We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, reasonably priced and friendly staff”
Review of Tranquilo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tranquilo
Ranked #52 of 131 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We chose to stay at Tranquilo for seven days before starting a cruise. Other hotels suggested by our travel agent were rejected when I found this hotel on Trip Advisor and it had much better ratings.

Hardly a five minute walk from the "north beach" and part of the North Beach Village Resort it turned out to be a good choice. A car is a must as there are very few restaurants / grocery stores close by. There is a local restaurant and a place that serves breakfast a few blocks away. The busy shopping / eating area on the beach is about a 30 minute walk and chain restaurants (Olive Garden) about half an hour drive.

Our room (101) was across the road from the main office section. As there were just two of us and we planned to eat our suppers out we chose the "Studio with queen" considering the price, the lovely internet pictures, and the fact it had a fridge and microwave. Our only real mistake at Tranquilo as the microwave and fridge are stuck in a "closet" with the safe and your clothes. We ended up preparing food in the bathroom. There was no real eating area and no plates or cutlery provided? The long table along the one wall was the only place to put our travel bags. On having a quick peak at some of the other lovely rooms with full kitchens, couches, etc., we asked to upgrade but were told they were fully booked. On checking out I was advised that we should have asked for a room in the main section as they were newer and all larger.

Our room (and I assume all rooms in the older complex across the road) had a mouldy smell and a dehumidifier was in the room. When started the humidity was 90+ % but after running a few hours the smell subsided and a reading of 60% was achieved. This process was required each day. These are old buildings that have been renovated quite recently and construction was still in progress in adjoining rooms which was annoying at times.

Tranquilo has three pools with the better two (less wind and more private) by the office. The one across the road does not get sun and is very noisy due to road traffic.

The staff was very efficient and friendly. They went out of their way to help with minor issues and make a computer available when required. Free WiFi worked great. There was not a phone in the room which was a disadvantage.

Laundry facilities were a benefit as there was nothing local and really helped us get on the ship with clean clothes.

They have recently started a "shuttle" service that should make it a little easier for those not having a car to get to the hotel and some local areas.

Traffic on the beach and in Fort Lauderdale is very hectic. A GPS is a must to locate your destination and stay in the right lane. When renting a car please consider the option to insure against "uninsured drivers". My investigation found that one in four or five do not have adequate insurance in Florida??

Some minor annoyances were lack of hot water and pressure, could not find clean pool towels, large paper cups only.

Do not pick a room close to the main street or dumpster (ask for a middle room if needed),

Fort Lauderdale by the beach is quite expensive. We found Tranquilo to be quite reasonably priced and now know what to choose for a room if we return. If it was not for our "cramped" room I would have given it a five star rating.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the main office complex. Ensure that the room is big enough for your party and has su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigBlue01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

BigBlue01,
Thanks so much for your review. We know that we can find the perfect room for you next time and earn that 5th star! We also recently implemented a shuttle service so we can easily pick you up from your cruise! Take care and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

The people that are complaining about the safety of the location and the distance to the beach and restaurants are ridiculous. My husband and I loved every aspect of our stay. We were a short walk to the beach and walked to Las Olas blvd. daily, a water taxi that is great fun is also available, the ride includes a description of celebrity and executive mansions on the water. The water taxi pickups are close to Tranquillo and a pass is good for all day and night. Back to Tranquillo, the rooms are very clean and housekeeping does an excellent job cleaning up every day and pays close attention to detail. We are pretty fussy about where we stay and we will be back.
The group that owns Tranquillo also owns Plaza Bistro, I highly recommend this restaurant, the food and atmosphere were both very enjoyable! The entertainment on Saturday evening was outstanding.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 101.... nice first floor room with a pool right outside our door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Bobo B,
What a kind review, thanks so much! Our boutique hotels have lighting all around, providing an added safety feature at night and also giving it a nice vibe. We've worked hard to improve the area and appreciate your feedback on this. Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel has a good starting point, and I wanted to like it. It is beautiful and the rooms are very nice. The pools are also great. We stayed here at the last minute when our travel plans changed, so our expectations may have been different than others. We also did not have a car, so that made this hotel particularly difficult to stay in.

The Wi-Fi was unusable. Terrible connection. It would have been less frustrating if they had just said they don't have it at all. No phone or information on surrounding area in the room, which wouldn't have mattered if the Wi-Fi had worked. No ESPN on the cable TV.

You can walk places, but you must traverse a part of town that didn't feel extremely safe. It seems to be an area that is "up and coming," with a good bit of development, so perhaps that will change.

I also did not know there was a breakfast available until I read a review here, so our family tried to stockpile food each evening so our young son could eat in the morning. I wish someone had told us! I cannot recommend this hotel, but I wish I could.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KarenATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

KarenATL,
Thanks very much for your feedback. You mentioned several items and we're looking for ways to improve on these. We appreciate your review and hope to see you again soon! Take care, NBV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I was so impressed by the wonderful, caring staff at Tranquilo. Especially the Guest Services Manger, Kimberly who was so kind, friendly, professional, and hospitable! The room we stayed in was HUGE with great views of the stunning pool and beautiful Fort Lauderdale. I would highly recommend staying at Tranquilo to anyone planning a visit to Fort Lauderdale :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seaangel29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

seaangel29,
What a kind review, thanks so much. We're glad that you enjoyed the room and the pool but are really pleased that our staff was able to make your stay memorable. We love our guests and are so happy that you felt that love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The renovation of the Tranquilo is aesthetically pleasing. The hotel is bright, the pool is relaxing, the staff is friendly and helpful and how awesome that there is a small kitchen in the room. The location is also fantastic being on a quiet corner within walking distance of the beach. My main complaint is that the beds are uncomfortable. I am not a fan of foam beds, and with these IKEA mattresses I found it difficult to sleep on my sides as the foam positioned my spine in a painful shape. The only comfortable position was flat on my back. The pillows were also uncomfortable and my husband ended up throwing his aside and using a towel instead. Overall the hotel is a good one, and if only the beds had a higher grade mattress I would rate the Tranquilo as great.

Worth noting, unlike one reviewer, I found a safe in my room. Perhaps the hotel added them after his review? Also, the breakfast offered through the North Beach Village Resort was very good and worth trying.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jodeeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

jodeeann,
Thanks so much for your review. We are sorry that you encountered some problems with the beds and will make sure to look into some solutions. Thanks for mentioning the breakfast, located at a sister hotel, Royal Palms. Guests can enjoy daily breakfast before heading to the ocean. It can't get much better than that! Take care, NBV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel is part of the 'North Beach Village Resort' hotel collection.
We had reservations at their sister hotel, Beach Gardens, but they were overbooked for the room we reserved so we were moved to this hotel which was around the corner.

The hotel is located on two corners of the street. One side has 2 pools and the other side has 1 pool. The hotel has been remodeled to a cool mid century modern style.

Our room was large with a kitchen, living room, bedroom and bathroom.
Everything appeared very clean except for a long black hair on the sheets and a long black hair on one of the bath towels (downgrade one star! yuck).

The location was great with the beach only 2 blocks away, as well as many restaurants, bars and shops nearby.

The WiFi was horrible. VERY slow and frustrating!
Free parking.

I would recommend checking out the North Beach Village Resort hotels.
There are many to choose from. Some more family friendly than others.

Room Tip: The King rooms are large!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westcoastim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

westcoastim,
Thanks so much for your review on not just Tranquilo, but on the NBV hotel collection. We are happy to have a hotel for every taste and budget and hope that you're able to come back again soon, we'd love to give you the tour of the entire village! Thanks again, NBV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

it's so close to the beach , location is just perfect, it's clean and tidy. and it has style but there's no phone and safe in the room. they're very important for me and there's so much noise coming from outside during the midnight. and the walls are thin you can hear the room next to you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gorki222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#59 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
764 reviews
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#47 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
219 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Beach Palace
#33 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
705 reviews
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#19 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
128 reviews
Beach Gardens
#69 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo

Address: 2909 Vistamar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4017
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#19 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#31 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £71 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tranquilo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most everyone dreams of escaping to the tropics. Is it that we wish to let go of stress, feel warm and renewed? Do we desire to strengthen family bonds with laughter and eye-opening discoveries? Sunny Fort Lauderdale is legendary for fulfilling these universal instincts and known for inspirational beaches, chic shops, nightlife, kid-centric entertainment and cherished family locales like North Beach Village's highly rated boutique hotel - Tranquilo. Highly rated and low rates helps us create a remarkable value. Our nearness to sandy beaches you can walk to in 3-minutes and lush tranquil ambiance with soaring palms and heated turquoise pools is what helps us stand out. It's our concierge-like hospitality that's the essence of Tranquilo's mystique and success. Guests love picnicking on sun-kissed beaches, taking water taxis to watersport thrills, cool shops and hot nightlife, but appreciate coming back to Tranquilo - where our outstanding hospitality adds up to an affordable and memorable getaway!Tranquilo's 64-rooms are "modern with a sleek décor," stylishly refurbished with flat screens, refrigerators, microwaves. Wi-Fi and smiles are complimentary. Resort fees are forbidden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tranquilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Gate Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Sea Gate Beach Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing