We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great! Fantastic!”
Review of Beach Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Gardens
Ranked #69 of 131 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel! Chic decor! Great staff! Great event planning staff! I would recommend this to anyone who is look for a great venue to throw a party or a quite week/weekend stay!

Less than 5 minute walk to the beautiful Fort Lauderdale beach!
Can't go wrong!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank Ajalegria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Beach Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Ajalegria,
Thanks so much for choosing Beach Gardens. It's a great find. Like you said, it's close to everything and has some of the most competitive rates in the area. We hope that you are able to come visit us sometime soon. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

This was a great choice! Tucked off the A1A in a very quiet part of Fort lauderdale but within easy walking distance of the beach and the night life. The hotel has clearly just been refurbished and everything was clean and modern but it still retains a real 1950s feel. Great pool area and lovely well maintained grounds. It was off season and we were the only ones in the whole complex so we had the pool to ourselves. Very reasonably priced hotel with complimentary parking (important in the beach area) but be warned the hotel doesn't have a restaurant or bar. I'd also recommend booking in advance because there is no reception desk or office - you have to check in at the complex nearby - this could be a little confusing for walk ins. We loved our stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobbyrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Beach Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

bobbyrs,
Thanks so much for staying with us. With plenty of grassy areas, Beach Gardens is the perfect place for events. Guests can rent out the entire building for family reunions or weddings. Give us a call anytime you're in the area, we'd love to have you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Loved everything about it. Stayed in Building 4 at the back of the property, with lovely green garden views- i highly recommend it. This location is bit less pricey than the other locations they have in the neighborhood, and a fantastic value! it doesnt have a full service restaurant on site and if you need to visit the office you will need to walk a half block to another location, but i cannot say enough about what a great deal it is, a super great room, great a/c, super comfortable bed and a great value. parking was easy, and the wifi was very fast, much better than i often get in conventional pricey marriots and stuff. in my opinion there's no better place to stay in FLL than here.

Room Tip: i really liked the buildings along the back of this property a bit away from the pool. its still jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisengletx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Beach Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

chrisengletx,
Thanks for being our first review since our extensive renovations to Beach Gardens! We have a variety of hotels all at different price points so our guests can easily find the perfect fit for them. Although our rates vary, our level of service always remains the same! We hope that you can visit us again soon. Take care, NBV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We were down in Ft. Lauderdale for the YMCA National meet.We had six families staying at the hotel. Keith was very nice and extremely accommodating. When the air conditioner in our room was a bit noisy ( I am a very light sleeper!) he let us move to another room with no problem. All of us were very happy with our stay. The hotel has a very cool, retro feel about it. We grilled by the pool just about every night. BB in housekeeping with her little dog Mugsy is so nice! She always asks if anyone needs anything. We are all very excited to stay there again next year!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lonepalm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info1000, Owner at Beach Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

lonepalm99,
We are also excited for you to stay with us next year! Thank you for making the Windamar your preferred hotel in Fort Lauderdale. The staff is extremely accomodating, and the feel of the hotel is so laid back...it's hard not to love the Windamar! See you next year! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

This will be our 3rd stay at this resort. It is a nice place to stay with friendly staff. Keith is a great host and very accomodating. Our room was large and comfortable and the people staying there were very nice. The location is awesome. It's just a a few minuets from the beach and a short walk to restaurants and all the action on A1A. In this economy it's nice to find a place reasonably priced where you can stay 1 day or long term.

We like that Keith remembers your names, appreciates your business and that you returned to the resort. It's soemthing you just don't experience too much now days. We will return and stay there again in the fall.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank showseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info1000, Manager at Beach Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2011

showseeker,
We are looking forward to your return trip in the fall and are sure that you will notice some upgrades not only at the Windamar but in the entire North Beach area as well. One thing that will remain the same however is the great service and affordable rates!
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

For the past 2 years, I've stayed at the Windamar Beach Club / Villas while attending a Fort Lauderdale rodeo event in April. My experience has been so positive it's prompted me to write my first online review.

The exteriors and colors sport a 1960s era classic retro vibe, while inside, the living areas are comfortably equipped with modern bedding and furniture. And all was very clean -- the pool area, too.

While the surrounding neighborhood is known for alternative clientele guesthouses, this property appears to draw a mix including families looking for a budget-friendly choice within walking distance of the beach. It fits that bill well.

I'd like to add that the manager, Keith, has been a pleasure to deal with -- very helpful and accommodating! Excellent service that's made a return customer out of me.

I was told that some remodeling (and a new name) are in the works by new owners. Personally though, I hope they don't change much and limit improvements to upgraded AC units and such. The age of the facility means it can't be flawless in the way of a new 4 star hotel, but that suits me just fine.

There are plenty of upscale lodging choices around the beach, priced accordingly -- as well as properties aging less than gracefully -- but classic retro in fairly spiffy shape is always a nice find.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bigdtallyfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info1000, Manager at Beach Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2011

bigdtallyfl,
It's always nice to hear from returning guests. You are correct, the vibe at the Windamar is very laid back with a retro feel but the service is the same, or even better, than the service at some of the upscale hotels. We are very excited for the upcoming changes at the Windamar and in the North Beach Village area as well and are sure that you will enjoy the upgrades during your next visit.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

I always enjoy visiting the Beach Club. Keith the General Manager is very accomodating and sensitive to the guest needs. He keeps a gentle balance by running a large property smoothly and a call to immediate action if need be. Keith is a wonderful person and excellent General Manager. BB from housekeeping is a very warm and special person. BB always made sure I was taken care of and added her personal touch to my accommodations. BB's assistant, Mugsley is the best little girl in the world. Thank you all for another wonderful visit. Looking forward to my next stay at the Windamar!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelH70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info1000, Owner at Beach Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2011

MichaelH70,
We appreciate your feedback and are looking forward to the next time you "come home again"
Upon your return, you will still find the accomodating staff that you're used to but will also notice some upgrades. We really love the area as well and are working hard to improve the North Beach area. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Winterset Hotel
#74 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
359 reviews
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#19 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
128 reviews
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#59 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
The Fortuna Hotel
The Fortuna Hotel
#42 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
228 reviews
Central Beach
Fala Hotel
Fala Hotel
#45 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
427 reviews
Royal Beach Palace
#33 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Gardens

Address: 533 Orton Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4004 (Formerly windamar beach club)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £71 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Gardens 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacationing in Florida is a sunny idea but choosing the right hotel that's in a dazzling locale, ideal for families and a really spectacular deal makes all the difference! North Beach Village's prized Beach Gardens Fort Lauderdale boutique hotel is an extraordinary value for a resort nestled in the heart of Fort Lauderdale Beach's barrier island between the Venetian-like Intracoastal Waterway and miles of legendary tropical beaches. Rediscover happiness in our pool and rejuvenate with yoga in our garden. Or stroll just five minutes to our sandy shores for a memory-making family picnic, sun soaking, or heart thumping watersports. We never charge resort fees or for Wi-Fi, coffee or towel use! Still not convinced you should stay at the Beach Gardens Hotel? Imagine this: you've come back from a long day of sunbathing, sightseeing, and selfie-taking. Naturally you need to re-energize for your night out on Las Olas Boulevard with your family, friends, or significant other. You round the corner and you see Beach Gardens Hotel in all its incandescent glory. You can't believe you got such a good deal for such great quality. You step past breathtakingly vibrant magenta bougainvillea through the hotel gate and head upstairs to your room which overlooks the picturesque pool surrounded by sunning chairs and lush greenery. You lose yourself in a trance and forget where you are. Let us remind you. You are staying at the Beach Garden Hotel. We undersell and over deliver and that is ultimately reflected in our modest rates, the quality and spotlessness of our rooms and our proximity to sun-kissed seashores, beach shops, restaurants, nightlife and family fun! Most of all, it's our concierge-like hospitality that delights and inspires guests to return to Beach Gardens. Book today and save today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beach Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windamar Beach Villas Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing