We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place date night”
Review of Cheese Culture

Cheese Culture
Ranked #404 of 1,329 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Price range: US$9 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: between SE 8th and SE 9th
Humble, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place date night”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We loved this little place! The staff was super friendly and knew so much about the wine and cheese. We decided to pop-in to check it out but we enjoyed ourselves so much we stayed for awhile. The atmosphere was wonderful, very low key and warm. They had a live band too. Our evening was great! If you are a wine-lover, I definitely recommend stopping by!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    25
    7
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cooper City, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing girls night and super nice staff”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The classes are absolutely amazing (if you can reserve a spot before they sell out!). I've attended quite a few classes and Mitchell is always quite knowledgeable and makes for a great fun experience. For those times when a class is not running, their Ultimate Grilled Cheese is to die for... especially with that delicious honey.

My girlfriends and I had a great class last night with Mitchell and Mary Allison. All of the other servers have been very knowledgeable and helpful when making selections on prior visits as well.

A great little mom and pop place right on Las Olas and a worthwhile stop for your first time, or as a local favorite!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laneyw369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good, but not for wine/cheese nerds.”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

For those who are not big wine nerds, this is a fun little place on Las Olas. Service is friendly, 'restaurant' is quaint, atmosphere is fun, BUT...wine selection very amateurish. Cheese selection is adequate, its the wine selection that falls short. Non wine snobs will not mind at all, but if you're an eonophile, you will not be impressed. I am but I still like the place becuase it's the only wine/cheese only game on Las Olas, perhaps in Ft.Lauderdale.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FairCritic Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Over Priced and Stingy Pours”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The way they cut the Brie was all rind and not enough cheese. The cheese plates are not a good value for the price. We ordered a bottle of Prosecco, and it would have been nice if they gave us an us bucket. When we ordered wine by the glass, the pour was stingy. We weren't impressed with this place at all.

Helpful?
Thank NYC_angus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPCheese, Owner at Cheese Culture, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Wow,

I'm sorry your experience was disappointing. You are describing an atypical visit and I would like to be able to correct it. When did you come in? Was day or night? Can you describe the server and where did you sit if you don't mind.

No ice bucket? That's just plain F-ed up. I really need to know who did that.

As to the pours, we use glasses marked at 150 ml, which is the statute pour for wine. i'm interested to know if you were shorted for some reason.

If you ordered Brie there is a possibility, that it could have been skimpy. Simply stated, Soft cheese contains more water than medium or hard cheese. As a result, portioning by weight yields less cheese in volume. Anybody making a cheese board at our shop has been instructed to double the weight on cheeses like brie, soft goats etc. However I have seen and intercepted boards that just looked skimpy. It has been an ongoing battle (and frankly I have no idea why, I buy the cheese not them).


At any rate, I hope to be able to make it up to you.

Thanks,
Mitch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
223 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Greatd Date Night!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I have been twice now for the wine and cheese pairings but we stayed for a light dinner both times. The wine and cheese nights are terrific. We have been to one red and one white night - and the combinations of wine, cheese, nuts, fruit and honey are amazing. The owner takes the time to educate you about both the wine and the cheeses. And we have really never had a wine or a cheese there that we did not like. The salads are fresh and different and the grilled cheese specials of the day are out of this world. I am planning to take my teenage daughters back for lunch because I know they would love it and being on Las Olas with them would be a fun afternoon. Friday night they had a singer who was very good. It is a fun vibe all around and we definitely recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jemom68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cheese Culture also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Cheese Culture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing