We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Thirsk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing holiday.”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Atlantic, and I can honestly say that we will not be returning!
We had booked an ocean front studio for my son and his friend, and an ocean view suite for my wife and me. The view from the suite was part ocean, and full on construction site, with all the associated noise starting at 6am. After complaining, we were moved the next day to an ocean front studio, so no suite for us The room was very large and comfortable, but we continually had to ask for coffee and tea to be replenished. Also, the standard of cleaning left much to be desired, considering this is a 4 1/2 star hotel.
Next to the pool area.. For the 2 weeks that we were there, never once was the pool deck area washed down. We saw stains from spilt drinks and food from day one until we left. The cushions were collected in each night, and put back out in the morning, but really were quite disgusting, with probably months of sweaty bodies being on them. The pool bar, which was usually manned by only one person, usually didn't open until well after 10am, and shut before 5pm. The only thing that was done each night was the sun beds being re-aligned, which didn't take too long, as there wasn't that many to move. The pool, which is really quite small for a hotel of this size, deepest point in the middle being 4 ft, was definitely not cleaned out every night, perhaps every 3rd night.
The front desk staff were always very polite and helpful. Robby is a hoot! We were disappointed that the concierge kept all the pamphlets etc. on things to do and places to go locked away. It is nice to browse through those things in your own time.
As to the location, it is a very hot 15 to 20 minutes walk to the nearest tourist type restaurants and tacky beach shops, unless you want to dine in the very expensive hotels nearby. We needed to talk to a pharmacist one day, and had to get a cab there and back, which cost $25. You really need to rent a car, which then costs $30 dollars a night to park!
For the last 3 years, we have stayed at the Hyatt in Clearwater while on holiday, and I'm sorry to say that there is no comparison.

Room Tip: High floor, with ocean front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobbieThirsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi D, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
We are truly sorry that your stay with us was disappointing. We take all comments seriously and will act on all of your mentioned concerns to have them corrected immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,190
    444
    156
    90
    52
See reviews for
405
951
81
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, wish we could have stayed longer! Absolutely loved this hotel, check in was easy, the two ladies we came across at the information desk were so lovely and helpful! The room was huge and was more than enough for 3 adults, the balcony overlooking the beach was spectacular. The kitchen area came in handy because we got sick of eating out all the time, went down to the local Publix and made dinner one night it was great. The only peeve we had was it took two calls to get ice to the room. Went down and had a drink at the bar, it was nice, next time I come back I plan on having dinner at their restaurant! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyzza01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi D, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Great location, wonderful friendly staff, and exceptional service. Lisa Kennedy, the concierge, went above and beyond for us. My wife and I felt like celebrities there. They accommodated us for early check in and a late check out. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KNaj728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi D, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments and I will be sure to pass along to Lisa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zionsville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
368 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I started with a King suite with a partial view but after a day was able to upgrade to a oceanfront king studio. Both were excellently appointed, clean and comfortable. The oceanfront is worth the upgrade

Staff was super friendly throughout the hotel. The valet parking crew was service conscious. The front desk answered every request courteously and quickly.

Now the best was the pool deck. On the fifth floor, the views of the ocean were so great that you forgot the A1A Highway is between the hotel and the beach. And I want to second another reviewer that complimented Adam for his efforts. I have never seen someone in such industrious mode, keeping everything clean and pleasant. This guy is GREAT!

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank HoosierWisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi D, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Being a Hoosier myself it makes me very proud that you had such a great experience at our hotel. Adam is one of the many gems we have at our hotel and definitely one of the best. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I are just traveling home from our stay here. We spent 4 days celebrating our 20th Anniversary and we couldn't have asked for a better location, atmosphere, service, hospitality... Name it and they took care of it for us plus a few nice little extras that they threw in to make our celebration extra special.

We had a King Ocean Front room which was very large. Lots of space, kitchenette with refrigerator/coffee/utensils, great view from the balcony, large bathroom with jacuzzi tub, large standing shower, double sinks... you couldn't ask for more in a room.

The concierge service from Lisa was very friendly and knowledgeable as was everyone at the front desk, Vince at the pool bar, Victoria in the main bar and the bellhop . Dinner recommendations, reserving a car last minute for us, local sightseeing suggestions even suggestions for where to go in South Beach, they did it all. They even let you use the spa area to rinse off from the beach after you already checked out before you head out to the airport. The restaurant is also amazing but I will review that separately. We will definitely be returning someday.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlosInRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi D, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
A 20th anniversary is very special and we are all so happy to have been a part of yours. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you on your next anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Always been our go-to place in lauderdale, but the property is slipping. 6th floor room overlooking the pool and ocean has best view in the house, but the furnishings are shot and there's mold growing in between the marble tiles. Lamps dont work, outlets dont work. Housekeeping was AWOL--no wash clothes, no soap, no water or coffee after first night, no turndown after first night.

Probably will try somewhere else next time

Room Tip: Front of hotel above 5th floor--ask for a room with a new mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bizbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi D, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
We apologize for the experience you encountered at our hotel. Please contact me directly to discuss your stay. We pride ourselves on service and are known for having a team that truly cares.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I rented from an owner and not from the hotel> Great experience! Some people on this site think they can rent from an owner and get the same service from the hotel as hotel guests! Think again! PAY the hotel Price and you will get the hotel service!! All that said..the hotel staff from Vince at the pool along with Adam ,to Robbie at the front desk,and even Heidi..all I have to say is that they were amazing.Dont forget,the hotel did not make a cent on the rental.I would recommend this place any time! Someone mentioned the W or the Hilton.Stayed in both places.What a zoo! Run down to the pool and place a towel on a chair at 6am or no chair! Leave your chair for a 15 min visit to the toilet and your chair is gone!! Atlantic is the place!

Vince...Harveys is waiting for you!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jorgemontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi D, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Our team does try to give as much service to guests that rent directly from a unit owner and not our hotel however limits the services we can provide. All services that are normally provided through our hotel are not available to guests that rent directly through a unit owner unless they pay additional fees. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Booking directly through our website is definitely the best option.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,613 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,705 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel & Spa

Property: The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
Address: 601 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Atlantic Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for the discerning traveler, the resort is devoted to the pursuit of service and elegance, affording the perfect balance for business and pleasure. Recreationally speaking: The hotel is situated across from Fort Lauderdale's Blue Wave Beach, our full-service Spa,lap pool and fifth floor sun deck overlooking the ocean are indeed relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atlantic Resort And Spa
The Atlantic Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing