We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquilo.....We Loved it! !”
Review of Tranquilo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tranquilo
Ranked #49 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Raymore, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquilo.....We Loved it! !”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I arrived at the Tranquilo on Wednesday June 11th. We thought we were checking in for the Cocobella. We were greeted by Darryl F. Instead of the Cocobella Darryl found us an amazing room at the Tranquilo! FYI...You check in at this property for the Cocobella... few steps down the street. This is an older property but it has been updated!! I just can not say enough about Darryl..He found us the perfect room. Great view of the pool and surrounding area. He also took the time to hear why we were there what we liked. We stayed Wed Thurs & Friday. We were going to Port St Lucie for 3 days and then we decided to book the Tranquilo again for our last 3 days of the trip. When we came back on the following Monday .....again they had put us in a beautiful room. All the rooms have been updated and are really nice, they are very clean, pool is beautiful, they have a bbq if you want to cook out..which we did. And as I stated the staff is amazing...pool guy housekeepers, office staff. Please give this hotel a try...it's worth it and hopefully you will be as happy as we were. Great place for before and after a cruise.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    235
    59
    29
    19
See reviews for
185
295
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Booked the Tranquilo through booking.com as a 2 nighter in FL.
The hotel is like stepping back in time, a little, it is essentially a collection of small apartments that form part of the North Beach Village Resort. NBVR is formed by a group of hotels and restaurants where you have all their facilities available to you to enhance your stay.
The nearby beach is fab as is shopping at the Galleria to the north on east sunrise.
Although Tranquilo is in a quiet area it is easy to make your way to the night life down to the south, took us about 20 minutes walking, although taxis are plentiful.
Would recommend a visit to Las Olas Boulevard to the south, trendy shops and restaurants with a pleasant river walk.
Back to Tranquilo, always nice to return there, it almost felt like a home from home. Spacious, well specified, comfy king size bed, we really enjoyed it. Would thoroughly recommend. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Tranquilo is split between the main area and apartments across the road. We stayed across the road a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazelnutineverybite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This 2.5 star hotel was better than some of the 4 star hotels I've stayed at. Our room was modern, clean and quiet. The hotel is close to the beach- only about a 5 minute walk. The only downside was the super slow wi-fi but I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for great value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamO104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Sam O,
Thanks so much for your 5 star review. Tranquilo is part of North Beach Village, which is a destination in itself. Guests staying at Tranquilo can enjoy a great hotel, but they also are able to take advantage of all of the amenities in the entire village, including the Village Spa and fitness center. We're so happy that you chose Tranquilo, and we hope that you'll stay with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Bianca greeted me with a big smile and a warm hello when I checked in, Danielle was busy on the computer, Gina loaned me her umbrella, Amanda offered to change some light bulbs even with her big belly as she is expecting a baby, good luck Amanda, Jeff and Jody picked me up in the shuttle van after a party I attended and Daryl F. showed me some rooms in case I wanted to move from mine cause of some work that had to be done and might disturb me. They didn't start too early so it wasn't a bother and I was out most of the day. I loved my room, it was spacious and clean with a kitchen, dishes, pots, pans, utensils and micro wave oven. The house keeping folks were on top of their job and if you wanted extra coffee, no problem. I met a family that shared their BBQ with me and some really nice folks around the pool. Did I mention that the beach is a couple of blocks away? I highly recommend Tranquilo, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank corky r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
corky r,
Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that we made an impression on you, and we're impressed that you remembered the staff names! We can always add extra amenities but that personalized service is what we really want guests to remember, and we really appreciate that you did. Thanks so much. Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent little hotel in Fort Lauderdale, a very short walk (5 minutes) away from the beach and shops by the beach. Premium accommodations for a fraction of the price (it feels like you're staying at the W). Will definitely stay there again when visiting Fort Lauderdale!

The rooms are modern and nicely decorated, ours included a fridge and small kitchen, 2 flat screen TVs, new A/C that kept the room as cold as one wanted, nice leather couch and other seating, plenty of storage space (closet and drawers, ironing board, iron and hangers provided). Four of us stayed in the room (2 beds) and there was more than enough room for everyone. There are two pools, both with crystal clear water, and ample of beach chairs (under the full sun or in the shade) to lay around, beach towels provided.

The staff were excellent - we needed to call them twice (once our water heater stopped working and another time we couldn't find parking (big event going on at the beach)) and both times everything was taken care of within minutes! (for parking, they moved one of their cars to make room for ours!) (Normally parking wasn't a problem because parking tags are provided to hotel guests).

Before booking I was a little concerned, having read a complaint that the room wasn't cleaned daily - now true! Our room was cleaned daily and impeccably, and clean towels provided on a daily basis!

Tranquilo was really quite a nice discovery, and the name is well deserved. We loved it so much that one day we ditched our friends and instead of going to the beach we stayed at the pool (and had a wonderful time).

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Panos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Panos A,
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We really appreciate it. Thanks for mentioning the rate. We try very hard to make sure we offer the most competitive rates in the area. Our rates may be low but as you found, our customer service is not! We really appreciate your feedback. Thanks again, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
523 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Our group spent three nights at Tranquilo and loved it. We had two rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were quite nice, deluxe studios with king bed and full kitchen. Very nicely furnished, the bed was excellent. Everything was very clean and well maintained. As we were leaving, the maintenance man was out scrubbing the exterior walkways with soap and water. There are three swimming pools, all well maintained and very clean. We liked the two near the office best. Tranquilo is about two blocks from the beach and a 10-15 minute walk from a variety of nice restaurants and shops. Prices are reasonable given the quality of the facility, location, and the amenities provided. I highly recommend Tranquilo and will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
John H,
Isn't it nice to know that you can find a clean, stylish and affordable hotel in the Fort Lauderdale Beach Area? We are always checking competitor rates, and we are proud to offer some of the most affordable rates in the area! We appreciate the recommendation and hope that you are able to visit us again very soon. Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at this boutique hotel the Friday night of Memorial Day weekend. Shockingly, we were able to make the reservations that same afternoon - after reviewing the profile on TripAdvisor.

The Tranquilo truly lived up to its name and more. We were upgraded to the King-size bed on the corner of the second floor, for the same price of $158. The accomodations were impecable; the all-white scheme with touches of light green complemented the modern styling of the bed, sofa, and ottoman. The outside of the building was decorated with the same color motif, with an oversized chess set by the pool and piped-in classical music. We were even extended the courtesy of checking out at noon.
That night, we dined at the Plaza Bistro - an outdoor space with waiters serving fusion cuisine from a food truck. Breakfast was enjoyed at a bakery with Starbucks coffee at the Hilton on A1A. Both places were within walking distance of the hotel.
Overall, the Tranquilo offered us a fantastic experience. We will definitely return soon!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuzmanServices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
GuzmanServices,
It's always nice to hear from a Floridian! We're so please that this boutique hotel lived up to its name and that you found the TripAdvisor reviews helpful and true. North Beach Village is more than just a hotel collection, it's a destination in itself! We are always adding to the area and hope that you'll be able to visit us often to see all of the exciting changes! Thanks so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
99 reviews
Winterset Hotel
#73 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
353 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#60 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
747 reviews
Beach Gardens
#68 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
244 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo

Property: Tranquilo
Address: 2909 Vistamar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4017
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#31 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tranquilo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most everyone dreams of escaping to the tropics. Is it that we wish to let go of stress, feel warm and renewed? Do we desire to strengthen family bonds with laughter and eye-opening discoveries? Sunny Fort Lauderdale is legendary for fulfilling these universal instincts and known for inspirational beaches, chic shops, nightlife, kid-centric entertainment and cherished family locales like North Beach Village's highly rated boutique hotel - Tranquilo. Highly rated and low rates helps us create a remarkable value. Our nearness to sandy beaches you can walk to in 3-minutes and lush tranquil ambiance with soaring palms and heated turquoise pools is what helps us stand out. It's our concierge-like hospitality that's the essence of Tranquilo's mystique and success. Guests love picnicking on sun-kissed beaches, taking water taxis to watersport thrills, cool shops and hot nightlife, but appreciate coming back to Tranquilo - where our outstanding hospitality adds up to an affordable and memorable getaway!Tranquilo's 64-rooms are "modern with a sleek décor," stylishly refurbished with flat screens, refrigerators, microwaves. Wi-Fi and smiles are complimentary. Resort fees are forbidden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tranquilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Gate Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Sea Gate Beach Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing