We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional staffing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #2 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The room we stayed was near the front door. It was a bit noisy as we could hear the people taking outside of our room.

There was an incident that the sewage line backup from the shower drain during our last night stay. We smelled something funny at middle of the night and didn't know what happened until we saw it in the morning. The front desk lady did everything she could to make us more comfortable for the rest of the morning though.

Overall it should be a 5 star stay if we stayed in a different room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,049)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Had a one night stay here on our way to the Keys from Orlando.
The hotel is quite small but very nicely decorated and has a really nice atmosphere with nice efficient staff at the check in desk. We were given a ground floor room by the side of the pool which was perfect for us. The bed was comfortable and the room had many amenities.
After a prefect nights sleep we had breakfast on the dock overlooking the waterway and several huge homes. The breakfast was continental style and was very good, not cheap but definitely worth it. It was very nice to sit on the dock in the morning sun and watch the boats go by.
The pool was fairly small but perfectly adequate as we were the only ones in the pool that morning.
The hotel is great for couples, my wife was impressed :)

Would I go again? Yes, already booked for August this year :)

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room but a pool room is great as you also get a view of the waterwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Unforgiven2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We live and work in Fort Lauderdale and, for many years, have recommended the Pillars to friends and family visiting us. Their expectations were always exceeded and we heard rave reviews. While we have enjoyed the outstanding dining at the Secret Garden many times, this was our first stay at the Pillars.

Our mini-vacation at The Pillars was truly exceptional. The staff members were uniformly friendly and helpful making us feel warmly welcomed. They went far out of their way to be attentive to our preferences. The room was luxurious and elegant with great attention to detail evident throughout. The linens, bedding and towels were of the finest quality. The room was quiet and comfortable. We were greatly enjoyed a peaceful cocktail in the lovely pool area overlooking the intracoastal waterway. Overall, our experience at the Pillars could not have been better.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Our second 3 day pre-cruise stay at The Pillars was comfortable but not as personal as last year. There appears to have been a change in the senior management. Whilst the front desk service was very professional it was not as friendly and engaging as last year. The room was great and any problems were dealt with speedily and to our satisfaction.
On the negative side - pool service bar costs were really high. The same 3/4 measure glass of wine that we received free of charge on arrival was $16 + gratuity by the pool. That can't be right!
The Pillars remains our favourite boutique hotel in FL, however we didn't come away with that "wow" feeling this year
From - David W

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 953David1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landrytrebbi, Owner at The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hello David,

Thank you for your comments. We are very happy with the high marks you gave us in each of the 6 categories but 1. Overall this was an average of over 4. It is disappointing though that you rated us a 3 overall.

Most important we are very sorry that your experience was less than that of your previous stay. By way of an explanation (which I hope does not come off as an excuse) we were in a training mode in January. Unfortunately last year a few important people on our staff made important life changes and moved on. In a small hotel just a few people leaving can create a big short term management challenge. We did however, move quickly to bring in replacements. Our new additions are highly professional and most have hospitality degrees. These people have now come into their own and have gained the confidence required to serve and please the high end nature of our clientele. This is reflected in the reviews of guests who have stayed with us more recently.

And of course, thank you for still considering us as your number one hotel in the area. I hope when you return you will enjoy an experience even greater than your first stay with us. I promise you that. We have nude great strides since opening up 15 years ago and we know we cannot stand still!

For the information of readers of this review, currently our most expensive serving of wine by the glass is $12.00 plus tax and gratuity. This would be in the lower end of our competitive universe. The service fee for all beverages on the property was recently eliminated and probably should have never been there in the first place.

Have a great summer David. We hope to see you again next year.

Courtney Huynh
Operations Manager / Owners Representative
T (954) 837-6516

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed for a 3 night pre cruise holiday with 2 other couples for my 50th birthday. Great staff and food although it's expensive you get what you pay for. Fantastic location and has a real personal touch to it as I think they only have 13 standard rooms plus a couple of suites. Highly recommended for a short stay in FL.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The Pillars because we knew about its high Conde Nast ranking. Although we had eaten at their Secret Garden dining venue on many occasions we had never stayed in the hotel itself. We arrived in the early afternoon and were greeted with a choice of welcome drinks which ranged from classic bubbly to just plain old water.
Once unpacked we took advantage of the good weather to be real tourists. We swam and sunbathed all afternoon. We followed this with dinner on the dock where we were served up the good wine and good food that we had become used to in the past.
All in all it was a great decision. The Pillars is a small hotel, old by Florida standards, and completely renovated. You can tell from the detail work how much time and effort went into making it such a special place. The staff is very knowledgeable and helpful. In this day and age to be served by people where it is obvious that they genuinely want to please is a real treat.
There is no question that we will be doing this again. It is so nice to find such a top property in our own backyard. We enjoyed a very special get away without the hassle of busy airports and crammed planes.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nik285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Our recent visit to the Pillars Hotel was as perfect as we have come to expect, after visiting this peaceful oasis severeal times over the years. We enjoy the beautiful ambience tucked away behind the busy main road and find the staff at the hotel very accommodating, helpful and friendly. The rooms are always extremely clean which is a big factor for us. The dining is excellent and to have a meal oceanside is so lovely. it is difficult to choose from the wonderful selections on the menu and the servers are excellent.
i love the warm pool and the peacefulness sitting outside amongst the palms and the orchids.
Nick, Isabella, Sheri and Carmen are always ready to accommodate any requests willingly.
i have no complaints and will definitley return next year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#7 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,654 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
844 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#68 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
55 reviews
Central Beach
Conrad Fort Lauderdale Beach
Conrad Fort Lauderdale Beach
#4 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
138 reviews
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Address: 111 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £197 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on New River Sound, a block from the beach, the Pillars Hotel is a beautiful mix of classical British Colonial architecture and 30's "Art Deco". Well-known for its magical sunsets, unpretentious service and its special dining experience, the hotel caters to travelers looking for a sophisticated intimate venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pillars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing