We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here on the cruise-and-stay plan, which worked out well”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area
Ranked #26 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here on a stay-and-cruise plan, and this downtown Hampton Inn is adequate for that purpose. I believe we paid about $190 for a night's stay, included breakfast, parking in the hotel's adjacent garage for 12 nights plus included transport to Port Everglades, which is about 10 or 15 minutes away depending on traffic and road construction. It did not include transport back to the hotel, but we bought the return transfer from the Ft. Lauderdale Shuttles desk in the hotel lobby for $10.

The room was standard-issue Hampton Inn. Breakfast, as per usual for Hampton Inn, was mediocre at best. It's time for this chain to finally upgrade their included breakfast.

The location is nothing to rave about, with very little of interest within walking distance. But since we arrived late and left on the noon shuttle to the Celebrity Equinox (along with about a dozen other guests going to this or another ship), the location didn't bother us.

Parking at Port Everglades I believe is $15 a day, so the Hampton Inn deal saved us money, provided a decent place to spend the night and made the transfers easy.

By the way, by sheer luck on our return from the cruise the Ft. Lauderdale Shuttles happened to be right at the hotel pick up area when we emerged from the port customs and immigration building, so our porter just handed over our luggage to the shuttle driver and we were on our way within 2 minutes. The shuttle driver dropped off one other family at a Hilton Garden Inn and then took us to the Hampton Inn. Our experience with Ft. Lauderdale Shuttles was good. They were friendly, efficient and on time. This company uses vans that seat 8 to 12, some with a small trailer behind for the luggage.

Bottom line: I'd use this property again for a cruise-and-stay deal but wouldn't care to stay here for a vacation in Ft. Lauderdale. But then, who would vacation in Ft. Lauderdale anyway?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanSluderBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig p, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review of Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Downtown-Las Olas. I am excited to hear you had a wonderful cruise and we met your expectation of Hamptonality.

I am also happy to hear you had a very pleasant experience with our shuttle service. We will continue to make sure all of our cruise clients gets to have a pleasant experience as you did.

Once again, thank you so much for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you next year as your cruise port hotel.

Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

770 - 776 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Drove down to Ft. Lauderdale for the SOJA concert at Revolution Live and this was the closest hotel to the venue. A little more expensive than where I usually stay, but everything was on par with the price. The staff was awesome, particularly Fatima at the front desk. Very secure building and parking, pool area was nice. The room was clean, big, and well appointed. Hotel staff was quick to bring me a replacement for my dead remote (then I found out I could control the tv from my phone or tablet, pretty smooth app). The biggest surprise of the visit was how good the bar food was, it looked just like the pictures in the elevator and was yummy! The other highlight was running into the band in the elevator. Made sense since it was so close to Revolution Live (about 10 minute walk).

Room Tip: Stay on floors 2, 3, or 4, these floors have direct access from the parking garage and you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLBeachLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig p, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking some time out to write such a wonderful review of Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Downtown- Las Olas. It looks like you had a great time at the concert and to top it off, you met the band members at our hotel!

Your compliments of Fatima and rest of the hotel staff and our facility overall was great to read. I am very humbled by your great review.

Once again thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you at Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale-Las Olas very soon.

Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Spent a Sat night while in the area for work. Hotel was very clean and staff were nice and friendly. Conveniently located near Downtown with lots of options for food. Great place, will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig p, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you so much for writing a such a wonderful review of Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Downtown-Las Olas.

Your kind review of our hotel is very appreciative and it looks like our staff and facility met your expectations, which I am very thankful for.

Once again, thank you very much for your review of Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Downtown-Las Olas and we hope to see you real soon.

Have a great day .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights after our cruise. The area of town that it is in is not an area that you would want to walk around in... There is no restaurant in the hotel so this does cause a problem or two for dining... unless you have a car of course. They do have some food available during happy hour. Likely frozen and heated up but it was edible. The pool area was nice considering the area. Would I stay here again? Probably not. We did not receive any special benefits as Hilton Hhonors Diamond members that I was aware of. (except for some free candy I think... )

Room Tip: Best tip: Stay in another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seanski49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig p, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking some time out of your busy schedule to write a review of our hotel. We appreciate all candid comments in regards to hotel.

I am sorry that our location and lack of walking distance to restaurant and shops. I hope you at least enjoyed your cruise. We do have some challenges, such as having shops or the beach being near our hotel, but we try our best to help each guests to there destinations, which is usually around $5 to $10 cab ride.

Thank you so much for your review and I hope you have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel about four times prior to going on a cruise.I cannot say enough about the staff,the rooms and the service.Everything is first class.We are hoping to stay there again next year and would recommend
this Hotel.
Theresa and Stu McDermid

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig p, Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Greetings Mr. and Mrs. McDermid!

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed each and everyone of your stays at our hotel! We take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and the friendly service we extend to everyone that comes through our doors.

As you know we do offer complimentary shuttle service for 2 guests/room to the Port Everglades Cruise Port. It is important to us that your transfer from our hotel to the cruiseport is a smooth-hassle free process! We do everything we can to ensure our guests start their cruises on a positive stress-free note.

Thank you very much for sharing your positive comments and for your loyalty to our hotel during your travels to Fort Lauderdale!

We look forward to seeing you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The location is terrible. You have homeless people standing out front. You pay $12 for parking and if you have an SUV it hard for you to travel through. The breakfast was not fresh. The only thing about breakfast that was good was the yorgurt and the waffle.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Trenesha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig p, Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review of your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Downtown/Las Olas Area! Withouth feedback from our guests we are not able to fix any issues experienced during your stay.

As with any large city we do have a homeless population that are visible throughout the city and sometimes throughout different parts of downtown Fort Lauderdale. We do not however allow non-hotel guests to solicit on property.

Although we do charge for parking we offer many complimentary services at our hotel including complimentary breakfast, wireless internet access, 24-hour business center use with printing and a complimentary beverage at our newly added Lobby Bar located on our 2nd floor.

We regret that you did not find our complimentary breakfast satisfying. Hampton Inn hotels take pride in the complimentary breakfast we offer because of the large selection of food items we have. We offer a variety of fresh fruit, yogurt, an oatmeal station with toppings, a waffle station and we always feature at least 3 different hot items (sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs, etc) each morning just to name a few.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future and we truly appreciate your feedback!

Best regards and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This hotel was near everything if one wanted to walk. The room had queen beds which were very comfortable. The pool, lounge area, etc. was very nice with towels available. The breakfast was excellent and had something for everyone. For those who like Happy Hour, it was very nice!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank G3895VOjosem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig p, Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your excellent review of the Hampton Inn Downtown/Las Olas area!

We are one of very few hotels located in downtown Fort Lauderdale within walking distance of the famous Las Olas Blvd where you can dine at over 40+ restaurants. We are also only 2.5 miles from Fort Lauderdale Beach and 5 miles from the Fort Lauderdale International Airport.

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast, pool and bar area. We rennovated our entire second floor last year updating our breakfast and pool areas. We also added the bar to the hotel which offers small appetizers every night from 5pm-11pm.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to having you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,575 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,889 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,168 reviews
2.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,383 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Four Points by Sheraton Fort Lau...
#68 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area

Address: 250 North Andrews Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-1015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#25 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#30 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £110 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamically located in the heart of Fort Lauderdale exciting downtown district, easy access to Las Olas shopping and entertainment district, Port Everglades, Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood Int'l Airport and beaches. We feature 156 appointed guestrooms featuring FREE HIGH-SPEED internet access, FREE HOT BREAKFAST, FREE local calls, FREE parking w/gated & covered parking available, in-room safe, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, 2 telephones w/voice mail, TV w/extended cable, business center, outdoor pool/whirlpool, exercise room, convenience store, coin laundry, hospitality suite, and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Downtown - City Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hampton Inn City Center
Fort Lauderdale Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing