We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Basic Seafood”
Review of Southport Raw Bar

Southport Raw Bar
Ranked #36 of 1,329 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Takeout
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
610 reviews
389 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Great Basic Seafood”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We walked 1.5 blocks from our Embassy Suites hotel to this restaurant, which is off SE 17th Street. Arrived around 6pm Saturday and was immediately seated inside. Good mix of seafood, with some menu items ala carte. Surprised when waiter told us only TEXAS oysters available, so we knew they were going to be good! We order the fried seafood basket which was shrimp, clam strips and scallops ala carte ($10.25) which was lightly breaded that didn't mask the flavors.
Fast service...seafood baskets arrived before we finished oysters, but when it was time for the bill and payment, it was extremely slow.
Don't forget to check-out the interesting ceiling tiles in the bar/dining area!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Napunani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    353
    106
    38
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Connecticut
Level Contributor
276 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Traditional Lunch Stop”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We traditionally stop at Southport for lunch after leaving the airport and stopping at Publix. As usual we decided to sit out on their dock area which is much more appealing than indoors. The weather was great for sitting outside. We had one of the specials of the day a fried Grouper platter and some of their Crawfish Chowder which was great. A couple of beers and we were all set to go check-in at our hotel.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HarryRCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great local raw bar”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Saw the reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to give it a shot.
Nice outdoor seating on the intercostal waterway. The restaurant has been in business at this location for a great length of time and has a very diverse clientele--from locals living in the million dollar houses in the residential area around it, tourists, and workers from the marinas and boat shops. In spite of being a bar---they serve no mixed drinks...just beer, wine and soft drinks.

A fun vibe, good service, fresh oysters, and a great dolphin sandwich brought us back for a return visit during our recent stay.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brown11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh seafood right on the canal”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Enjoyed the seafood we ate, as well as the atmosphere. Tables and restrooms were clean, and the wait staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeyi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
118 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Loads of Fun”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We went there for dinner the night before we boarded a cruise ship with our family. We'd been there before just to go to the oyster bar years ago, also before a cruise and loved the very local ambiance of the place. Luckily, it hasn't changed a bit. Great fried oysters and raw oysters. We sat on the deck on the waterway and stuffed ourselves drinking white wine. Very casual and rustic. Loved every minute of our time there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southport Raw Bar also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Southport Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing