We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Considered giving four stars, but took one off for daunted expectations. This is a nice and well-located hotel, with mostly comfortable facilities and a very attentive staff. Yet there were many small problems over the course of a four-night stay, including with room cleanliness, fixtures and failed engineering work, and messages promised to be conveyed but never received. About time for an upscale hotel to replace the old CRT TVs, as well as borderline grungy carpets as others have noted. Significant noise from neighboring rooms and hallway at times. Also, pool is quite small and was often crowded. At $28/day valet and $14/day in-room wifi, along with pricey food and drink, costs can skyrocket. They offered upgrade to a suite upon check-in, but we took a look and did not find it superior, esp as it faced down rather than toward the beach, and the balcony was no larger than the king oceanview in which we stayed. It's difficult to give thumbs down at a place where the friendly staff clearly try hard, but in the end their efforts came up short. I'll be looking elsewhere next time in FLL.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,761 - 1,767 of 2,055 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2009

My most recent stay was my second stay at the Atlantic. I liked it so much , when I was there in June, as soon as I came home I planned a return. Overall, the hotel is wondeful. 24 hour room service, fruit and coffee in the lobby, Everything is presented very beautifully. Nice stay, great amenities. I stayed in a King Oceanfront Suite (basically a one bedroom apartment with two bathrooms - it was huge and had two bathrooms (1200sq ft). The regular King Rooms are very large as well. 600sq. ft) at regular rate plus free breakfast (what a steal!!!)
My only cons are, Parking is $28 per day which is a little pricey but it comes with the territory and the pool ONLY goes up to 4 feet. Good thing I love the beach. I would totally stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnGee1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

A friend and I stayed at the Atlantic for a girls getaway. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. I arrived at 1 pm (check-in is 4) and was given a room right away. The room was large, comfortable. The only negative I would say is the carpet needed to be replaced. The hotel does not offer beach chairs/umbrellas, however, you can get towels and water to take to the beach. We ate breakfast every morning at Trina. Terrific food and service (thanks, Jared!). Hotel staff - extremely nice and helpful. Sonny recommended an amazing restaurant and nightlife on Las Olas. He got us dinner reservations last minute and had a cab waiting for us when we were ready to go. The hotel was extremely quiet (and we were even located directly above the pool). We were given a late check-out with no questions or hassle and we continued to enjoy the pool and spa until our departure to the airport. Thank you to everyone at the Atlantic for an amazing weekend getaway!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmonte96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

We stayed at the Atlantic in March and the staff was very friendly and accomodating.
Right on the main strip across from the beach . The beds are the most comfortable. Fresh juice in the lobby all day long.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mainella_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

The hotel's service was incredible....the hotel lobby was quite dark, which I didn't care for....I didn't eat at Trina, but the restaurant looked great!! The hotel room was extremely nice and the housekeeping was excellent!! The view from the room was very nice as well....and the room was ultra comfortable...I was more comfortable in the hotel room than in my own home, while watching TV.....very pleasant experience overall, I would recommend this hotel to travelers going to Fort Lauderdale....the pool was small, but with the ocean right there, the pool is almost not needed. We never used it....we were in the ocean everyday.....the ocean is super clean and clear and the beach is absolutely gorgeous!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lockin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

This hotel is one of the best I've stayed in while vacationing in Ft. Lauderdale. When we arrived they upgraded us to a suite. The hotel lobby is beautiful and the rooms were very spacious and clean. The rooms have kitchens with stove tops, microwave, sink and dishes and utensils. We saved a lot of money by going to the grocery store and cooking our breakfast and lunch instead of paying to eat out which can get pricey. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The valet staff was very fast and always asked if we needed directions getting to our destination. We ran out of coffee one morning and called for some....they were at our door within 5 minutes and then they called the room to make sure we were satisfied with the coffee and asked if we needed anything else. They also provide free wi-fi service. The location is great....right across the street from the beach and the pool area is beautiful as well. It's on the 5th floor roof top overlooking the ocean. I would definitely recommend stayiing at this hotel on your visit to Fort Lauderdale.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JLCMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

I'd highly recommend this place if you have the money to spend. Valet parking is mandatory and cost about $30/day + tips whenever you come & go. Upon arrival we were given bottled water, the lobby smelt great, and was dark and romantic, very clean! Everyone was friendly, we were treated great! There's a nice bar on-site - we never ate or drank there so I can't give my take on that. The gym is pretty nice actually, I was suprised because hotels usually have crappy gyms. The roof top pool & area is gorgeous and we didn't have to play the chair game at all! There was free lemon water by the pool, however I couldn't get a coffee for free in the morning, I don't believe internet is free either. Our room had a fridge & microwave that we used a lot - they put out a tray of candies & fill your fridge, but obviously that's never free. The location was great, we walked to Beach Place a couple of times.

I guess over-all I expected that for the price we paid to stay there, there would be the odd thing "included" but nothing was included. What's funny about this trip was our flight ended up getting cancelled until the next day, and we had to sleep at the Holiday Inn Express for the night for cheap....and guess what!! Parking - Free, Internet - Free, Coffee/Tea in the lobby - Free, Fridge in the room full of water - FREE!!! Who ever said you get more when you pay more....you get much less actually. :) Although we did get a great location, and great roof top pool. It was a great experience....

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank princesscheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#77 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
11 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,857 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#5 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,045 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,441 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#28 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel & Spa

Address: 601 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £196 - £441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Atlantic Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique property located on Fort Lauderdale Beach with panoramic ocean views and a focus on personalized service. Spacious rooms and luxury amenities make this property the perfect retreat for business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Atlantic Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atlantic Resort And Spa
The Atlantic Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing