We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for shell hunting”

Fort Lauderdale Beach Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for shell hunting”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Nice white sand filled with shells, fresh water showers right at the sidewalk to rinse off the sand before you walk away. Great beach.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    269
    37
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“$1.75 per hour to park & nice sand”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stopped here on a Monday evening around 5 p.m. and there were plenty of places to park. You pay in the machine and then put the stub on your dash. This is an activity beach with volleyball, basketball court, we saw people windsurfing, etc. The beach was fairly clean with only a few cigarette butts close to the entrance. Lifeguard was on duty when we were there. This is a nice spot to just sit and watch the ships go in and out of the harbor as well. Great place to just walk the beach as well.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sunshine_seeker12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great sand and swimming”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We took our two kids on a FL tour the week after Easter and visited several beaches, Clearwater, St. Pete's, Bahia (Pine Key), and Fort Lauderdale. Fort Lauderdale was the best swimming, beautiful water, great sand. It was busy but not crowded. I wouldn't take the kids on a crowded day because I hate crowds, but a late-April Wednesday visit was great.There were a lot of families and couples of all ages. The road/strip was loud, even on a not-so-busy day. It still managed to be relaxing, though I wouldn't want to spend a whole week here on a family vacation. I prefer the natural calm of some of the other beaches.

There are lifeguards on duty and facilities (not clean, but beach bathrooms aren't usually so). There are lots of restaurants within walking distance. Eat at Primanti Bros- awesome pizza.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KelliJ9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Love this beach”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great views, clean, great seashells, clear water at this time of year. The sand is typical east coast sand- rough but could walk without shoes. Waves were nice and big at times. water was pretty turquoise. There is a playground for the kids not far from many shops and restaurants. Love how this beach has adequate amounts of water showers to rinse off after the beach.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ram326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Soft Sand”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

It isn't Siesta Key Beach, but the sand comes darn near close to it. Beach concessions available. Parking is a bit pricey.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wit1nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Lauderdale Beach Park also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Fort Lauderdale Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing