We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“don't waste your time”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Del Mar

Cafe Del Mar
Ranked #296 of 1,326 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Central Beach
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“don't waste your time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Visited here on 7/27--- Manager/Maitre D was completely unprofessional -- yelling at his staff for NO reason in front of all the guests. We also had a 10% coupon--- and realized after we left that we were significantly overcharged ( our fault for not looking, but please remember to look at your receipts before leaving). Too bad-- nice location for people watching-- the entertainment was outstanding.... but the negatives far outweigh the positives. New Manager needed-- and checks needs to be looked at before you leave. Should I end up back in Fort Lauderdale-- I'll be sure to skip this establishment.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LYNDUR2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    180
    112
    76
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
444 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Good Food and View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We dined here on a Saturday night. The ambiance was fantastic and we really loved the people and ocean watching. The food was also excellent though we couldn’t always find our waiter and needed water refills more frequently than he was available. Overall it was a great experience and we’d definitely return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelerCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't eat here unless at bar”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Don't eat here. maître d was a joke talking down on his staff in front of guest... No professionalism. We ordered meatballs and never got them, our server seemed overwhelmed had barley time to service our table and had no support staff. When we asked for our check we had to use our phone calculator to figure out the amount owed. Then no pen was provided or obtainable to sign our receipt , had to go to the bar and get a pen. Top it all off the bathroom attendant was staring me down as I washed my hands, and as I was done with my hands dripping he would not give me a towel until I tipped him. How was I suppose to reach into my pocket with a wet hand! Don't eat here!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravinpatel1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Should have been better!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

The food was average tasting or worse! Service was bad!
The food presentation was good, but when the taste is bad......yuck.... As a semi pro dancer tje music & performance was average!

Helpful?
2 Thank Adventurer996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Terrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I went for dinner at Cafe Del Mar, and I got the worse waiter and his name is Oscar H. We asked for an appetizer and he priced it triple its price. Check your bill and check it twice, because they sneak prices just so they can get a bigger tip. After paying, I waited for the change and he never got back. I have visited this restaurant every year on my vacation, and this was by far the worse service I have gotten. Will never go back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laonela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Del Mar also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Cafe Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing