We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Lauderdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Merriweather Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week back in January. We had a one bedroom unit, and it felt very much like home. There was a casual atmosphere, staff and other guest were very friendly, and we couldn't have asked for a better location. Restaurants and stores were in walking distance, and the ocean was directly across the street. I see some reviews saying the the rooms and furniture are "dated" but I think that was part of the charm. The bed was amazingly comfortable, and the one bedroom unit was more space than my husband and I needed. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know that you enjoyed your vacation at the Merriweather! We sincerely appreciate your kind words and invite you to stay with us next time you are in Ft. Lauderdale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for The Merriweather Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

We discovered this little gem last summer vacation. We wanted a place close to the beach (you just have to cross the street), restaurants and shopping. This place has everything we needed! I loved the room, it was clean and spacious, has everything you need in the kitchen. If you want to save money on breakfast and lunch, just buy your own groceries and feel at home here. I thought it was great for families, but it's also perfect for couples or even people with pets because they're so pet friendly. They have free parking and you can even do your laundry there.
They have a swimmimg pool and grill on the patio. All the restaurants and bars are all close within walking distance. We enjoyed it so much we already booked for this summer's vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cocobettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

We are beyond pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will return this summer.
The hot florida sun and our gorgeous beaches are waiting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This is the second time we stayed at the Merriweather and it was just perfect. Mary Jo was so accomodating and she loved our bulldog Murphy. So pet friendly we intend to return in November and can't wait. Our favorite vacation spot. The location can't be beat right across from the beach

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quatco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

We would love to have you and Murphy back! Looking forward to seeing you here in November. Thank you for taking the time to tell the world that you love the Merriweather!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just returned from our annual Florida trip. My wife, son, and I stayed for four days at the Merriweather. It was our second stay there. Our room was comfortable, spacious, and spotlessly clean. The Merriweather is directly across the street from the beach and a short walk from all of the beachfront activity. It is two doors from the Ritz-Carlton, where you could easily pay twice as much. The staff is friendly and helpful. We plan to return next year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alligator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Great! Thanks for your kind review and we look forward to having you stay with us again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I was there with my family Aug of 2011 we stood for a week. I also recommended a friend and they stood there with there family and were in love with the hotel. The staff is excellent. Rooms are nice and clean and kitchens are well equipped. Look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Thanks for your review and letting the world know that you enjoyed The Merriweather! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We traveled to the Merriweather with our 2 kids during the Presidents Day weekend 2012. The staff was courteous and friendly. Though we would love to be able to give MaryJo and the Merriweather a great review, we cannot. The room was dingy and though it smelled clean initially, the wear and tear it has taken over the years was very obvious. Dirty floors - matted dirt and hair in the corners or the room, dirty bathroom - matted dirt and hair along the walls and in the door frame of the shower, dirty bedroom - old carpeting, the king size bed box spring was laden with stains down the sides of it.. ick! The queen size pull out sofa bed was in horrible condition and couldnt be used for the purpose of a queen size bed. Our kids took turns sleeping on the sofa itself. Fortunately we had brought with us an Aerobed. The hotel is located in between two extremely busy streets and the traffic was NON stop all night long. There was absolutely no relief from the noise. Our last night there we found two COCKROACHES (the office was closed and so we could not contact staff for assistance), and in the morning there was another one in the shower. REALLY DISGUSTING!!! Our check out time was 10am and we couldnt get packed up fast enough. Unfortunately due to lack of cleanliness and constant noise we will not return to this hotel. I wish we'd had the experience that some of the other visitors who wrote reviews had, but my guess is that staying at this hotel is a toss up - you may get lucky with a nice room, or you may not. And there is absolutely no avoiding the noise. No matter what room you have. Would not recommend families with children.

Room Tip: Unfortunately we cannot recommend this hotel due to lack of cleanliness -dingy, cockroaches, and the...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Leigh H,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We take our guest's concerns very seriously and are committed to creating a space that people will enjoy and remember positively. We are deeply sorry that your experience was less than perfect and we are extending our sincere apologies. We enjoyed having you and your family here (including your dog Lily) and would like to invite you back so you may have a chance to experience the best the Merriweather has to offer. It is unfortunate that your experience was as mentioned above and I assure you that every single concern was attended to immediately. As you can see with our numerous excellent reviews, the experience you had was an isolated incident. We always address our guest's needs and wish that we would have known this was happening while you were here as we would have offered you several options as a remedy. We wish you safe and happy travels in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I almost hate to tell folks how nice this place is for fear that when I want to come back there won't be any rooms to rent.

The rooms are excellent we stayed in one of the studio rooms with a fold down queen sized bed that was perfect for our needs.

The room was extremely clean and the staff was helpful and pleasant to work with. Our room #106 had a full kitchen with pots, pans, dishes and little round table for two along with a little eating bar and stools for two more.

If you are looking for a room across the road from the beach this is the perfect spot for you.

Room Tip: I don't know that there is a bad room in the place, we looked at room 101 and it was beautiful w...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beadbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

We just love reading that you enjoyed The Merriweather. We do try very hard to make every guest feel at home and comfortable. Come stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#19 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,719 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,572 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,759 reviews
Central Beach
Marriott's BeachPlace Towers
Marriott's BeachPlace Towers
#33 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,591 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merriweather Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merriweather Resort

Address: 115 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4310
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Class:3 star — The Merriweather Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of beautiful Fort Lauderdale Beach where everything from a swim in the sea to an adventure in the Everglades are at your fingertips. The hotel is located just blocks north of the famed Las Olas Boulevard where exciting nightlife, eclectic shops and fantastic dining are plentiful. We pride ourselves in our cozy home away from home atmosphere. Whether you are a family with children, traveling for business, or just looking to relax, you will feel as though you are at your second home at the beach. We offer free Wi-Fi, daily housekeeping, and a full kitchen in every room. We are confident that you will enjoy our little piece of paradise for your next trip to Fort Lauderdale! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Merriweather Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing