We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“International Soul Food”
Review of Hot & Soul

Hot & Soul
Ranked #149 of 1,335 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: International Food With Soul - specializing in cajun/creole, spanish, filipino, and other ethnic cuisines. We serve craft beer and small batch wines as well. We have the bar area for a more casual experience, and we have the dining area with small tables or the communal table.
Dania Beach, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“International Soul Food”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This place is fantastic, its intimate, the staff is super friendly, and the owners, Mike and Christy are genuinely interested in in if you enjoyed your meal. The food they put out is incredible and constantly changing and they also have a great craft beer selection. If you are not sure what you want to eat, try a 6 or 8 course tasting menu and put yourself in their hands, you will be glad you did.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 789jeffreyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    23
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must for foodies in Fort Lauderdale!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Found H&S on tripadvisor and trusted the comments. They were 100% bang on! Fresh and delicious food, eclectic beer menu. Soba noodle salad (would love the recipe!), pasta with octopus, oxtail gnocchi, bread pudding w chocolate ganache. Am considering going back tonight to eat what I missed last night! Great service, staff made thoughtful recommendations. Well priced for the quality. Thanks!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BradForty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible Experience”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We just had a horrible experience. It took them an hour to serve our food because the waiter forgot to put our order in and then the food was undercooked when they brought it out and watery. We were so very dissappointed and still hungry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheilathecritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Small, hip, friendly and delicious”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We read other reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. Food is a fusion of different flavors from a variety of cuisines. I am from Boston and love New Orleans so wanted to try this place. We tried three appetizers and split 3 half entree portions between the two of us. Our waiter made recommendations as there were a lot of interesting regular menu and daily special items we wanted to try. Everything including our bottle of wine was well priced and we would order again: beet salad, hot mushroom and manchego app, chickpea curry app, gnocchi, holy molay pork, and the duck gumbo. Looking forward to returning to try something else. Great place for couples and groups. Although a family had a young child and there was no issue, it is a small restaurant (maybe 45-55 seats) and there is not a lot of space for a child to run around if that is important. There is bar seating (beer/wine) and a few outdoor tables.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanFt_Lauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“New Orleans Style Cuisine Better Than New Orleans”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Hot and Soul just recently celebrated their first year in business. It's good to see it has lost none of its edge and looks to continue turning out quality food and reasonable prices. I just returned from New Orleans, eating at some of their better restaurants, and trust me, Hot and Soul does it better. Chef/co-owner/husband, Mike Hampton, once worked at Emeril's Delmonico and it shows. Chef/co-owner/wife Christy Samoy is also great and they make a great team. What ever you do, try the Mushroom Manchego Toast appetizer. It's to die for. The last meal there, they had a special of shrimp (heads on) in an unbelievable broth. It's fun to sit at the bar and talk with the chefs and the staff. A "newbie" joined me at the bar and it wasn't too long before we were sharing some of our dishes. This is a tremendous place and you will be glad you go.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank River55land
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hot & Soul also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Hot & Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing