We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our excelent, quiet and pleasant stay at Tranquilo!!!!”
Review of Tranquilo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tranquilo
Ranked #49 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Montevideo, Uruguay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our excelent, quiet and pleasant stay at Tranquilo!!!!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a very nice hotel with big rooms, totally clean and newly refurbished. Kimberley, the manager; and her team are always ready to help on any ocassion.

The hotel is situated at 3 blocks of Sunrise Blvd. and it is really "Tranquilo" which means quiet in spanish. After walking only 2 blocks, you reach and excellent beach. Nearby there restaurants, bars, supermarkets, transportation and the main services any tourist may need.

We totally recommend this hotel when staying at Fort Lauderdale. We surely be back soon!
Estela and Alberto Vidal from Uruguay, South America

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful because they are all big and with pool or green area view. The hotel ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alberto V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    235
    59
    29
    19
See reviews for
185
295
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south of boston
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

my husband and i just visited Fort Lauderdale and we were looking for a place
to base our vacation from since we were also traveling down to the keys. We were
sp surprised at how great this place was. upon our arrival the staff made us feel
as if we were being welcomed by family, We could not believe how comfortable and
welcome we felt. The rooms were quite clean and very comfortable. it was so nice
after a long drive back from the keys to be welcomed by such a great staff who made us feel
at home. we will be back maybe we will check out one of their other properties they all
look interesting.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njames125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borlange, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Tranquilo hotel the best hotel I have ever visited-just fabulous.Very clean and comfortable room.you have everything you need there.The staff so nice,friendly and helpful.Thank you Kimberly!.We stayed for 3 weeks in sep-oct and we enjoyed every minute of our visit.Very good with a shuttle from airport too.We will be back!!

Room Tip: All rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monica n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I booked this hotel for a trip with friends and it was perfect! Yes, at first you may be like really??? The pictures of the outside of the hotel make you think it's an old school motel which it is...but completely renovated. Everything is clean and modern in the rooms. The grounds are kept nicely and the pool area is AWESOME! The hotel is 2 blocks from the beach so you can walk. It's easy to get to pretty much anywhere you want to go. It was so convenient to have a small kitchen. We could make our own coffee every morning, toast bagels for breakfast and keep our leftovers from the restaurants cold. We stayed in a Deluxe Queen suite and the price could not be beat for the area. It was a huge space and had anything you might need for a weeks vacation. I was glad to hear they updated their staffing policy and now have someone on site 24 hours a day. Some people wrote in their reviews that was a concern someone was only there til 8 pm. This has now changed. The reason I chose this hotel was because of the reviews and I would recommend to anyone I knew travelling to the area that they stay here. What a great deal and vacation we had.

Here are a couple of things to note:
`The AC is next to one of the beds so if you sleep in that bed be prepared to be a little chilly. `The second bed may not be as cool as you though.
There are 2 tv's one for the bed area and one for the living space.
`The floors were a little sticky...could have been our own fault but I don't remember spilling anything. I don't discredit the hotel for this. Everything was very clean and well maintained.
`Someone mentioned in a review that there was plastic on the beds that made a noise but we didn't have that in our room. I'm picky about beds but this one was actually quite comfortable!
`They have real keys. How cool is that?? Everyone is so electronic nowadays.
`Staff was great, we needed extra towels and we got them right away.
`Quiet rooms...we didn't hear noise from people at the pool in the evening or day time.

Hope you all find this review helpful. If we travel to the area again we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kaseyhobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
kaseyhobson,
Wow, what a great description of Tranquilo. Thanks so much. We try to provide our guests with everything they could possibly need. We also really listen to our guests and appreciate guest feedback. As you mentioned, the office is now open 24 hours a day, thanks to the suggestions of our guests. We are looking forward to your next visit. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Very new and clean rooms with modern, all-white furniture and terrazzo flooring. Appreciated the lining on the curtains which blocked out the light for late morning sleeping. Comfortable bedding and very quiet air conditioning. Front desk attendants very friendly. Unfortunately, need to walk by a couple of abandoned motels to get to the beach. One of them was billowing smoke as it was being used by the fire dept for training the Saturday of our stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Cris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Cris C,
Thanks so much for staying with us. During your stay, the fire department was doing safety training and we are sorry if the smoke affected you. The good news is that next time you visit those abandoned motels will not be there! We appreciate your review and hope that your next visit will be soon! Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is just fabulous. Our room was HUGE and without a doubt the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff were sweet, helpful and just lovely. The heated pool is small but very clean and a nice escape from the heat.

You can walk to the beach and many restaurants easily.

One tip for the ladies...the room does provide free shampoo but does not offer conditioner or body lotion. Since we were only staying for a short weekend, I hadn't brought stuff with me. There is no mini-mart or pharmacy within an easy walk to go buy that stuff either so bring it with you or stop in town before you come to the beach.

The rooms do have kitchens too so bring water, snacks, beverages since there is no place to buy that stuff for late night snacking.

We will definitely be back. For the price, I was overly satisfied.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sollycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
sollycat,
We love that you were overly satisfied! What a nice thing to say, thank you so much. We definitely appreciate your feedback and are always trying to improve. We have started looking into providing more toiletry items for our guests. Come back soon to enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night on the way to the keys. Very stylish comfortable rooms a very short walk from the beach would definately stay here again. Parking is just by the hotel and included in the price. If you like to BBQ they even have a gas grill and utensils for guests

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fleetja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Fleetja,
Thank you so much for your fabulous review! We are always happy to offer complimentary parking and wi-fi to our guests. We know that it's tough to plan a vacation which is why we pride ourselves at our lack of "fine print". After all, you should be worrying about which swimsuit to wear to the beach, not have to struggle finding the bottom line! Thanks for staying with us. Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
99 reviews
Winterset Hotel
#73 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
353 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#60 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
748 reviews
Beach Gardens
#68 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
244 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo

Property: Tranquilo
Address: 2909 Vistamar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4017
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#31 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tranquilo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most everyone dreams of escaping to the tropics. Is it that we wish to let go of stress, feel warm and renewed? Do we desire to strengthen family bonds with laughter and eye-opening discoveries? Sunny Fort Lauderdale is legendary for fulfilling these universal instincts and known for inspirational beaches, chic shops, nightlife, kid-centric entertainment and cherished family locales like North Beach Village's highly rated boutique hotel - Tranquilo. Highly rated and low rates helps us create a remarkable value. Our nearness to sandy beaches you can walk to in 3-minutes and lush tranquil ambiance with soaring palms and heated turquoise pools is what helps us stand out. It's our concierge-like hospitality that's the essence of Tranquilo's mystique and success. Guests love picnicking on sun-kissed beaches, taking water taxis to watersport thrills, cool shops and hot nightlife, but appreciate coming back to Tranquilo - where our outstanding hospitality adds up to an affordable and memorable getaway!Tranquilo's 64-rooms are "modern with a sleek décor," stylishly refurbished with flat screens, refrigerators, microwaves. Wi-Fi and smiles are complimentary. Resort fees are forbidden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Tranquilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Gate Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Sea Gate Beach Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing