the Alhambra Beach Resort. But the Pillars delivers a luxurious experience. In all honesty, the next time we return to Fort Lauderdale, I will first try to book at Alhambra. But, if it is booked or the room I want isn't available, I will immediately call the Pillars.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlandDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    786
    117
    35
    21
    9
See reviews for
88
647
34
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at the Pillars and we were smiling ear to ear over the location, rooms, restaurant and service. We had breakfast and dinner on the dock overlooking the intercoastal waterway and it was a memorable.
The place was so restful I can even overlook the small bathroom in our room. This will probably be our choice anytime we find ourselves in Fort Lauderdale in the future. It was that nice!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here for just one night prior to joining a cruise. It is a beautiful boutique hotel. Or suite was large, beautifully furnished with a balcony a swimming pool and water view. We had dinner which was excellent. They catered well for vegetarians. The service was excellent. The decor was unique and very stylish. If would have loved one of the pictures cut out of paper (some are for sale) but don't think it would have travelled too well across the pond! I swam early in the morning and the water was lovely and warm. It is a timeless, peaceful place to stay that offers service and excellence.

Room Tip: Choose a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent two wonderful nights here as part of our summer holidays.

From the minute we checked in we couldn't have asked for more!

Our room was stunning, very clean and modern. The view from the deck was out of this world.

I would highly recommend this hotel and we very much hope to be back soon.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HumphreyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Something very different for Fort Lauderdale. A small, relaxed hotel run along British lines. We changed our booking from two to three and had to upgrade to a suite. The bedroom was small but the sitting room was generous. However, the sofa bed was thin and uncomfortable though the staff did try to improve this with extra bedding. The staff were pleasant and helpful at all times. We only had dinner once in the hotel restaurant and it was tasty and well cooked but on the pricy side. Great views of the Intracostal Waterway and the Water Taxi will collect and drop off at the door on request. In summary a very good hotel but one for more 'special' occasions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Family_Wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Fantastic place to be in. And the breakfast was top notch. The beautifully renovated hotel has had a lot of press, and I can see why. It felt posh without pretension. I was glad to have a free copy of the morning newspaper. Foreign people find it difficult to travel in the US I think, but this place was easy to be in.

Room Tip: The rooms are all pretty much cookie cutter, but we were on the ground floor, which I can say was ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkTamboerskloof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We were greeted by Eric who offered us a glass of wine while we waited for our room to be ready (we were early) and went out to their beautiful dock in the intercoastal. What a view, and so relaxing. He soon came out and escorted us to our room.

The room was small, as was the bathroom, but just fine because I assure you your time in the room will be short. The amenities were very nice, big in room safe, nicely stocked mini bar.

The treat is the property. All rooms are poolside on two levels. Outside each room is a patio table overlooking the pool and dock. It is so serene you would never know you were steps from the beach and a short cab ride to Las Olas.

We will definitely book a longer stay next time. Really a very nice find...

Room Tip: There is a room on the end overlooking the intercoastal which has a nice private veranda. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#7 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,662 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,950 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Property: The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Address: 111 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on New River Sound, a block from the beach, the Pillars Hotel is a beautiful mix of classical British Colonial architecture and 30's "Art Deco". Well-known for its magical sunsets, unpretentious service and its special dining experience, the hotel caters to travelers looking for a sophisticated intimate venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pillars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing