We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Gem”
Review of DBA Cafe - CLOSED

DBA Cafe
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Hallandale Beach
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small Gem”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

After dining at related restaurant Il Mercato in Hallandale Beach we tried DBA café in Ft. Lauderdale. Great selection, good portion size although pricey. Wine and beer only also. We had a Bloody Mary with sake, wasabi an clamato juice. Tasted like the real thing. The duck confit was outstanding, ended up taking half the portion home to enjoy the next day. Very informal service, décor and some outdoor seating where families with noisy children were running around.
Saw bread delivered to other tables but we never were served bread. Had to ask for water several times.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool neighborhood hangout..great food!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Love our little neighborhood hangout...great food and wine....a local favorite! Menu is creative and delicious. A must stop in Ft Lauderdale.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mtuleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Mixed plate”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We had dinner here and really enjoyed the scallop and calamari appetizers but one of our orders was a pasta that was overflavored and quite spicy (we like spicy foods but this was a bad mix). The other dish was a pasta with the sausage and it was great. We all had desserts and they were fabulous. If we go back we will try other items for our main course.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Gourmet Cafe that makes you feel at Home”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This cafe is Fabulous. The owner is friendly and very attentive to his guests. The food is great. Wonderful wine choices and desserts are to die for... I would not miss this Cafe it is a Hidden Treasure.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Betsy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Don't pass up this place!”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We went to this restaurant to have dinner with a couple of friends who recommended it to us. Long story made short, we have never been more impressed with a restaurant than this one! Absolutely amazing! The service was spot on perfect, the appetizer (cheese plate) was outstanding. Try the short ribs...unbelievable! I had the scallops....wow! There is so much more I can say about this place....but, you should check it out for yourself! This is one of the very BEST restaurants in the Fort Lauderdale area, and we have tried many. It is our new favorite! Go, Go, Go!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DBA Cafe also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing