We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Started off poor - due to our seating - but ended up great!”
Review of Johnny V - CLOSED

Johnny V
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 8th street
Arlington, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Started off poor - due to our seating - but ended up great!”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

For some reason, even thought the main dining room was basically empty (maybe because we booked through open table?) they sat us in the bar area. After a large group stood over our table (it is a very narrow bar) and the third time a waiter knocked into my chair - I asked the manager to move us - which he did. Our waiter later said, he didn't blame us, he would never sit in there - so WHY did they sit us in there in the first place - Johnny - where are you??? Great wine list, lovely dinner, appetizers, salads, desserts and dessert wines were excellent. Main course was a little disappointing. If I was to return, I'd make my meal out of the appetizers and save room for dessert. One last thing, the wait staff had some sort of disagreement with someone in the kitchen - it is an open kitchen so we could hear the argument raging. I asked our waiter if it was ok, he said it was, and then the group arguing went in the back somewhere. I think Johnny needs to make a visit and help the place out out a bit. Seems like they have lost their customer focus.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billp25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    117
    41
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Eclectic and Excellent”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Our visit to Fort Lauderdale was complete after eating at Johnny V's. My kind of restaurant... exciting and delicious. After sampling their house coctails husband and I shared the Blue Corn Crusted Calamari with sherry aioli. So different.. so good. My dinner was the Jerk Seared Grouper with crab fritters. His was the Barbeque Spiked File Mignon. Both were perfectly prepared and delicious as well. Our waiter was very attentive. We had a great seat outdoors. The evening could not have been any better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anicka10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
2,125 reviews
1,368 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,236 helpful votes
“Food here is always great”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I had a business dinner here. The food here is always great. I have been to this restaurant many times.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great grouper from the menu”
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

The place is a bit pricy, and I am not sure the atmosphere is worth all that. Yet, the food is very good in taste and presentation.

I still suggest to stay away from the steak. It's not grilled but cooked on the fry top, not to mention it's tasteless US beef. It needs Montreal pepper or something to give it a meaning.

I ordered the grouper from the menu. It was a great combination of simple flavors.

The fried calamari was cooked to perfection and the dipping was perfect for it.

Service is at renting and patient to certain patrons around me. :-) thumbs up for that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gcatucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

We went for dinner and were very impressed. They have a good cocktail selection. I had the snapper for my entree and it was delicious. My husband had the NY strip which was a decomposed cheese steak, sounds strange, but it was excellent! Great service and and all around great dinner.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jupa1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Johnny V also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing