We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pre-/Post-Cruise Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2010

The Atlantic Hotel in Ft. Lauderdale is located right on the Ft. Lauderdale Beach between Sunrise and Las Olas Boulevards. Its proximity to Port Everglades (4 mi.) and Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International airport (5 mi) makes it an excellent pre-/post-cruise choice.

We were fortunate enough to enjoy a stay in one of The Atlantic’s Deluxe Suites prior to a Windstar cruise. The rooms at The Atlantic have recently undergone renovation, and it was certainly obvious. Everything in our suite looked brand new. The two-room suite included a small kitchen with mini-fridge, stovetop, microwave, coffeemaker and complete set of dishes and flatware. This makes The Atlantic Hotel an excellent choice for an extended stay.

The living room was large with a sliding door to a balcony overlooking Ft. Lauderdale Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. A full-sized sofa and large chair offered comfortable seating to enjoy the huge new flat screen television and BOSE sound system. The entire suite had marble floors.

The bedroom was equally large with a king-sized bed, a chair with ottoman and a large desk with desk chair. The only thing they overlooked was putting electrical outlets where they can be easily accessed from the desk. Someone shelling out for a luxury suite should not have to crawl on the floor to plug in a computer. A pleasant surprise was the complimentary wireless Internet access. Internet speed was decent and reliable.

The bathroom was very large and luxurious with a full-sized bathtub and large, separate shower. The toilet is located in a separate water closet. The entire bathroom is enveloped in rich marble with satin nickel fixtures. Of special note are the excellent Tarocco amenities. The orange-scented shampoo, soaps and lotions are some of the best we have experienced in any hotel.

Read the rest of this review on CruiseReport.com

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CruiseReport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fllconcierge, Guest Service Manager at Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2010

Dear TXGoldwing,

Thank you very much for the elaborate and complimentary review of your recent stay with us! Your comments and feedback are definitely appreciated. Our Deluxe Suites are wonderful rooms, and our Tarocco Amenity line was recently introduced to compliment our Citrus-inspired theme evident throughout our hotel. We hope to welcome you back as our guest the next time you are heading in or out on a Cruise or enjoying some R&R in beautiful Fort Lauderdale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,682 - 1,688 of 2,015 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2010

Went to the atlantic for a long weekend, thursday thru sunday, thursday night was spectacular, in all areas. Come saturday when the hotel was full, it fell apart. The maids never came and when i called at 430pm they said they were "closed" but we could get turndown service. The did end up cleaning the room after i stomped my feet a bit. However late that evening i came into the room to find all the dirty linens on the floor. I called the manager up and they took 200 off of the bill. This was, by the way, on the heels of awful sevice at the resteraunt. Waited 45min for chicken wings. The couple next to us never got waited and left as well.
With all that said, the room was huge and the location and view were unmatched. So overall it was a good trip and a nice hotel. Seems they need to tighten up in the serv ice department.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmarram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fllconcierge, Guest Service Manager at Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2010

Dear Mmarram,
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay at The Atlantic. It is wonderful to see you enjoyed our beautiful hotel's facilities. We are disappointed to see that you encountered inconsistent service during your stay. We do provide twice daily housekeeping service (a full service + evening turndown), we are sorry to see that you were inconvenienced or given any incorrect information. We take pride in providing exceptional service to all of our guests, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Stayed at the Atlantic Hotel for a girls' weekend. The room had two queen beds (vs doubles), two closets, a mini refrig, double sinks, a separate toilet area and great views. It was perfect for our weekend. The location on Ft. Lauderdale strip can't be beat. The pool area is a little crowded, but we weren't there for that.

Everyone was very friendly and helpful with the exception of the staff and one manager at the pool restaurant one day for lunch. They lost our order and after 1 hour and 20 minutes and lots of complaints, our salads finally came! The first manager didn't handle it well, but the second one did.

The concierge was wonderful and recommended two restaurants that were great - Catalina and YOLO. We had spa services and loved the jacuzzi, steam room and sauna.

I would definitely recommend the hotel and would stay again when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fllconcierge, Guest Service Manager at Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2010

Dear FloridaMember,
Thank you for the great comments about your recent stay with us, they are certainly appreciated! We are glad to see that you took advantage of our Concierge Service, and even happier to see that you thoroughly enjoyed our recommendations, Yolo and Catalina are great choices. It is also wonderful to see that you enjoyed our amenities at Spa Atlantic during your girls weekend. We regret that you experienced any inconvenience at our restaurant, and hope everything was resolved to your satisfaction. We certainly aim to provide exceptional service, and thank you for your honest feedback. We hope to have you back at The Atlantic very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

I stayed at the Atlantic Hotel for my 29th B-day and it was just wonderful!! From the moment you stepped into the hotel you could smell this incredible sent of oranges. The room was beautiful, the pool was great, food was good and even the spa was wonderful. I stayed in the King Suite, which was gorgeous!! The hotel sent up a tray of snacks for my room since it was my birthday and truly treated me like royalty. I've decided to make the Atlantic Hotel a birthday tradition and will be staying there around this year for my 30th. I know the "W" hotel has opened up near the Atlantic and has become a very trendy place to stay at, but my heat still belongs to the Atlantic!! Although, I might consider partying at the "W". The Atlantic does not have a night club, but you have plenty to choose from in the area. Other then that, the only other problem and this goes with most hotels located in this area is the expensive parking.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgirl311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fllconcierge, Guest Service Manager at Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2010

Dear Travelgirl 311,
Thank you for making The Atlantic Hotel your preferred accommodation in South Florida. We look forward to welcoming you for many birthdays to come! Thank you for the kind comments regarding your stay with us. Our Signature Grapefruit Scent has proven to be very popular, it was developed exclusively for The Atlantic Hotel and is available (candles, soap, room spray) at our Spa Boutique. Please let us know how we can help in planning your 30th birthday celebration, contact concierge@atlantichotelfl.com. We look forward to seeing you again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

I am fortunate enough to stay only in the best hotels in this world and I thought I would take a big chance when I booked the Atlantic Hotel. However, the Atlantic exceeded my expectations by far. The valet and reception staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The restaurant had a good menu and wine list and was managed to a very high standard. The room was clean and spacious. The views and location of the Atlantic is fantastic. To summarize, I can highly recommend this hotel and I booked another stay in March!

Michael Schumacher (England)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Decopan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fllconcierge, Guest Service Manager at Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2010

Dear Mr. Schumacher,
It is a pleasure to see that you were throroughly satisfied with your stay at The Atlantic Hotel! It is an honor to see that given your experience with fine hotels worldwide, that you have given us such high accolades. Your kind comments and feedback have been shared with our ambassadors and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in March, please send me a message if you would like assistance in planning the details of your next stay.
Warmest regards,
Paul McGannon
Chef Concierge and Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

very nice clean modern hotel with big rooms...front desk staff was very nice and accomodating and upgraded me for free to a large suite..very pro...

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

I have stayed at The Atlantic many times - for work and play - and will always come back for more when in the Fort Lauderdale area. The rooms are all excellent and the views can't be beat. I love sitting on the balcony to have breakfast or just watch the ocean. It is also further north on the Fort Lauderdale strip away from a lot of the noise. They have a lovely pool area, which overlooks the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. The on-site restaurant, Trina, also has very good food and drinks.

The one knock on The Altantic is that there is not good cell or blackberry reception there compared to some of the other beachfront properties. I also wish they were still in the Starwood family so that I could get points for staying.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveToTravel621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#27 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,142 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,791 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#5 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,988 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
5,339 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor ...
#15 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel & Spa

Address: 601 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £172 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Atlantic Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique property located on Fort Lauderdale Beach with panoramic ocean views and a focus on personalized service. Spacious rooms and luxury amenities make this property the perfect retreat for business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Atlantic Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atlantic Resort And Spa
The Atlantic Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing