We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Beaut”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tranquilo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tranquilo
Ranked #39 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Beaut”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights. We came from a hotel that was about twice the price (which was gorgeous) nearby, so quite an act to follow. The Tranquilo lived up to our expectations and the staff were very pro-active, and couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was enjoyable. A great place, close to the beach, and a lot of effort as gone in to make it modern and comfortable.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    224
    56
    24
    14
See reviews for
176
279
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night this past Saturday. Overall a very nice property. When we arrived we were greeted very warmly by Kimberly! Offered us an upgraded room for $10 more so we took it. She gave us maps of the area, 2 bottles of water and personally showed us to our room which was a very nice touch! You can tell this hotel had recently been remodeled. The room was big with a king-sized bed, kitchenette, a little dining table and a flat screen tv. Everything was VERY clean. I mean, impeccably clean and very modern which I happen to like. The hotel is only 1 block from the beach and within walking distance to most things in Ft. Lauderdale. You really can't beat the location and they have free parking. That is something that is very rare these days. Now, onto just a couple of things that were negative for us. Firstly, the bathroom. I'm a little over 5'8" and my husband is almost 6' tall so, it was very difficult for us to sit on the toilet and face forward. My feet hit the shower and my knees were in the shower curtain. Just simply not enough room and the sink was very small. No counter space. When you opened the door to the bathroom it almost hit the sink so there really is no room to make it larger. The walk-in shower was HUGE and clean which was lovely, however, there is no shelving in the shower for toiletries. They have a shampoo dispenser on the wall of the shower but that's it. So, the bathroom was just awkward. That, and the toilet paper holder kept falling off the wall. I did forget to mention this to management so I hope the cleaning person saw it and had someone fix it. The only other negative was the mattress. I like firm mattresses but this was just a little too firm for me. I kept waking up every hour or so because I was sore from sleeping in one position. My husband also thought the mattress was uncomfortably firm. Anyway, other than the bathroom and the mattress, it really is a wonderful hotel. The next time we go back, we will definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golfgal5674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
golfgal5674,
Thanks so much for your detailed review. We love hearing about what our guests enjoyed at Tranquilo, and it's extremely important for us to know about the things we can improve on. We will definitely look into the items you mentioned and are already looking forward to your next visit! Thanks again, NBVR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

My husband and I were in Ft. Lauderdale for a friend's 40th birthday celebration this past weekend. My husband's birthday was in a week and we wanted to spend some time together just the two of us. My research online took me to Tranquilo and it looked great on Tripadvisor. I booked it and when we arrived we were met by Amanda at the door to the office. She was very friendly while making sure we had all the information we needed, She offered us a choice of two rooms based on our input. You can tell upon arrival that the property had been recently renovated. There are 2 beautiful pools with ample seating serving the 2 buildings that make up the property. Each building has two floors. We chose the top floor and were given a corner unit, the deluxe king studio.

As we walked in we were dazzled by the brightness of the room and the simple clean lines of the furnishings. The walls and furnishings are white except for a few accents. We loved the terrazzo floors! It felt as if we were the first ones to stay in the room, it was so clean and everything was new. There were 2 flat screen TVs, one in the living room area and one in front of the king size bed. The kitchenette had a small fridge/freezer, a 2 burner stovetop built into the cabinetry, microwave and sink, along with ample cupboard space. All kitchenware was provided. If you have ever been to IKEA you will recognize their stamp on the decor.

The beach is 2 short blocks away. We had dinner at Seasons 52 in the Galleria Mall which was a 5 minute drive away. There are numerous places to eat, drink and be merry along the beachfront.

Back inside our little hideaway we spent a relaxing evening and felt very safe. WiFi was sporadic so in the end we abandoned trying to get online. Things were very quiet. We even hung out outside our room for a while looking at the stars and just enjoying the Florida warmth. We both wish we could have stayed there a whole week as it really was what I had hoped for when I booked. It exceeded my expectations and we have already told our friends about it. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Sharon C,
Happy late birthday to your husband! Why don't you let us help you plan his next birthday? We can accommodate large parties or help with a romantic weekend for two. We can even do the catering! That way you never have to leave! Thanks again, see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Just a block from the beach in Fort Lauderdale I found a most exquisite hotel. Completely remodeled with an Art Deco feel this place is great! The rooms are spacious and comfortable. And they are also exceptionally clean. Something I look for in the many hotels I stay in. Amanda, who was the girl who helped me out, was absolutely wonderful. She was friendly, overly helpful, and very accommodating to all of my needs. She really made me feel like I was home. Great personality, awfully cute and she does a great, great job! I really loved my stay here and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tdenkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

I am from upstate NY and had to stay in Fort Lauderdale for one evening last week and ended up spending an amazing night at the Tranquilo. This is definitely not your typical chain hotel. From my initial greeting until check-out, it was fabulous. The pictures do no justice. The outside was clean and very serene. As soon as my sister and I opened the door to the room, we were in complete awe- we felt like movie stars. The room is NYC meets Miami. Sleek, classy, and 'Tranquilo'. I really cannot say enough about our stay. When we checked out, we were lucky enough to meet the owner who was extremely kind and hospitable. Last but not least, you are in a very short walking distance to the beach, shops, and restaurants. I will be coming back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahAudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I put "Hotel" in quotations marks because The Ocean Gate hotel runs more like a Extended Stay Room. (It is also the partner hotel to "Tranquilo" across the road, which is where you check in and out of)
The hotel does NOT offer breakfast or any kind of meals, it solely provides the room and daily room service. There is a pool, but the location of the pool was quite poorly planned, as it is at the center of the hotel. So that as soon as anyone walks out of their room they are looking out onto the pool. You can visit the sister hotel across the street an use their pool, which is in a more secluded location (better but not optimal as it's right by the road).

The service was excellent, Amanda checked me in and was very friendly and informative.
And the both the check in and check out process was done extremely quickly.

The room we stayed in was very well put together. We had 2 beds, a tv (with limited channels), a kitchen with a good amount of silverware, pots and pans, closet, and elegant bathroom. The beds were low and extremely comfortable, with white sheets and firm pillows.

The hotel is a five minute walk away from Fort Lauderdale Beach and you are within walking distance to many different restaurants.

The parking is limited when the hotel is full, but you are able to park across the street at their sister hotel, though while we were there that space was also limited.

If you're looking for a hotel full amenities, then the Ocean Gate is NOT for you. But we were looking for a hotel with a beautiful room (with kitchen), and that would be in nice area and in walking distance to different activities, if that is also what you are looking for then The Ocean Gate is the RIGHT hotel for you.

Room Tip: I'd choose a room on the second floor. The first floor rooms open up directly to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
David A,
Thanks for your review. North Beach Village Resort is able to offer guests the perfect hotel for their particular needs, and we are always implementing new items. We hope that we can offer continental breakfast in the near future. In the meantime, we do offer breakfast at a few of our nearby hotels, Royal Palms & Robindale. We are very happy to arrange for take out orders or even delivery. It's guest feedback like yours that helps us to improve. We appreciate your input and hope that you can visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

The staff greeted us with fresh brewed tea and frozen grapes. We were showed to our room which was contemporary decorated all white and spotless. Loved the staff, hotel and ambiance. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ansh0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#55 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beach Gardens
#64 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Winterset Hotel
#72 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo

Property: Tranquilo
Address: 2909 Vistamar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4017
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#31 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tranquilo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most everyone dreams of escaping to the tropics. Is it that we wish to let go of stress, feel warm and renewed? Do we desire to strengthen family bonds with laughter and eye-opening discoveries? Sunny Fort Lauderdale is legendary for fulfilling these universal instincts and known for inspirational beaches, chic shops, nightlife, kid-centric entertainment and cherished family locales like North Beach Village's highly rated boutique hotel - Tranquilo. Highly rated and low rates helps us create a remarkable value. Our nearness to sandy beaches you can walk to in 3-minutes and lush tranquil ambiance with soaring palms and heated turquoise pools is what helps us stand out. It's our concierge-like hospitality that's the essence of Tranquilo's mystique and success. Guests love picnicking on sun-kissed beaches, taking water taxis to watersport thrills, cool shops and hot nightlife, but appreciate coming back to Tranquilo - where our outstanding hospitality adds up to an affordable and memorable getaway!Tranquilo's 64-rooms are "modern with a sleek décor," stylishly refurbished with flat screens, refrigerators, microwaves. Wi-Fi and smiles are complimentary. Resort fees are forbidden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tranquilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Gate Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Sea Gate Beach Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing