We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Recommended!”
Review of 15 FTL Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
15 FTL Guesthouse
North Prairie, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not Recommended!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was a terrible experience! Yes. The room looked nice. Yes, the pool area looked nice.
But, the structure of the building offers absolutely no sound insulation from neighboring rooms. In fact, at times our room even shook. Since there is no management on site, some guests used the pool at 4:00 in the morning, and then took showers. It sounded like they were in our own bathroom. After a terrible night, the office manager said I ruined his day because I complained, and that the hotel isn't responsible for its guests. I should have called the emergency number for the manager. I didn't think it was really an emergency that I couldn't sleep, but if you go here, have the phone number ready. We left without eating breakfast, as the food by the laundry machines was very unappealing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ruesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waltnnyc, General Manager at 15 FTL Guesthouse, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a one sided review. Yes the property is nice and the rooms are clean and it's a wonderful location. So what you didn't like was people having the freedom to use the pool and we didn't have a full breakfast available for you and that the laundry room and breakfast room are connected. We do not do laundry during the breakfast service and we are a small 8 room hotel not a Hilton. If you want a full service hotel then stay at such places in the future. As far as noise we can not control guests if you do not report a disturbance.(it was the womans birthday I under stand) Also my under standing was when asked in the morning about the problem you said quote " I don't want to get involved". With that attitude how can we help. This is a basic guest house hotel that is not a "full" service type property and 99.9 % of guests love our product. We can not please every one all the time. (like review before this)Consider the type of property that suits you in the future. Safe Travels to you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    69
    14
    6
    16
See reviews for
11
171
80
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellinzona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Frankly, I can not understand all these excellent reviews. This is a B&B, so first of all you would expect to be welcomed. No way. The owner was not there when we arrived. A piece of paper on the main entrance told us which was our room. We thought that it was because we came in the evening. Not really. The owner regularly left in the early afternoon, so every evening we saw the same process applied to each new coming guest. The room was in the back of the house, at the groundfloor, quite cold and humid. The wi-fi connection did not work, so I asked the owner about it. The answer was that it was strange and that there were no complaints so far.I told him that it was a fact that it did not work. Final reply: it is what it is, wi-fi is for free and he could do nothing to fix it. Then he gave me another wi-fi access (which came then out to be blocked...). I replied that the wi-fi was not for free, we paid for it, given that the room price was including it, The owner didn't replied, which of course made me angry. In this regard I would like to remark that another couple of guests had exactly the same complaint, with the same result. In addition, there was no lobby as well as no breakfast room. As a guest,you had to enter a very small room, like a micro-kitchen, where you had to prepare breakfast by yourself! I have never seen something like this. In the same corner, two wash machines were running. The owner came in and out bringing the sheets and the towels to wash (in silence of course, no "good morning" said to any guest). Also from an hygienical perspective, I think that mixing kitchen with loundry in such a small room is quite questionable. Unfortunately staying there for three nights, we put our towels all together in the bathroom in order to get new ones. No way. The owner put them again in place, despite being humid. At the end of this quite terrible stay, we told the owner that he was rude and the service was simply a shame. He unkindly asked us to leave the property, what we did with the highest pleasure... The final question for me is: Why is this person actually managing a B&B? Maybe to only make money?... Better to avoid it and to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Paolo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waltnnyc, Owner at 15 FTL Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Gentlemen you were upset and full of attitude from the minute you checked in because you thought we were a gay only guest house for which we are not. Nor do we advertise as such. May I suggest you search such places out next time for your lodging. I'm quite surprised by your review as your room was always cleaned and the internet worked fine. The room seemed damp because you ran the a/c but left the window open al the times. (what a waste) As far as employees coming and goings that's our policies not yours and it's to allow the customer to have as much privacy as possible. We are not here to entertain bored guests. We do every thing possible to keep our costs down so our rates remain fair. As far as Wi Fi, you are sharing an open signal and must drop some of your filters especially on I-Pads. We do not charge for wi fi like most hotels so it does not have any thing to do with pricing of the room for which you demanded it did. As you and others can see from past reviews people love our breakfast service and the self check in process we offer. Finally you were really rude guests. Regards, The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

No wonder this accommodation gets consistently good reviews. I don't want to dwell as others have quite aptly described how good this place is. Walt the co owner i think upgraded us from room 5 to 3 as the other guests were arriving a day or two late.. Very good start. Rooms well WOW attention to detail is the story here . Lighting placed in the right spot measured from the wall no less. Furnishings and bed spot on and overall rooms delightful..

This is a case of the owners being very hands on with a very creative eye for what is right. One other point was the Oriental massage soap in the shower, Top hotels make note. My wife and I came to the conclusion that regardless of price this is possibly the best place we have stayed in.

Breakfast area clean, coffee good and a wide choice of continental breakfast amazing.

To sum up highly recommended six stars

and to quote " QUALITY IS NEVER AN ACCIDENT ' ITS ALWAYS AS A RESULT OF INTELLIGENT EFFORT "

You"ll find it here

Room Tip: All good but a room pool facing if u have to have it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waltnnyc, General Manager at 15 FTL Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for the very nice review. We can't please every one but we try our hardest to please most. Your were a delight to have on the property. Regards and Safe Travels, Walt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Quite often a highly rated hotel misses a thing or two. Not so with 15 FTL. it was an extremely enjoyable stay. A short distance from the cruise terminal- we stayed here to unwind and enjoy the city. Room 1 was superb- the pool inviting and a restful sleep in a quiet neighborhood and quiet hotel. We met the owner as the manager was on vacation- and needless to say it is apparent that the high standards are why people rate this hotel so high. We will certainly return and enjoy the
lodging again.

Room Tip: Room 1 is spacious- huge bathroom area- quiet and three steps from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genofred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waltnnyc, Owner at 15 FTL Guesthouse, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
I'd just like to take a minute to Thank you for the very nice review of our property 15 FTL Hotel/Guesthouse. We are so glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and do visit again. Regards, Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Very nice little hotel with only 8 rooms. Walt is the perfect host. Room with fridge, microwave, flatscreen, bathrobes. Breackfast (warm and hot) in room or beside the heated pool. Private parking. Beach, watertaxi, shopping and restaurants on walking distance (max 25 min). If we return one day to Fort Lauderdale, we will certenly booke again.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waltnnyc, General Manager at 15 FTL Guesthouse, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you very much for the nice comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us it was a pleasure meeting you. There are many things to do with in walking distance of 15 FTL Hotel like the park and shopping, water taxi, food places etc. Being a small hotel as ours can make for a nice quite relaxing vacation. Guest tell me it's like having their own pool and garden at home. We will look forward to your next stay with us in the future. Safe Travels, Walter owner/manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamsund, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Choosing a hotel or guesthouse on their high ratings creates high expectations. In this case our expectations came true! We booked a 2 night stay @ 15FTL guesthouse due to short distance to Fort Lauderdale Int.Airport (and high rating :-) ). After the first 2 nights we extended our stay with another 5 nights because we liked it so much! We stayed in 3 different rooms and all rooms and beds were great to stay in! You can see the owners have an eye for detail! The lazy "freestyle" breakfast (lots of choices in food and beverages from the kitchen) with possibility to eat it at the poolside was a perfect start for our vacation days! Owner Walt went the extra mile to make our stay perfect. Thanks Walt!

Room Tip: Rooms at the poolside are very nice but rooms at backside might be quieter, all ofcourse depending o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hawieza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waltnnyc, Manager at 15 FTL Guesthouse, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We are always happy when we can meet and exceed our guests expectations. You were a delight to have staying with us at 15 FTL Hotel and did get a good showing of many rooms. We get a lot of guests who extend their stays if available with us once they arrive at the property. I'm told because they aren't sure it's as nice as the pictures show. We are and we do keep the website and pics quite current. Glad you enjoyed breakfast and that we were able to exceed your expectations. You were just the guests we love to have and meet. The hotel gets such a diverse group of people it really makes the property seem very international and the mix really seems to work well for the property and our guests. I wish you a very happy holiday season and come see us again in the future, Regards, Walt and Ed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funk
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is really a great little hotel in Fort Lauderdale. It is clean, appointed nicely with a king bed and the location is great------as long as you have a car and do not want to walk to the beach. It is quiet but very handy to Sunrise Bld. Very good breakfast in the morning. Cons----If you check in other than between 2:00----5:00 p.m., you will probably be by your self so make those arrangements with the owner in advance and do not expect to check in before 2:00.

Room Tip: lower level next to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Continent8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waltnnyc, Manager at 15 FTL Guesthouse, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for the nice review. Our location is for sure not for the people who spend all their time at the beach but prefer a nice quite sunny pool. Our location is centrally located so as to offer our guests every thing Ft.Lauderdale has to offer. As far as check in you can always request an early check in if its available and our after hours "seamless" check-in is very much liked by our European guests. This way they don't have to hurry and can take their time getting to the hotel especially if arriving late into Miami airport. Again many Thanks and Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
813 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,021 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Riverside Hotel
#18 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,511 reviews
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,553 reviews
Oasis Hotel
#2 of 24 in Fort Lauderdale
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 15 FTL Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 15 FTL Guesthouse

Property: 15 FTL Guesthouse
Address: 908 NE 15th Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4403
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 15 FTL Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15FTL Hotel is an intimate hotel that welcomes everyone 18+ in Fort Lauderdale's walkable upscale Victoria Park district. You'll be just 10 minutes to the beach, walking distance to stores, casual and fine dining, movies, major shopping areas and 1/2 block to Holiday Park; a major sports park with jogging tracks and tennis as well as the Parker Opera House. 15FTL is an oasis in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 15 FTL Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
15 Ftl Guesthouse Hotel Fort Lauderdale
House New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing