We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You are going to be second in line to all the "Usual Guests"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #2 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Maumee, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You are going to be second in line to all the "Usual Guests"”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We chose this property to extend our stay in Florida post-cruise by an extra day. Arrived late morning knowing we were way ahead of the published 4pm check-in time. Left our luggage in the reception area and were asked to give cell # "just in case your room is ready early". Returned at 3:45 after a few hours of exploring and sunshine. Amazing timing, our room was ready. Guessing the phone call offer was lost along the way? Would have been nice to get as much time on property as possible. Dinner on the water front was out. Booked solid with guests and a large group of locals. OK. We'll have appetizers at the cocktail tables on the small lawn area thirty feet back from the river. Young lady running the desk and attending to many aspects of guest requests was kind enough to get us under way with a bottle of wine, a couple apps. At that point we became orphans! She may have passed us on to the wait-staff, but no one got the memo. Flagged one down to have plates cleared. Finally after an hour of 5 different staff walking past us without looking, we decided to leave. Walked around the corner to the Ritz-Carleton to enjoy the rest of the evening with great service and atmosphere. The next morning at check-out we noticed the charges for the wine and appetizers was not there. Well, why would it be? We became invisible, remember? So, the same young lady from last night was at the desk at check-out, and being honest people, we reminded her of our costs from last night. She looked perplexed and promply entered the amounts for the wine (check), the appetizers (check), the tax (check), and this is my favorite part: Gratuity! (Really?) If I hadn't promised my wife to not make a scene, I would have liked to hear her logic on adding a tip.
Beyond the service issue, I would warn any first-timer that you are going to be second in line to all the "Usual Guests". These are the wealthy folks who have latched onto this hotel for all of its charm and isolation, and pampering of the inner-circle. As one lady said to the other as they sauntered down to their table: "A lot of those cruise people stay here this time of year..."
Bottom Line: It's a nice property, but you'll have to decide if it's the best use of your $400+/day. It would have been nice to be treated like we were actually welcome.

Room Tip: Avoid room #105 unless you are OK with the rushing water flowing down the sewer pipe from the toilet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RoamingBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    786
    117
    35
    21
    9
See reviews for
88
647
34
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed for two nights here prior to a cruise. Although we were not located around the pool area we had a lovely room at the front of the hotel with its own enclosed patio. The staff were very pleasant and friendly but efficient. We were particularly impressed that although we had booked our room through an online discount booking site(at an excellent rate) we were not treated in any way differently or "second class" as can occur at other hotels. The food was outstanding! We throughly enjoyed both our dinner and breakfasts and found the prices were reasonable for the quality. My husband is still talking about the scallops he had! This hotel is small but exquisite and its location on the waterway is perfect. You can call a water taxi to come right to the hotel's dock which will take you to most areas of the city. We certainly would stay here again on our next trip to the area. The only caution: the hotel is so secluded that our taxi driver from the airport had difficulty finding it so keep a Google map handy!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The Pillars was out first choice for our recent break in Ft Lauderdale. We loved the location, and the views over the Intracoastal are superb at all times of the day. Breakfast and lunch on the dock are well worth experiencing. Our room was a suite - which meant we had a separate sitting area as well as a king-sized bed. And we were very glad of that, as some of the other rooms appeared to be quite small. Also, we had a Nespresso machine, so were able to brew a cup of coffee first thing in the morning and ease into the day.
There were two things that prevent me from giving The Pillars the fifth star of approval. The first is that the hotel seemed at times during the day to be under-staffed. The person behind the desk was also responsible for taking breakfast or lunch orders. So, if he or she was caught up in checking a guest out, taking a call, etc there was a long wait. Having said that, the staff seemed very eager to please, and the evening staff were very efficient. The second glitch was that our bed was uncomfortable. Neither of us slept well while in that room. Not sure if the mattress was tired and needed to be turned or replaced. However, it was a minor and constant irritant.
Apart from that, we really enjoyed staying at the Pillars - in the midst of the noise of the beachfront it is a wonderful oasis of calm - and the food is great! I'm sure we will return.

Room Tip: If you stay for more than one night, you might prefer the extra space of the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tigbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed 3 nights here. The hotel is lovely little idyllic boutique hotel. Our room was really nice but location of the room was really bad. We got the room that was only room located next to reception with the view to the parking area. It really sucked. You could here all talk and noise from the reception day and night. I booked a normal room so don't know why we were given this very badly located room?!? All other rooms seemed to be located around the pool area. The room itself was immaculate and cleaned very well every day. We had a breakfast on the deck once and the view and the setting was great but the food wasn't. The berries were old as well as the bread. So the food was overpriced compered to quality.

We liked the pool area a lot and the hotel's quiet location by the canal.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wall Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The hotel staff were lovely and made us feel most welcome. Our room was small but not cramped (very pretty with its decor); we had a gorgeous view of the canal and pool area. Dinner at the hotel was outstanding- one of the best we've ever had. The location (one the dock, beside the canal) was relaxing and the service was wonderful. If you are staying at this hotel, make sure you make dinner reservations- you won't be disappointed in either. It was walking distance from the beach and a very close drive to the airport. We only wish we had more than one night to stay at this amazing place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed here after returning from a long cruise. I booked a "run of the house" room for $299 a night and they're were a few cons by doing so. The room had two twins beds, was located next to the door to the office and ice machine so it was noisy and bright from the light outside the room. If the hotel wasn't booked full, I believe we would have had a better room. Isabella was wonderful and accommodating as well as the chef. I requested chicken breast since I am unable to eat many things and it was fabulous, and the chef made it for both nights we stayed. The location is great and the views of the waterways was excellent. The weather was unfortunately cold during our stay but we would have loved to eat our meals on the quay. The rooms and the grounds were immaculate and the staff were friendly and helpful. All and all it was a great hotel and I learned not to book run of the house.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed recently for four days and enjoyed our stay immensely. The hotel is a block back from the beach facing the Intercoastal Waterway, so instead of traffic roar we watched beautiful sunsets with the passing yachts. The rooms were very comfortable with a turn-down service at night. The laundry was fast and reasonable. The only thing that we would have liked to have in the room would have been tea and coffee making facility.
The staff, especially Eric and Helena went out of their way to make sure we were looked after in every respect.
The restaurant is excellent, especially the venison and the wine list was comprehensive and well priced.
We would certainly recommend .The Pillars to our friends.

Room Tip: Room 117 is splendid with a large balcony facing the waterway and sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stubbspainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,653 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,397 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#18 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,559 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,939 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Property: The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Address: 111 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on New River Sound, a block from the beach, the Pillars Hotel is a beautiful mix of classical British Colonial architecture and 30's "Art Deco". Well-known for its magical sunsets, unpretentious service and its special dining experience, the hotel caters to travelers looking for a sophisticated intimate venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pillars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing