We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Zionsville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
368 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent place to relax”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I started with a King suite with a partial view but after a day was able to upgrade to a oceanfront king studio. Both were excellently appointed, clean and comfortable. The oceanfront is worth the upgrade

Staff was super friendly throughout the hotel. The valet parking crew was service conscious. The front desk answered every request courteously and quickly.

Now the best was the pool deck. On the fifth floor, the views of the ocean were so great that you forgot the A1A Highway is between the hotel and the beach. And I want to second another reviewer that complimented Adam for his efforts. I have never seen someone in such industrious mode, keeping everything clean and pleasant. This guy is GREAT!

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank HoosierWisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi D, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Being a Hoosier myself it makes me very proud that you had such a great experience at our hotel. Adam is one of the many gems we have at our hotel and definitely one of the best. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,191
    445
    156
    90
    52
See reviews for
405
953
81
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I are just traveling home from our stay here. We spent 4 days celebrating our 20th Anniversary and we couldn't have asked for a better location, atmosphere, service, hospitality... Name it and they took care of it for us plus a few nice little extras that they threw in to make our celebration extra special.

We had a King Ocean Front room which was very large. Lots of space, kitchenette with refrigerator/coffee/utensils, great view from the balcony, large bathroom with jacuzzi tub, large standing shower, double sinks... you couldn't ask for more in a room.

The concierge service from Lisa was very friendly and knowledgeable as was everyone at the front desk, Vince at the pool bar, Victoria in the main bar and the bellhop . Dinner recommendations, reserving a car last minute for us, local sightseeing suggestions even suggestions for where to go in South Beach, they did it all. They even let you use the spa area to rinse off from the beach after you already checked out before you head out to the airport. The restaurant is also amazing but I will review that separately. We will definitely be returning someday.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlosInRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi D, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
A 20th anniversary is very special and we are all so happy to have been a part of yours. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you on your next anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Always been our go-to place in lauderdale, but the property is slipping. 6th floor room overlooking the pool and ocean has best view in the house, but the furnishings are shot and there's mold growing in between the marble tiles. Lamps dont work, outlets dont work. Housekeeping was AWOL--no wash clothes, no soap, no water or coffee after first night, no turndown after first night.

Probably will try somewhere else next time

Room Tip: Front of hotel above 5th floor--ask for a room with a new mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bizbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi D, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
We apologize for the experience you encountered at our hotel. Please contact me directly to discuss your stay. We pride ourselves on service and are known for having a team that truly cares.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I rented from an owner and not from the hotel> Great experience! Some people on this site think they can rent from an owner and get the same service from the hotel as hotel guests! Think again! PAY the hotel Price and you will get the hotel service!! All that said..the hotel staff from Vince at the pool along with Adam ,to Robbie at the front desk,and even Heidi..all I have to say is that they were amazing.Dont forget,the hotel did not make a cent on the rental.I would recommend this place any time! Someone mentioned the W or the Hilton.Stayed in both places.What a zoo! Run down to the pool and place a towel on a chair at 6am or no chair! Leave your chair for a 15 min visit to the toilet and your chair is gone!! Atlantic is the place!

Vince...Harveys is waiting for you!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jorgemontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi D, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Our team does try to give as much service to guests that rent directly from a unit owner and not our hotel however limits the services we can provide. All services that are normally provided through our hotel are not available to guests that rent directly through a unit owner unless they pay additional fees. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Booking directly through our website is definitely the best option.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

*Note – This lengthy review is for the hotel itself: the location, service, and staff.
Beware!!!! Do Not Book A Unit/Room At This Hotel Through An Individual Owner, unless you prefer to be treated like a second class citizen(s). This was our first and ultimately biggest mistake.

My friend’s fiancé stumbled upon this hotel when trying to find a place (preferably a suite) to accommodate six women to stay for 3 nights for her bachelorette party in Ft Lauderdale, FL. She sent me the listing they found via a VRBO link – the price seemed decent, the pictures looked great (2 queen beds, 1 king, a gorgeous ocean front view) and the listing said it slept up to six. As the Maid of Honor, I wanted to make sure the Bride To Be got what she wanted, so I booked this unit (or what I thought was the unit we saw online) through an individual owner(s) at this hotel. This would be Mistake #1.
Since most of the issues we encountered had to do with the owner(s) of the unit and their complete incompetence, I plan on writing a separate review just for that (it was a nightmare); aside from the owner(s), the hotel (staff) was not very understanding, despite our trials and tribulations – the most common response we received all weekend long was, “we really can’t help you/there is nothing we can do, the reservation was through the owner; you’ll have to contact him directly.” They really were not very helpful; how do they know we wouldn’t come back and book directly through the hotel next time? Needless to say, they won’t have to worry about that, as I will likely never return to stay at this hotel. I’d rather take my money to the W hotel down the street and be treated like a paying guest.

For now, I’ll try to keep this review limited to the pros/cons of the hotel itself (as difficult as this may be):
Pros:
- Location – location was great, and the hotel itself was nice enough. Our unit/suite had one large bathroom, and a kitchen with a fridge, microwave, and sink. Hotel is right across the street from the beach (hotel provides beach towels at the front desk; chairs and umbrellas are extra to rent for the day, ranging anywhere from $10 - $20), and about a 15-20 min cab ride from FLL airport. The hotel is also within walking distance (maybe half a mile – mile) to CVS, liquor stores, and some great restaurants and bars - Casablanca Café was delicious, Mexican Cantina was good, and the best meal by far was in the actual hotel restaurant, Beauty and the Feast. Food was amazing, more on that later.
- Amenities – even though we booked through an individual owner, we did still have access to the hotel amenities (shocker). The pool was very nice (on the 5th floor), with a great ocean view; like most places, you should get there early and secure a chair and an umbrella, as those tend to go fast. Adam was the lovely gentleman at the pool who helped find us chairs and bring over umbrellas for us when needed. He works incredibly hard and he was extremely helpful. Give that man a raise! All the pool staff we came in contact with were great actually – bar tenders, servers, Adam, etc. Gym was nice, as was the women’s spa area (we didn’t render spa services, but the bathroom area was very nice). The lobby also offers complimentary coffee up until 10 am or 11 am I think – this is always nice.
- Restaurant – We had 6:00 pm reservations on a Saturday for Beauty and the Feast, the restaurant in the hotel. This was definitely a highlight of staying at this place – the food was delicious, the red velvet cake was probably the single best dessert I’ve ever had (it was so good, we went back just for the cake the following day, but it was all gone), and our server (I think his name was Chris) was phenomenal. The bill came to $400 for six people; that included drinks, apps, food, desserts, tax, and 18% gratuity. Even if you don’t stay at this hotel, I would definitely recommend the restaurant.
- Late check-out – this was the only good thing about renting a unit through an owner; we were able to get a late check-out (4:00 pm), since our flights didn’t leave until 6:00 pm. I just hope there was no one else coming in after us waiting on that unit, or they would experience the same issue we had at check in.

Cons:
- After arriving around 11:00 ish am on a Friday, we ended up not being able to get into our unit/room until 6:15 pm, and no one would give us a straight answer as to why. They apparently guarantee check in at 4:00 pm, so 6:15 pm was even worse, and horribly inconvenient. They kept our luggage for us and we ended up hanging out by the pool to kill time, but 6:15?!?! It was a little ridiculous, and a good thing we didn’t have reservations or anywhere to be for that first night. At first the hotel said they would credit us with a $50 voucher for food, drinks, or something else at the hotel. Then they said, “we can’t give hotel credits if you booked through an owner” but they were able to offer us breakfast vouchers for the following morning in the hotel restaurant instead. This came out to be more than $50 worth, so I can’t complain about that. I didn’t actually eat the breakfast, but the other girls did and said it was good.
- Once we finally got up to our room, we realized it was not at all what we thought we booked, given the pictures and listing online (this is not necessarily the hotel’s fault, I recognize). Our suite had one 1 king bed, and 1 pull out sofa… that was it. How that adds up to sleeping 6 people, is beyond me. We ended up having to get 2 additional cots to accommodate everyone! The owner said he would take the $50 cot fees off our payment to him, but we still got charged by the hotel, and of course, “there was nothing they could do, since we booked through an owner” – noticing a trend here? The hotel should have billed the owner directly for these cots. It was infuriating, given the false advertisement online – had we known this suite comfortably slept 4 people (5 at the most), we would have likely stayed elsewhere or gotten 2 adjoining rooms. Additionally, some of the pictures listed online looked like the room had an ocean view – nope, not ours.
- There are no ice makers on the floors. If you want ice, you have to call down to the front desk and they have someone bring the ice to you. Why?!?! This is inconvenient and we ended up having ice brought to our room several times a day/night.

Overall, the hotel was ok, but the service (the way we were treated) and the owners of our unit left a horrible taste in my mouth. if you must stay here, I would recommend booking straight through the hotel itself; anything other than that, you run the risk of being (not pleasantly) surprised, not getting what you paid for and being treated like a huge inconvenience; also, be prepared to hear “sorry, nothing we can do, you booked through an owner” as an excuse for Everything. I understand it may be a hotel policy, but maybe the hotel policy should also include some kind of mediator or third party to assist in contacting the unit owners and resolving any guest issues. At the end of the day, we were still paying guests, staying at the same hotel as those that booked directly through the hotel.

Bottom line – the hotel itself was nice enough I guess, but given our overall weekend experience, I would not choose to stay there again.

Room Tip: - Do not book a room through an individual owner!!! It was an utter disaster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi D, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
When renting a unit through a private owner and not through our hotel it limits our team as to the services they can provide. The unit owners that are not in our hotel program do not pay for regular hotel services so we are unable to provide those guests with the service standards that we provide to our hotel guests. We strongly recommend that guests book directly through the Atlantic Hotel website to ensure they are booking with the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I got a great deal on the room price through online booking. It's a pricey hotel, so I may not have otherwise been able to afford these plush accommodations. However, I'm glad we got to stay there, it was gorgeous and right on the beach! Stay there if you get the chance!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSFlowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi D, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and we hope we have the opportunity to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

A well appointed and decorated hotel. Room was quite spacious and very well furnished, clean and tidy. Wifi was quite scratchy, so we had to resort to the free cable connect service. Not much good if you are trying to use a tablet or cell phone.
Right across the road from the beach, which is a good thing, as the hotel pool is very small.
Well located to walk to beach, restaurants and other local attractions.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi D, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We are working on our WiFi to improve the service. We are hoping to have this corrected in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,615 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,707 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel & Spa

Property: The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
Address: 601 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Atlantic Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for the discerning traveler, the resort is devoted to the pursuit of service and elegance, affording the perfect balance for business and pleasure. Recreationally speaking: The hotel is situated across from Fort Lauderdale's Blue Wave Beach, our full-service Spa,lap pool and fifth floor sun deck overlooking the ocean are indeed relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atlantic Resort And Spa
The Atlantic Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing