We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to give it a good review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #2 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2007

Based on all the great reviews we read on this hotel we decided to stay here before a cruise.

Since this property only gets great reviews we wonder if maybe we are a bit demanding, but here goes.

We arrived at the hotel very late after 16 hours of travel, after one o'clock in the moring Florida time. On checking in, the night attendant says, here are your keys, your room number is 22. No offer of where it was, no offer to carry the bags, no nothing.

Finally I insist that he shows us where the room was, and then he expects my wife to schlep her suitcase up a flight of stairs. I have to insist he carries the one bag my wife has up the stairs, I carry the three others. Bad beginning to say the least.

Next morning for breakfast we order coffe and muffins and sit with another couple who order continental breakfast at the same time we did.

Their breakfast arrives and then an hour later our muffins arrive, seems they ran out of muffins and had to bake some more. No offer to substitue, no nothing, then charged over 20 bucks for two muffins and a jug of coffee. Of course they add the tip on the bill so we have to give a gratuity for lousy service.

Then we try to make a reservation for dinner and they are all booked for the evening. Ask for some advice on where to go, told to take a cab to Los Olmas and walk the street and find a place. Poor, poor.

There also seems to be an undercurrent of fear of management from the staff. When we asked if we could stay an hour past checkout time the poor desk clerk reluctantly said we could, but as the desk clerk seemed in fear of getting reprimanded we did not take the offer.

When we checked out we cancelled a later reservation that was 15 days later. One clerk, not the one we were checking out with, said we would have to pay for one night because it was less than 14 days notice. Tried to explain that Sunday to Sunday to Sunday is 15 days, not 14 days. The clerk we were dealing with agreed with us, but the other clerk kept going on and on about having to pay the penalty. Finally clerk one tells clerk two, chill out, the customer is right.

This is from a place that gets all great reviews. I do not feel comfortable writing this as it seems we are nit pickers, which we are not.

Maybe they have uneven service and the patrons who get lousy service do not complain.

Or maybe they just decided to pick on us because I made the night clerk show me our room and carry my wifes bags.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank GaryGarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

866 - 872 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2007

We stayed at The Pillars last month prior to taking a cruise. We arrived after taking a red eye from California and our room was ready. Never had that happen before! The setting is lovely and we spent the day on the dock overlooking the water. They offered us breakfast which we thought was lovely since it was past breakfast time. The room was very nice and pretty close to other reviews. The staff was outstanding. Very hands on and helpful. We asked if we could stay there for the day when we came back from our cruise and prior to flying back to California. Jessica was more than agreeable and we spent the day there on the dock rather than hanging out at the airport. All in all, one of the best places we have ever stayed...it deserves to be #1.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizandFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2007

We just stayed at The Pillars for 3 nights and wish it had been longer. This little hotel is an absolute gem hidden away from the hustle of Ft. Lauderdale. The room was beautiful with the most comfortable King bed. The courtyard is so tranquil with beautiful landscaping and we throughly enjoyed the the sunsets at night sitting on the dock. Jessica , Aaron and Caroline were very professional and helpful staff members. We can't wait to return.

Stayed: March 2007
5  Thank KathyNewtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2007

This is a lovely Inn tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Ft Lauderdale and all its current construction. Most rooms have a view of the Intercoastal. The rooms are fairly well furnished, but small. Ok for a few days, but too small for longer than that unless you get a suite which is over $600/night. Service is meant to be good, but falls short at times depending on who is at the front desk. Frequently available is Jessica who is knowledgable and tries to take care of your every travel need. Maintenance is a problem, althought the Inn made every effort to correct all of the below problems which seemed to occur at the rate of at least one each day. We had problems with the air conditioner, the tv remote, the pool was too cold, the tv was fuzzy, the door knob fell off and others.
Maid service was only fair. They did clean the room, usally by mid afternoon. They offer turndown service which is very minimal--just new towels and chocolates-No bed straightening or any of the usual amenities.
This Inn could be great, but is a little off tune. They just need a little help.

Stayed: March 2007
6  Thank ant9801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2007

We had the pleasure of staying at the Pillars for one night prior to a cruise and our only regret was that we could not have stayed for longer. We arrived at 8am after a long overnight flight and of course the room was not available until 4pm. As we did not have the energy to do anything other than sleep we did not want to go out sightseeing. The manager was very kind to us and let us sleep on the very comfortable sun loungers until our room was ready, this was really appreciated. We also had breakfast on the dock which woke us up a bit!

The room was ready by 1pm, and it was so beautiful, really gorgeous and the most fabulous cozy bed with beautiful bed linen.

We had dinner in the Secret Garden, we are both vegetarians and the staff were really accomodating, preparing something for us that was not on the menu. The food was really lovely in a great setting, but was probably overpriced. However, this was a minor point as it felt so special staying there, we felt really privileged, would love to return!!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AmberScrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2007

Overall a very nice experience. The staff was very friendly and went the extra mile to make sure that we were taken care of. The hotel is very well kept-up and elegant. Its location is good in that it is directly on the intercoastal. However, there was some noise from the hotel or condo next door at night (loud talking and car engines revving) but I guess that can't be helped.

I definitely will stay at the Pillars the next time I'm in Fort Lauderdale. It made the end of our trip to the keys pleasurable.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BryanG03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2007

It’s a very nice hotel. Great location. You can plan & plan & plan….and choose the highest rated hotels via TripAdvisor – but you can not control the weather. We got 3” of rain Sat & Sun. We stayed 2 nights at the Pillars over the Super Bowl weekend (this by accident – Super Bowl XLI was played down the road in Miami). Football fans everywhere – that was great. We arrived very early on Saturday & our room was not ready yet. We simply opened our luggage (in the lobby area), found some shorts & flip flops, then the front desk girl pointed us to a place for changing, then she stored our luggage while she had the maid make up our room & we took a walk. No problem, no issue. That’s how quaint & friendly this place is.
This was our second trip to the Pillars. On our 1st we stayed in one of the smaller rooms, this time we stayed in room #8. The larger rooms are worth the extra money, if for no other reason than you may have bad weather & be stuck in your room. However, due to the perfect location & the Water taxi – we did not stay in our room much. We used the Water taxi ($11 for unlimited rides for a day) and went up & down the city – that’s worth it. It has about 12 scheduled stops. We got plenty wet during the rides, but it was still a good way to see some inter-coastal scenery. We also did a lot of walking/running to the restaurants/bars along the Ft. Lauderdale beach. The Pillars provides umbrellas if needed.
Our flight home gave us reason to be back in Ft. Lauderdale & spend a couple hours there the following Saturday. Which, as luck would have it, was a perfect sunny day, and a day like that brings everyone to the beach – which is a stones throw from the Pillars hotel. Also when it’s warm & sunny; the restaurants & shops are all busy which makes it soooo much nicer to be there.
This hotel is truly a great one, and in a very convenient location, with comfortable beds, all the amenities, and a very friendly staff. The pool & deck, as everyone says, are both spectacular.
…we then spent 2 nights at Azul, Key Largo, then 3 nights at The Gardens, Key West.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LuvDCaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#5 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,618 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#28 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,178 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,826 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,830 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
5,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Address: 111 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £185 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on New River Sound, a block from the beach, the Pillars Hotel is a beautiful mix of classical British Colonial architecture and 30's "Art Deco". Well-known for its magical sunsets, unpretentious service and its special dining experience, the hotel caters to travelers looking for a sophisticated intimate venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pillars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing