We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“let down by the atmosphere”

Ruth’s Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth’s Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #245 of 1,335 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$60
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“let down by the atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I visited in april for my birthday meal and when we checked in the front desk were distance with us, but not everyone. I felt like we were just strangers so we didn't matter. We were shown to the table where it was freezing, the air con was so fierce everyone had jackets on - not what you want on holiday. The waiter did not appear interested and was quite surly. Two of my party ordered very rare steaks and when they came they were medium rare, we didn't want to make a fuss so didn't send them back. The Meat was tasty and came with really nice vegetables. The highlight ofthe evening was that they brought out a birthday dessert for me which was delicious and a pleasant surprise - however it certainly wasn't served with a smile! There was a strange atmosphere in the restaurant like someone had been told off or there had been a row with the staff. We had a nice night but that was the company I was with nothing to do with the food or restaurant.Doubt I will return in July when I next visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackieB229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    56
    44
    28
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ruth's Chris never disappoints!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We like to visit Ruth's Chris when we are on vacation - it's become a tradition of sorts when we are in a location that has a Ruth's Chris. I think the quality of the food and service in this restaurant is excellent and consistent across locations. We are a family of 4: two adults, two teenagers. We ate two appetizers (seared tuna and escargot) and shared two salads (Wedge and Caesar), four steaks, au gratin potatoes, and then shared two desserts. Everything was excellent . The escargot was a special appetizer and I wish it was always on the menu. With cocktails and wine for the adults, I think our total bill was in the $300-400 range. Definitely a splurge meal, but we really enjoyed ourselves and had no regrets. It was our most expensive meal of the entire vacation, but was also our best evening out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JakenSydsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“fabulous steak with great service”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Valet parking, warm welcome, fabulous steak with very generous portions. It is expensive US$350 for 4 people for 2 courses sharing one US$70 bottle of wine but it was really good. The blue cheese crust on the steaks particularly recommended. The french onion soup was also particularly good. Lots of people seemed to be celebrating (birthday cakes on both sides of our table) and they seemed to do that very well with candles and cakes etc. Highly recommended for a special dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mhbeowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great steak!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Visited Ruth's Chris Steakhouse last week for the very first time. The meat was outstanding and wonderfully prepared. Definitely very pricey but worth a visit now and then.

Helpful?
Thank LCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Warm and inviting”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My husband and I visited Ruth's Chris Steakhouse last Friday night for his and my son's birthdays. We had a marvelous time. The wait staff was extremely courteous and they went all out in celebrating the occasion (rose petals and confetti on the table; took pictures, developed and framed them; brought out very special desserts with candles on them; and had us leave with a fresh loaf of bread)!! We were so impressed with all the attention that we will surely return many times over.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 6flas6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruth’s Chris Steak House also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Ruth’s Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing