We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Food!”
Review of Johnny V - CLOSED

Johnny V
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 8th street
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredible Food!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We went to Johnny V on the recommendation of the concierge at the Ritz Carlton, and thank goodness we listened to him! This place was fantastic. The restaurant was cool and had a good atmosphere, and the service was excellent, but the FOOD is truly the star at this restaurant. It doesn't need gimmicks; the food speaks for itself! Cheese plate was great, blue corn-crusted calamari appetizer was delicious, but our entrees were stellar! My wife had the filet that was cooked perfectly, but my entree was one for the ages. I had seared Diver Scallops that came on bed of amazingly tender and delicious braised short-rib (which was also on a bed of mashed potatoes) and topped with a chunk of cold lobster salad. For those of you keeping track, that is Scallops, with short rib and lobster...perhaps three of the greatest foods by themselves, perfectly combined into one dish. We would highly recommend Johnny V!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hornfrogbh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    117
    41
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Eclectic, Fun and Food!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Want something different? Try Johnny V's on Las Olas!
You know you are about to experience something out of the ordinary when you are seated with a wine/cocktail/beer list, a dinner menu AND a cheese menu! And BY ALL MEANS, try some of the cheeses- it is a visual experience that matches the taste experience! (And read the cheese menu carefully- trying not to laugh too loudly when you see "it.")
All of the food is as delicious as it is visually stunning. Service is outstanding (Michael is a riot! Ask to be seated in his area if possible).
Johnny V's is not a place to miss!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jeldenbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Ft. Lauderdale”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I are pretty serious foodies and love to try new places. On a recent week-long trip to Lauderdale, we decided to try this place on our first night in town. It turned out to be the best meal of the trip. It was a Tuesday night, so the place was pretty quiet, with the exception of a few folks at the bar who didn't stay for long. We had a great server who was attentive without camping out at our table. The food was fantastic: creative, beautifully presented, delicious. Highlights were the watermelon burrata salad, the tuna appetizer and the "duck 3 ways." We were so stuffed that we had to forgo doing a cheese course at the end of our meal (and their cheese menu was amazing). And PS. nice wine list too. A truly great evening!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JFBWDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Delicious and great Ambience”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Had a very classy lunch here with friends. Food was delicious, great wine list and excellent service. Really like the location for people watching on the patio when the weather is cool enough to sit outside. We will be back whenever we are in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank granddamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food, exceptional service!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

The menu was full of interesting combinations that turned out to be wonderful. The service was exceptional, Greg our wait our waiter was very helpful and attentive! Would definitely recommend to anyone!

Helpful?
1 Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Johnny V also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing