We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Nearby Hotels
US$298
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riverside Hotel(Fort Lauderdale)(Great Value!)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina(Fort Lauderdale)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach(Fort Lauderdale)(Great Value!)
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,085)
Filter reviews
1,085 results
Traveller rating
886
130
38
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
886
130
38
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe secret gardenwater taxismall hotelsmall luxurywonderful boutique hotelwelcome drinkintracoastal waterwaypool arealas olasshort walk to the beachthe inter coastalperfect stayhotel guestswould highly recommend this hoteltwo blocksthe location is perfectking room
Filter
Updating list...
814 - 819 of 1,085 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2011

When we booked 4 nights through Expedia, it was supposed to be a King Poolview room, mildly discounted but certainly not cheap. When we arrived at the hotel, we were told that the room we booked was "run of house" which they call twin beds next to the lobby on top of the ice maker. It was a horrible room. The hotel was literally empty, but we had to practically beg (and tip) her for a room change. It was degrading. The new room was okay, but not posh by any means. We had breakfast there every day ($35 a shot for the 2 of us) and a very expensive (albeit underwhelming & unimpressive) dinner in the hotel's private dining club and then the next morning they actually demanded we change rooms back to the awful twin beds for the last night of our stay. That was the final straw. We packed up & left the hotel (went to the Hard Rock Casino for a night). It was a shame. Overall, the hotel is sweet and clean, being on the intercoastal with the water taxi and proximity to the beach and "strip" was also wonderful, but unless you pay their exorbitant rack rates, they treat you like a second-class citizen. For the same money, stay at the Four Seasons or The W.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mizzbethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kro1, Manager at The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2011

According to our record received from Expedia, Mizzbethe reservation was for a Run of the House (ROH) room. The rate of a ROH room is far lower than the standard rates of the hotel. The differences between a regular booking and a ROH are that with a ROH, no particular room is allocated at the time of reservation, rooms are allocated on the day of arrival depending on availability and that reservations are charged in full at the time of booking and non-refundable.
When Mizzbethe arrived, they were given the only room available for the length of their stay, a Twin bedded room poolside. Even though we gave them what they booked, a ROH room, they claimed they had reserved a king room but could not provide a confirmation that would contradict what was received by the hotel from Expedia. With a sense of accommodation, Isabella, who was at the front desk, offered them a King Poolside room for the first 3 nights CLEARLY STATING, that they could have that room on the basis that they would have to move back to the twin room for their 4th night as it was the last room available in the hotel on Saturday night. When asked to move room on Saturday morning, Mizzbethe first agreed and shortly after decided to check-out.
Two final points, Mizzbethe states that “the hotel was literally empty”, other that the first night of their stay, our average occupancy was 83.3% and we were completely full on Saturday night. The other point would have to do with the “practically beg (and tip) her for room change”. Isabella is a trained hotelier who would never be bribed for a room change or upgrade. She received a tip (in the normal range) after showing the guests around our property and bringing their luggage to the room. It is outrageous to even imply she received money to give them another room.
We appreciate the reviews on Trip Advisor, it helps us get better. In this situation, the facts do not support the review, this is unfortunate for the Trip Advisor community. We always go out of our way when we can to accommodate every request, big or small. In this case, I guess you could say “No Good Dead” goes unpunished.
Thank you for reading our reply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

This hotel lived up to the previous reviews in TA. To summarize, from the minute you walk in the door you are treated like a guest by the highly professional and friendly staff (including a glass of wine while you get a tour of the facilities). The room was immaculate and well provisioned. The public areas are tranquil with views of the waterway. We ate in some of the local places the first 2 nights there and then discovered that the hotel's restaurant was its own gem. The chef is extremely talented and the service impeccable. We ended up eating the rest of our meals there and looking forward to each meal.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yuruyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

This hotel was a welcome surprise when we arrived! The front entrance looks like a private club, definitely not like any other hotels nearby in Ft. Lauderdale.

Our room was on the small side, but very clean & recently renovated. The furnishings & linens are all high-end products. Our room was on the main floor with a view of the pool. I think I actually prefer this to the second floor rooms, as you can go to & from the pool/river deck very easily. There is also a fresh ice tea & flavoured water stand on the main level near the pool, so that was convenient for getting drinks.

The hotel staff was very accommodating, not that we needed their assistance very much. There is someone at the front desk 24/7, so you can always get help if needed.

What really stood out for me is that it was the perfect place to spend Christmas (if you are away from home). This is like a boutique hotel, so not many rooms & it has a very warm, cozy feel. There is a fire place lounge/sitting room in the main part of the hotel with a large Christmas tree, so that was nice to see. As well, the hotel staff gave us wrapped gifts on Christmas Eve with chocolates! We were pleasantly surprised to receive that!

The location of this hotel is great, as it is one block from the beach (less than 5 minute walk), but you don't pay the beach hotel prices (which are easily double what we paid). The hotel is near the main strip on Ft. Lauderdale beach, so lots of restaurants, shops & other hotels.

I will definitely go back to this hotel if we head to Ft. Lauderdale again!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlwrldgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Back to the Pillars for our annual Boat Parade weekend with family and friends. Outstanding as always......but even better this year with the new lounge, wine bar and new room decor. As always, Caroline, Jessica and John took great care of us.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRA_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

This is an absolutely wonderful boutique hotel. It is charming and peaceful, and the staff is so friendly. Caroline checked us in and gave us a tour. She was the sweetest person and wanted to make sure we enjoyed our stay. While we were checking in, Lupe took our luggage to our room, and when we tried to tip her she just smiled and shook her head no. We insisted she take the tip, and she was just all smiles. Even when we were lounging by the pool, the gardener, Mary, was just so nice. She started talking to us and called her workplace a paradise--we agree! The Secret Garden Restaurant was top notch and very romantic. We enjoyed sitting by the water and having such wonderful service. It is definitely worth eating there at least one night of your stay. Thank you so much to everyone at The Pillars. We truly had a wonderful stay and hope to get back one day.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews