We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tranquilo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tranquilo
Ranked #44 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night on the way to the keys. Very stylish comfortable rooms a very short walk from the beach would definately stay here again. Parking is just by the hotel and included in the price. If you like to BBQ they even have a gas grill and utensils for guests

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fleetja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Fleetja,
Thank you so much for your fabulous review! We are always happy to offer complimentary parking and wi-fi to our guests. We know that it's tough to plan a vacation which is why we pride ourselves at our lack of "fine print". After all, you should be worrying about which swimsuit to wear to the beach, not have to struggle finding the bottom line! Thanks for staying with us. Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    226
    56
    25
    14
See reviews for
177
281
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here in June after finding this hotel on Trip advisor and decided to try it out given the reviews. We did not want one of the big chain hotels but wanted something that was close to the beach, restaurant's, and the company we were diving with. We found the reviews to be spot on, and were very pleased with our stay. The room was VERY clean, bed comfortable. It's simple clean Scandinavian design but comfortable. Staff were very accommodating and went out of their way to may you feel pampered (frozen grapes and cold lavender towels brought out to you by the pool, great for those hot humid days) we were also allowed to use the pools across the street at the sister hotel Tanquilo (gives you 3 pools to use). Enjoyed our stay so much we are headed back there next week. The only complaint was the bathrooms need some hooks and another towel bar (easy fix!!)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13fins50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
13fins50,
We hope that you do return again soon....and when you do you'll find that we listened to your suggestions! In fact, Ocean Gate is going to merge with Tranquilo. It's currently being refreshed and will re-open even better than before. It will be a 3 building, 3 pool property, giving guests even more to love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Would recommend to friends and family members.
If never recommend any place to ff I would stay at again personally. The staff it awesome, hotel is quaint and comfy and the beach is right next to you. It's awesome.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Rob_Yoder,
You are awesome Rob! Thanks so much for the review and the recommendation to friends & family. We love what we do and are so happy that it shows. Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I don't usually write reviews for Trip Advisor almost right after checkin' out, but Fort Lauderdale's Tranquilo will have to be an exception. It's important that more travellers know about this very good hotel -- and the sooner, the better.

There are lots of similar lodging (2-floor buildings, with patios and small pools, no elevator and no restaurant) in the North Beach Village area (roughly, the two blocks to the right of the park adjacent to Sunrise Blvd) in Ft Lauderdale; some of them are sister properties. The enthusiastic reviews about Tranquilo here in TA were decisive to my choosing among so many options.

And it's all true!

I booked the smaller (and cheaper) room available through Booking.com, but as the hotel was not full, the manager -- a nice girl called Amanda -- immediately upgraded us to a superior, more spacious option, which also complied to my demand of quietness during the stay (that is, away from hallways, pools, people in general). The double-glazed windows faced neutral parts of the property.

Room #3205 is more of a studio, with a very comfortable queen bed, a fully-equipped kitchen that helped us avoid overpriced meals at restaurants (we shopped at Target and Publix) and a small bathroom. Everything is brand new (the hotel is just 5 months-old) and of quality. The cleanliness is impressive.

The only negative point of the room is the AC unit, which is noisy and sits almost at floor-level in a kitchen wall. Looking from the outside, it seems that all rooms have the same configuration for the AC, so maybe light-sleepers would have trouble anywhere in the hotel. Nevertheless, my girlfriend slept like a rock, and even I can't complain about the quality of my sleep there.

The two swimming pools of the Tranquilo are deliciously temperate (refreshing in the day, mildly warm in the night) and incredibly clean. One is in a more secluded area of the hotel, in a patio surrounded by several rooms, and the other is fully visible from the street, right in front of the staff office. Maybe seeking privacy, most guests preferred the former, leaving the latter for me and my girlfriend only...

The beach is a mere 5-minute walk from the hotel. It's not a bad beach, but certainly it's not impressive or particularly enjoyable (lots of algae in the water), and alone wouldn't justify a trip to Ft Lauderdale. Not a problem for us: we rented a car and visited places like Miami/South Beach, Delray Beach, and Orlando (3-hour ride). The Sungrass Mills outlet is also nearby. The Las Olas Blvd is the local equivalent to Rodeo Drive and is well worth a visit. We didn't explore the sea-oriented tourist activities.

To end our stay at Tranquilo in a high note, Amanda compensated us for two missing laundry itens that weren't retrieved until we left by giving a substantial discount in the bill and not charging for our late check-out (3 pm), even on a busy Saturday. She also took note of our Brazilian street address and vowed to ship us the clothes, if found, free of charge.

Or maybe she can do that in person, because we'll surely be back at her hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Claudio_Souza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Claudio_Souza,
We are so pleased that you did write a review, thank you so much. Although we want our guests to find our hotels stylish, what we really want is for our guests to be happy. In fact, our mission is to create an area where locals and visitors can find love & happiness. We are so pleased that we were able to help you and your girlfriend find it at Tranquilo! See you soon:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Perfect beach hotel... Spotless, cool modern sophisticated yet cozy, responsive and intelligent staff, beach easy access and quiet pools. Loved the frozen grapes; the drinks and dinner at the bar of Weston hotel across from ocean and a short 20 min. walk from hotel; and just hanging out in the room (huge). Near everything, no negatives.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AtlantaNPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
AtlantaNPowell,
What a great review, thank you so much! We love our guests, and we really appreciate your kind words. We hope to see you very soon. Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Family of 5, 2 adults/3children: spacious brand new suites (everything from IKEA), very clean. very accommodating, helpful, friendly staff that went above & beyond call of duty. Thank-you to Amanda for going to the bank for us (unbelievable!!!) & Tiffany for shipping out our forgotten personal items to us (your the best!!!). Pool right outside of apartment, great for kids & adults alike; laundry service available at a mere $2.50 for wash & dry; BBQ to your heart's content. Quaint atmosphere, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank isabella d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
isabella d,
Thanks so much for your review. We don't want our guests to just enjoy our hotels. We want them to love the entire experience and are so happy that you did! We hope that you and your family can come visit us again soon. Oh and bring your list...Amanda, Tiffany and the other GSM's will be there to accommodate:) Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We spent a total of 3 days pre-cruise and 1 day post-cruise, at the this lovely hotel. All the staff were extremely friendly and always willing to help anyway they could. My parents and my husband and I arrived late in the evening as our luggage had been lost and we had to wait around for it at the airport. Kim was at the hotel waiting to meet us and checked us in immediately and we were in our rooms within minutes of arriving on the property. It was an amazing experience from beginning to end. I am quite picky with cleanliness at hotels and I was super impressed with how clean the whole property was!!!!! The rooms were all very large, fresh, clean and beautifully decorated with modern decor. It was my husband and my wedding anniversary and they had a little surprise for us in our room. The kitchen was fully stacked with all appliances and utensils etc. you need including a coffee machine with complementary coffee, which we really appreciated (after the long day we had traveling). Even though we did not make it to the beach, it was only a short walk away. Our second stay was just as great as the first one and Amanda was also super friendly and helpful. If we are ever in Fort Lauderdale again, we will definitely go back to the Tranquilo. Highly recommend it!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Andrea M,
Thanks for your 5 star review! Pre/post cruise, business or pleasure, we are here whenever you need! In fact, we have just introduced a shuttle service so next time you visit, we'll even drop you off at the Port! What could be better than that? Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#54 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beach Gardens
#64 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Winterset Hotel
#72 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo

Property: Tranquilo
Address: 2909 Vistamar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4017
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#31 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tranquilo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most everyone dreams of escaping to the tropics. Is it that we wish to let go of stress, feel warm and renewed? Do we desire to strengthen family bonds with laughter and eye-opening discoveries? Sunny Fort Lauderdale is legendary for fulfilling these universal instincts and known for inspirational beaches, chic shops, nightlife, kid-centric entertainment and cherished family locales like North Beach Village's highly rated boutique hotel - Tranquilo. Highly rated and low rates helps us create a remarkable value. Our nearness to sandy beaches you can walk to in 3-minutes and lush tranquil ambiance with soaring palms and heated turquoise pools is what helps us stand out. It's our concierge-like hospitality that's the essence of Tranquilo's mystique and success. Guests love picnicking on sun-kissed beaches, taking water taxis to watersport thrills, cool shops and hot nightlife, but appreciate coming back to Tranquilo - where our outstanding hospitality adds up to an affordable and memorable getaway!Tranquilo's 64-rooms are "modern with a sleek décor," stylishly refurbished with flat screens, refrigerators, microwaves. Wi-Fi and smiles are complimentary. Resort fees are forbidden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tranquilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Gate Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Sea Gate Beach Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing