We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Naval Air Station FLL/ visit prior to rental car return.”

Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: National Register of Historic Places. Mission Statement: Educating. Preserving. Honoring the Heroes BACKGROUND HISTORY: Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale (NASFL) was built on the site of Merle Fogg Field in 1942 as part of the national defense program; serving as one among 257 air stations during World War II, and as one of a few specialty schools for training on the TBM/TBF Avenger aircraft. NAS Fort Lauderdale made a big impact in the growth and economy of the South Florida region and the United States as a whole. Building # 8, The Link Trainer Building housed 6-8 Link Trainer flight simulators. It is the only remaining structure left on the naval base property—sole reminder of a naval complex of more than 200 buildings. This building is now the Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum. The Museum has been instrumental in preserving the memory of Flight 19, one of the great aviation mysteries. Flight 19 flew out of NAS Fort Lauderdale on 5 December 1945, to vanish into the Bermuda Triangle. In addition, 19 year old future US President George H. W. Bush lived at this base as an Ensign, to train as a torpedo/bomber pilot. From October 1942 to October 1946 the base would train American and British pilots and thousands of aircrewmen from the U.S and other countries.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Gilroy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Naval Air Station FLL/ visit prior to rental car return.”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We called and made an appointment to visit the air museum Sunday 2/23/14. We were able to talk to one of the volunteers who told us to come by, she was doing a tour. (call to see if open prior to visit). We arrived and spent about 45 min looking at the displays inside of the building. A lot of books, and models on air and sea. This is for people interested in the history of the Navy and its impact on Ft. Lauderdale. When we arrived, we were lucky to be joined by a vet who had been stationed at the air station. This was a huge bonus as he brought his own book on his time in the Navy and being stationed at the air station. A lot of good work has been done in keeping our history for all to see. Thanks to the many volunteers. The site can been seen from I-95 and is a easy 5 min. drive from the airport.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    19
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hard to see this place now”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I grew up in Fort Lauderdale.I went to middle school back in the 60s there.I never knew the history about it untill i was older.Now that i realize i walked in the same rooms and barracks that were turned in to class rooms that the pilots and crew were in. I will never forget it.May god bless the men and women that gave there life for are life as we see it now.This place will always be in my heart

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank bob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

It was nice to take the tour and learn new things very interactive great for a family trip wonderful air planes and restorations done

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank babyemmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
133 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Hidden history”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

If you have any historical interest of Ft Lauderdale's role in WWII then you MUST visit this site. Unknown to the public, this Museum is a labor of love by a dedicated MM22 and his cadre of volunteers. Packed with history and pictures and personal artifacts you could spend the entire day exploring and reading. Signatures fro Medal of Honor recipients, past Presidents and elite military are on the wall mural. Donations only, some items in small gift shop for sale, library being developed. Don't miss this rare piece of history!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank cleichhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Great to add to your family day trips"”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This museum is a hidden gem. Full of WWII items and historical information. Flight 19, which disappeared in the Burmuda Triangle, started here. There are hundreds of airplane models and the volunteer staff is wonderful.Great resource for High school or College students doing history projects. They run on donations and volunteer help. Right next door to the animal shelter.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing