We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine fare friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hot & Soul

Hot & Soul
Ranked #177 of 1,322 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: International Food With Soul - specializing in cajun/creole, spanish, filipino, and other ethnic cuisines. We serve craft beer and small batch wines as well. We have the bar area for a more casual experience, and we have the dining area with small tables or the communal table.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fine fare friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

The eclectic menu is a series of delights. We had a venison ragout with parparelli that was scrumptious. The desserts were home made and interesting. The staff are accommodating and they feature a fine selection of artesian beers and small vineyard wines.

Helpful?
1 Thank GL1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    22
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oakland Park, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food Amazing! Staff Fabulous! Menu Descriptions...could use flair!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

YUM!!! Everything we've had at Hot & Soul is an amazing delicious adventure in food exploration. Fortunately the staff is super excited about what they do, and intimately familiar with the menu items. The Menu tends to emphasize the ingredients rather than the poetry of the dish. Food creativity doesn't always fare well when reduced to ingredients. Take for example "cat head biscuits". Not being a cat lover, my imagination went down decidedly unappeling paths. I don't particularly care to eat anything related to a cat head. I ordered them though because of the servers tempting description. One day someone will realize that the other senses must all be tempted when selecting from a menu.
That said, everything we ordered was fabulous!!! I can't wait to go back - I promise to speak with the server before I make any decisions!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best Untraditional Brunch in South Florida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Let's just say that I love this place and so does my belly.

From the table visits of the chef, Mike, to the play with words menu, Hot and Soul is sassy and tasty. I would highly recommend the beignets. Yes, they are better than Cafe du Monde in NOLA. The dipping sauce was egg nog flavored goodness. I think it was perhaps seasonal as my visit was on Dec 1st, but it was outstanding. I had the Soul and Egg plate for brunch, which is gnocchi instead of home fries with sauteed onions and a fried egg on top. It was delish!

For drinks, I would recommend a nice strong French Press coffee and a sangria, either red or white. They do have beer, wine, and unique sodas.

Hint: this place in hidden in the corner of the Oakland and Fed Hwy strip mall on the Southwest side of the intersection. There was plenty of parking on Sunday. I'm not sure during the week if it would be this way when the other offices and businesses are open.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HeidiNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food with lots of flavor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

This restaurant was a hidden gem. Located on the back corner of the plaza on the corner of Oakland Park Blvd and A1A. The food is multicultural of flavors - Indian, Philippine, Cajun, Asian, etc. Everything we tried was delicious, including, Shrimp Tikki Masala, Crawfish Etoufee was quite authentic.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheers526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“YES!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

More places like this keep poping up in Fort Lauderdale and us locals are so exited! It's so fantastic to have amazing talented people cook such amazing food! Yummy!!! Please do not forget to have any of the deserts! Specially the custard!! Win!

Helpful?
1 Thank Nataloaflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hot & Soul also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Hot & Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing