We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Spanish Food”
Review of Cafe Seville

Cafe Seville
Ranked #40 of 1,331 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Spanish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
120 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very Good Spanish Food”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

They recommend the fish. My family liked the Paella. Food overall was good and so was the service. The prices were fair.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WilliamH2415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    69
    19
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
336 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Our favorite Spanish Restaurant in Florida”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This place is a gem for those that live close to Oakland Park Rd. We drive almost ½ hour each way and it is truly worth it each and every time. Joe does a fantastic job running this place and he and his team has been together for many years (and it shows). The service it top notch and they all seem to work very well together even when every table is taken. They also pay attention to the details.

Reservations are a must as the place is small but has lots of charm. There’s also a small bar area in the back. Café Seville is a place that you can go for a special occasion or just a night on the town. It could costly depending upon what you order but it is worth it as the quality is there. It’s in a small strip center on the south side of the road. No valet parking but there’s a lot right in front of the door.

The food is authentic and they specialize in seafood. We enjoy the Sangria, Gambas as Ajillo (and then dipping the bread in the sauce), Gazpacho and fresh fish. They bring out a white board with daily specials (however most are on the menu) and they typically feature Grouper, Snapper, Mahi and Corvina. They are prepared may ways but we like it with the Ole sauce (artichokes, mushrooms, white wine) or Santa Fe (tomato and basil). The Paellas are also terrific if you are in the mood for national dish of Spain. They also have steak, chops and chicken and do it all well. We typically don't do desserts but have heard that there's are homemade and also very good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic! A top restaurant in south florida”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Before even walking in we were welcomed by the owner's brother outside who escorted us in to meet the host and hostess. From there my party knew we were in for a memorable experience..

We arrived at 1030 (half hour late for our reservation due to an arrival delay at Fort Lauderdale International) on a weekend night and after being seated we were told we had 5 minutes to place our order! This was not a big deal because we understood we were late and frankly wanted to expedite the meal anyways as it was 1030 in the evening. Along with the menu came a large wipe off board of 20 specials, some exotic, with nice descriptions of the elements in each dish.

Our table ordered two items off the board, the merluza and corvina(2). Our fourth informed the waiter she was looking for shrimp and he suggested the 'gambas de ajillo' appetizer as a dinner size. Sold! In addition the four of us split one house salad and there was just enough to go around.

Sangria Sangria Sangria..the alcohol content and taste fit well, not too sweet.

The salad had a very good vinaigrette dressing and was exactly what we were looking for. Now on to the main entrees..

My merluza was topped with a butter wine sauce that resembled a rich francese. There was also crabmeat in the sauce which added to the entree. The corvina was awesome although I do not know the specifics of the flavors in the dish. And lastly was the gambas de ajillo. Shrimp was cooked perfectly and the sauce popped with garlic giving it an excellent flavor. It was probably one of the best shrimp dishes I've had and will be ordering it on the next visit even though I rarely choose that protein. The price of each entree was under $30 and well worth every penny, and portion sizes are medium. No you won't leave hungry but won't have a second meal in a doggy bag to go.

Despite fibbing to the waitress we had room for dessert, we were interested in trying some since it was our first time. After a recommendation, my family decided on the flourless chocolate cake with zabayon sauce and the house favorite Tres leche cake with maringue topping. Mmmm mmm is all you heard from our table, that was if you could hear over the rambunctious large party directly next to us which is the reason for my atmosphere rating. Tres leche is a great dessert and definitely a must try.

Now to the intangibles, which I hinted at earlier with the friendly greeting we received. The service was impeccable. There were 5-7 people taking care of us and every one did not hesitate to make us feel welcomed. They all offered us laughs throughout the meal which added to the enjoyable experience. One waiter in particular noticed we were tentative towards the Tres leche and out of nowhere he grabbed my fork and showed us how it was done. He took the side of the fork, scooped a healthy bit of cake and meringue and said eat it and close your eyes..wow, it was amazing.

Cafe Seville is absolutely worth the 40 minute drive from home and I strongly recommend to anyone who wants delicious food paired with an atentive, knowledgeable, and classy staff!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thelittlead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paella perfection.”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Decided upon dinner here after reading the great reviews on trip advisor. Don't be put off by the strip mall, as other reviewers stated as well. Service was warm & friendly, almost a family feel, upon entering the restaurant. We were seated immediately, given menus, & the board of specials brought over. Please know before you go that this is a pricier restaurant. Menu is on trip advisor, & website as well, but no prices listed. Entree items here are $25 - $30. We ordered a large Caesar salad ($10) & the paella($52). The paella is meant to serve 2, though we both felt it could totally serve 3. A 25 minute wait for the dish we were told up front, which was fine, we munched on salad. When the paella was ready, our wonderful server brought it over & "presented" it to us, before dividing it onto two plates. Worth every penny was this dish. So well done , & full of seafood, chicken, & Spanish chorizo. Would come back again & again for this. We could not finish. The reason I give this place a 4 instead of a 5 were our desserts. No dessert menu, our server told us what they offered, & we decided to take 2 to go. Didn't realize until we got the bill how pricey they were. Hubby got flan. $7, & really small. Good, but not that good. I ordered the tres leches cake, which the server said was fabulous. I love tres leches, as I appreciate just about anything made with evaporated & condensed milk. I was totally disappointed upon getting back to hotel to find that I had just paid $9 for a piece of cake soaked with what seemed to be heavy cream. Not well done at all. IMHO, skip the deserts here, but don't miss this place for a fabulous dinner with a wonderful feel.

Helpful?
Thank griffinyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We found this place because of reviews on trip advisor. It is very unpretentious looking in a small strip mall and quite small inside. They bring a board of the specials for the evening and stand it near your table for you to peruse. It was tough to make a decision because we set out to have paella, but decided on seafood specials. Our dinners were DELICIOUS!! Service was perfect. There appeared to be many diners who knew each other. Wish we lived near there and could go more often. We tried to go back the next day but could not get reservations. Next time in Ft. Lauderdale, we will head here first. Truly outstanding food and service!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moe in SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Seville also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Cafe Seville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing