We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to Hampton Inn standards” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL.
Ranked #34 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Albert Lea, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not up to Hampton Inn standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stay at Hampton Inns often and chose this hotel because of the close proximity to the airport. We had a late flight and wanted something close to the airport. When we arrived, check in was quick and easy - no issues there. The problem was with the cleanliness of the room. You can imagine my surprise when I looked behind the night stand to plug in my phone and found a used condom. That about sums up how clean the room was.

At check-out, the lady at the front desk was very short with us. We asked her to call a taxi for us, and we ended up waiting over 20 minutes for one to arrive.

No wonder the rate was so affordable. You get what you pay for....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton_GMCityCenter, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank-You for taking the time to share your experience. The hotel is located in a Downtown area that has a lot of colors if you will. The Greyhound station being a 10 minute walk is a tad more colorful than where we are located. The Hampton Inn Downtown City center is just a few blocks north of Trendy Las Olas a very hip hot spot for boutique shopping and restaurants with outdoor cafe's and a beautiful waterfront area, close to fortune 500 businesses and a $5.00 taxi ride to Fort Lauderdale Beach ... The hotel as you mentioned in beautiful and the staff is on point ready to please. I am delighted that you did have a wonderful time in Fort Lauderdale and loved the hotel...

Kelley Malone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    343
    196
    70
    36
See reviews for
289
339
107
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here twice before and after our cruise; the good was the fact the hotel is not far from the airport or the cruise ship so it is easy access to both. We rested comfortably in quiet rooms on each stay, desk staff is very courteous and helpful.

The not so good; if you do not have a car your dining options are quite limited, the hotel is not in the best neighborhood (its actually downtown) there is a McDonalds and Subway within walking distance NOT within sight of the hotel. Be prepared to walk through dark streets in a risky neighborhood. Be early for breakfast, as this hotel caters to persons departing on a cruise, everyone hits the breakfast area about the same time overwhelming the area. The second visit I arrived early to the breakfast area and made the mistake of changing the channel on the TV because I did not want to hear about the murder taking place during breakfast, so I get a lecture from a staff member how the customers are not allowed to change the channels on the TV. I didn't change it back.

Room Tip: Its an aging property in a poor neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

No Hilton Gold privileges as stated at reception and had to move first room as large tree right in front of window which blocked out the light. Moved to higher floor which was much better. Staff very obliging and moved us without any bother. Nice pool area with sun beds and pool towels.

Very friendly girls in bar, and good standard breakfast

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton_GMCityCenter, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Greetings from Sunny Fort Lauderdale -

I am excited to receive your review and that you shared your experience with us. The Hampton Inn Downtown Fort Lauderdale City center is in the prime location just a few short blocks from Trendy Las Olas and walking distance to fortune 500 companies and both the Federal and County Court Houses. We do have a brand new bar with food items open every night from 5pm - 11pm which seems to be a hit with our guests! Just to touch base though quickly regarding restaurants within walking distance there are a few within a block or two (McGuire’s Irish Pub within 100 yards, salad bowl and subway and well as Cafe Verdi within 200 yards) then on Las Olas which is four blocks away or a five minute, five dollar taxi ride away we have over 40 restaurants and boutique shopping.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you on your next trip to Fort Lauderdale!

Safe Travels,

Kelley Malone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is a great hotel that is well priced and convenient to the highway. The service staff was friendly and followed up with me regarding a package that I needed for a business meeting. Private and secure parking gave peace of mind. Room was spotless and very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton_GMCityCenter, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Greetings from Sunny South Florida...

I am delighted to hear that you had an outstanding experience! At the Hampton Inn Downtown Fort Lauderdale we take pride in exceeding each and every guest expectations and love doing it! We do try to go the extra mile to ensure that the comforts of home are offered at our hotel ... You're home away from home! We did recently add a full service bar with tapas food items opened 7 days a week from 5pm - 11pm. This is just one additional amenity that we offer to our guests to create the relaxing atmosphere you come to expect after a long day at the office or returning from a day at the beach...

I look forward to seeing you on your next trip to The Hampton Inn Downtown Fort Lauderdale!

Safe Travels,

Kelley Malone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curtis Bay, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Hotel is very nice and I was pleased with the stay overall, however I am a person that likes to have conversations with people and I didn't feel as though some of the staff wanted to make conversation. Other than that, the hotel was great and the breakfast was good. Didn't like the area, but I don't blame that on the hotel and I would be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Dillon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton_GMCityCenter, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hello from Sunny Fort Lauderdale -

Thank-You so much for taking the time out of your crazy schedule to share your experience ... I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and took notice to the cleanliness of the hotel and friendliness of the team ... The two things we pride ourselves on and they were noted all in one review! Thank-You!! I do hope to see you next time you are in Fort Lauderdale!

Safe Travels,

Kelley Malone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is a good place to stay for pre-cruise in Fort Lauderdale. I prefer some of the places closer to the ships, but this time they were all filled up. I booked this as a HHonors reward, but it seemed reasonably priced, the staff was great, it was clean, the breakfast was good, the cruise shuttle was on time. The only downside was lack of airport shuttle.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton_GMCityCenter, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Greetings from Downtown Fort Lauderdale!

I am always excited to read a review that shares our newest amenity that we offer to our guests ... We recently opened " The Perfect Mix Bar " which is located on our second floor and open daily from 5pm - 11pm. Our bar offers tapas food items and a wide selection of spirits that are sure to please everyone. Thank-you for your loyalty!

I look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Fort Lauderdale!

Safe Travels,
Kelley Malone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here many times and it is consistently clean and comfortable. The staff are pleasant and courteous. Rooms are spacious and well-appointed. There is no restaurant on the property, but the bar has some food and a nice, relaxing atmosphere. Recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton_GMCityCenter, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Greetings from Sunny Fort Lauderdale -

I am excited to receive your review and that you shared your experience with us. The Hampton Inn Downtown Fort Lauderdale City center is in the prime location just a few short blocks from Trendy Las Olas and walking distance to fortune 500 companies and both the Federal and County Court Houses. We do have a brand new bar with food items open every night from 5pm - 11pm which seems to be a hit with our guests! Just to touch base though quickly regarding restaurants within walking distance there are a few within a block or two (McGuire’s Irish Pub within 100 yards, salad bowl and subway and well as Cafe Verdi within 200 yards) then on Las Olas which is four blocks away or a five minute, five dollar taxi ride away we have over 40 restaurants and boutique shopping.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you on your next trip to Fort Lauderdale!

Safe Travels,

Kelley Malone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL.

Property: Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL.
Address: 250 North Andrews Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-1015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#25 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#30 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamically located in the heart of Fort Lauderdale exciting downtown district, easy access to Las Olas shopping and entertainment district, Port Everglades, Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood Int'l Airport and beaches. We feature 156 appointed guestrooms featuring FREE HIGH-SPEED internet access, FREE HOT BREAKFAST, FREE local calls, FREE parking w/gated & covered parking available, in-room safe, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, 2 telephones w/voice mail, TV w/extended cable, business center, outdoor pool/whirlpool, exercise room, convenience store, coin laundry, hospitality suite, and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Downtown - City Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hampton Inn City Center
Fort Lauderdale Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing