We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cheap place and no bugs”
Review of Tropicana Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Lauderdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tropicana Motel
Ranked #85 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“cheap place and no bugs”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

for the price we paid i cant complain. the owner was very nice. free parking. decent room with no bugs which was really our main concern. micro wave, queen sized bed. free coffee in themorning.
cons, area is near a train and we heard it all night long as well as traffic as its on a busy street. seedy area

Room Tip: bring ear plugs as its quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheldon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    33
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
6
45
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gelrode, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Slightly older motel, but kept in pristine condition. Rooms are equipped with micro wave. Queen size bed. Free parking space for your car. A little bit difficult to find due to the road work. In the morning you get free coffee and juce,nice. Good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Selecting this place was a mistake. It's on a busy Rt 1 in a dicey neighborhood. The room was small, dark and a little creepy. The motel had a little tattered outdoor seating area with plastic chairs in the middle of a small empty lot next to the parking--overlooking Rt 1. The place reminded me of the movie Bagdad Cafe but without the charm. I blame myself for going too cheap. The manager was polite, the room was clean and neat. The WIFI was slow and frustrating. Someone I met later on asked me where I was staying in Ft Lauderdale and I didn't dare tell him.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Lauderdale hotels

Brussels
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

we booked the tropicana for a cheap motel in fort lauderdale just for a night. location is on highway US!, so very busy road. checkin went smooth, the staff gave us some advise for dinner. the room was very small, but fairly clean. Shower is basic and airco made a lot of noise. We were upset as the owner (or motel staff) entered our room with a key ( for which he apologized afterwards claiming he entered the wrong room by mistake), but we find this unacceptable. was ok for one night, but not for longer

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clauwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I stayed here 5 nights and 4 days; 2 days I worked on my laptop and the internet in my room. The Florida Gold Coast is dotted with small, inexpensive motels ranging from awful to great value. The Tropicana Motel is clean, comfortable, well-maintained, and inexpensive. The internet service is faster and more reliable than that I pay NZ$100/month for in Auckland. There are no services, no phone in the room, pay washer and dryer, fridge & microwave. Supermarket, pub, and dry cleaners across the street; 2 good Mexican restaurants within a block. I was looking for an inexpensive, clean, convenient place; this was it. Located a few blocks from Las Olas Blvd.

Room Tip: The motel is located a few feet from Federal HIghway, a busy thoroughfare during rush hour. With the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lmsssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stay here if you get a good price - we paid below forty dollars. For this price, the quality is right. Don't expect much - you are not paying much. The location is okay regarding accessibility, it sits right on one of the major roads running through Ft. Lauderdale. That too is the downside - you will hear traffic when in your room. That noise is even overcome by the AC if you have that running to keep you at acceptable temperatures. The owner is very friendly and helpful, and our stay was quite okay with the only problem being the noise, about which you can hardly really complain considering the low price paid.
If you are uncertain what to expect, go to streetview from google maps and take a look from the road running alongside to get an idea about the location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlyboyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FT. LAUDERDALE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

A centrally located retro motel. Super friendly and helpful staff, very clean rooms, nice little amenities, wi-fi, coffee in morning.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CHUCK W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL.
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Down...
#35 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Villas Las Olas Hotel'Apart
The Villas Las Olas Hotel'Apart
#74 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Venezia
Villa Venezia
#39 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kira-Mar Waterfront Villas & Docks
Kira-Mar Waterfront Villas & Doc...
#64 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.7 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#1 of 24 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Motel

Property: Tropicana Motel
Address: 711 N Federal Hwy, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-2732
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing