We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Name is misleading...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Tranquilo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tranquilo
Ranked #39 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Name is misleading...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Pretty sure 'tranquilo' translates to 'calm' or 'quiet', and this place is anything but.

Paper thin walls and floors mean you hear everything in the adjoining rooms, and the room above us in our case.

The continuous noise from all sides combined with a super-soft mattress gave the worst night's sleep of my holiday.

If the people in the adjoining room using the toilet every 15 minutes all through the night wasn't bad enough and the kid upstairs bouncing a ball in the early hours didn't hack you off you had the cleaners doing the room windows before 8am.

Positives are it was clean and well decorated with a nice little pool and a short walk to the beach.

Would recommend avoiding this one.

Room Tip: Upstairs *might* be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boombang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    223
    56
    24
    14
See reviews for
176
278
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Must of been because of the season - but we upgraded to a suite for next to nothing.
It was extremely spacious, well equipped and rather like staying overnight at IKEA! But the furniture was very much in-keeping for the style of the place.
The location is lovely. I love staying in these period hotels. And this has certainly been the best to- date.
I would stay again. Lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Up & Coming North Beach area - Tranquilo part of a range of cool hotels here - really enjoyed my stay very peaceful quiet and a welcome change to the huge hotel chains! Well recommended for leisure and business too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhalluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed several nights for a family vacation. The hotel is located a couple blocks from the ocean. The entire room is furnished with Ikea everything. The kitchen had the basics for limited cooking. The appliances were newer and clean. The staff was very friendly. A lot of 1 and 2 day visitors. If you are able to walk, there are restaurants and shop all along the ocean strip 1-3 miles long. Joggers and walkers all day long on the shore line. There are 3 pools at this hotel. While they are all very small, two are located on the main hotel property and one across the street in mostly shade, a great pool for little kids. My only complaint would be the beds are not that good, very soft. Our kitchen table had the finish start to bubble and come off. Not a huge problem but if you are a germ-a-fob it maybe. Overall it was clean and a good experience. I did ask for a late check-out and was told company policy was to charge $25 for more than an hour later check-out. I had a later flight and didnt want to sit at the airport. i do understand this is if our only there for a day or two, but we were there for a week...thought they could have helped us out a little more than that, the hotel was not booked and had several open rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor if you have young kids or lots of luggage. Also ask for the building with one p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hueyx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
hueyx5,
Thanks for your review. Tranquilo is a great place, and we're happy that you and your family were able to stay with us. We do apologize for the late check out fee. We do have to adhere to some policies, but our hope is that the complimentary parking and wi-fi make up for the late check out. Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at the Tranquilo for 3 nights and it was fabulous. We stayed at the most recently acquired and renovated building across the street from the main office. There are 3 pools, none of which you'd want to hang out all day at but are good otherwise. The one at our building had a Melrose Place feel.

They allowed us to check in a little early and we paid $25 to check out late at 2pm. It was worth it! We stayed in a queen room and it was spotless and nicely decorated, hello Ikea! The fridge was nice and it was good to have a microwave although we did not use it. I also appreciated all the storage space in the bathroom.

Overall, I would say the Tranquilo is a MUCH better value than the big guys on the A1A. Those hotels are not even "on" the beach anyway. You still have to exit the hotel and go across the street. It's all the same beach! I say skip those guys and go with Tranquilo.

Room Tip: Pick the building across the street from the main office!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Caitlin M,
We say skip the big guys too and go with Tranquilo! We are happy to be able to provide our guests with the same amenities as the bigger chain hotels while also giving that intimate feel of the boutique hotel. We are always checking our competitor rates in order to give our guests the best rate possible. Thanks so much for noticing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed at tranquilo during a recent trip to Florida. It is a beautiful hotel in an excellent location, in close proximity to the beach. The rooms were clean, quiet and very comfortable. The staff were also very friendly and accommodating. In fact the only issue I had was with the a/c which is basically at "bed" level....it rattled and hummed so loud, it was like sleeping next to a vending machine. Too bad...because it was otherwise an amazing place to stay. Unfortunately, I would likely skip this place next time because of that one thing.

Room Tip: Inquire about the A/C before booking and mention that some of the reviews stated it was loud and rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pugfug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Pugfug,
We hope that the a/c doesn't deter you from visiting us again! Please give us a call next time you're in the area and let us help you find that perfect room! It's guest feedback that helps us improve, and we always want to give our guests the very best vacation possible. Thanks so much for your review. Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is really a very fancy motel that's in a great location just two blocks from the Bonnet House Beach in north Fort Lauderdale. We stayed in a studio with two queen beds and a kitchenette, which was very nicely appointed. The complex is a renovated two-storey motel from the 50s that has an awesome retro vibe but with thoroughly modern fittings. While it was great for a few nights stay for me, my husband and two young kids, a couple of minor gripes mean I couldn't rate this property five stars: tiny bathroom vanity, terrible wall-mounted hair dryer and economy toiletries (all-in-one soap/shampoo/conditioner?!). There were also not enough pool towels for the number of guests. But this was balanced by free parking and no resort fee. We were originally going to stay in Miami, but the value here was much better and we're really pleased we chose to stay at the Tranquilo!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lily_Was_Here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Lily_from_Canberra,
We are really pleased that you chose to stay at Tranquilo too! We always appreciate guest feedback and will look into the items you mentioned. Thanks for mentioning the complimentary wi-fi, parking and lack of resort fees. We know that planning a vacation is a lot of work so we try to keep it simple, and we never add any hidden fees. Thanks again for visiting us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#55 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beach Gardens
#64 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Winterset Hotel
#72 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo

Property: Tranquilo
Address: 2909 Vistamar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4017
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#31 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tranquilo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most everyone dreams of escaping to the tropics. Is it that we wish to let go of stress, feel warm and renewed? Do we desire to strengthen family bonds with laughter and eye-opening discoveries? Sunny Fort Lauderdale is legendary for fulfilling these universal instincts and known for inspirational beaches, chic shops, nightlife, kid-centric entertainment and cherished family locales like North Beach Village's highly rated boutique hotel - Tranquilo. Highly rated and low rates helps us create a remarkable value. Our nearness to sandy beaches you can walk to in 3-minutes and lush tranquil ambiance with soaring palms and heated turquoise pools is what helps us stand out. It's our concierge-like hospitality that's the essence of Tranquilo's mystique and success. Guests love picnicking on sun-kissed beaches, taking water taxis to watersport thrills, cool shops and hot nightlife, but appreciate coming back to Tranquilo - where our outstanding hospitality adds up to an affordable and memorable getaway!Tranquilo's 64-rooms are "modern with a sleek décor," stylishly refurbished with flat screens, refrigerators, microwaves. Wi-Fi and smiles are complimentary. Resort fees are forbidden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tranquilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Gate Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Sea Gate Beach Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing