We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go For The Beer!”
Review of A1A Dive Bar

A1A Dive Bar
Ranked #412 of 1,329 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Restaurant details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Go For The Beer!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I didn't eat here, didn't even realise they did food.

For me, this is a drinking den, nothing else.

Kelly (Kellie?) who works behind the bar is lovely and will look after you with prompt service and a friendly smile. There was a guy on for my 2nd visit but I don't recall his name, he was also very efficient.

The entertainment one night was excellent, without being deafeningly loud. A female singer from Boca Eaton, can't remember her name.

Pool table was the main attraction for me. Good way to keep occupied and get talking to the locals.

This place isn't stylish or sophisticated, but it doesn't pretend to be. If you want beer and pool, go here.

I'll be visiting next time I'm in the area

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxPower999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    9
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We call in here for a beer....we loved the name....I went to take a picture of my husband on stage and the owner ( I think) pulled down a background drop for the stage....totally amazing people....local man Terry was funny my husband enjoyed a game of pool with him........very welcoming place

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz6s9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a nightmare! Horrible service and fries were greasy.”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

It's called a dive bar for a reason. If you like garbage food, extremely poor service and a nasty obnoxious atmosphere then this place offers such. I would never ever recommend this disgusting dump to anyone. What a horrifying experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 10sushilover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's a hole in the wall and overpriced....”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I will never go to another place that has the word "dive" as a name. It was a DUMP and the entertainment was pathetic. We were overcharged for our drinks and our order of fries was burned, greasy and plain nasty. I'd never feed my pets garbage so why should any human have to be so insulted. Read the [--] about their so called drink special. This dump is a real pathetic dump.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wildcat100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant, mi
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Been here before”
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

We've been here before. Love the happy hour. Two for one drinks. Help has always been great. Last time we talked to the owner. He was super nice

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindykeys08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A1A Dive Bar also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to A1A Dive Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing