We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret in Fort Lauderdale!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Merriweather Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Fort Lauderdale!”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The Merriweather Resort is the perfect beach location in Fort Lauderdale. It is one of a very small number of low-rise accommodations on a strip of mostly very high-rise accommodations. It is nestled between the Ritz Carlton and the Westin. The view from our unit was what you see as The Merriweather's tripadvisor picture. In one minute we could be on the beach. It is just across the street which is easy to cross.

The property manager, Mary Jo, keeps the place very clean and comfortable. She and her staff fix any issue very quickly and give great advice on sightseeing in the area. The pool area was completely rebuilt a couple years ago and is beautiful and the pool is heated. The Merriweather is just steps from Beach Place which has a drugstore and several shops and restaurants. Other restaurants and bars are a short walk away. We drove some for sightseeing and getting groceries, but mostly we were content to enjoy the beach and restaurants nearby.

Our one-bedroom unit had a large living/dining area and bedroom with a king-size bed with a new firm mattress. There were two bathrooms as well as a large closet and a small closet. The kitchen was very small, but it was fine for the amount of cooking that we did. The wireless internet connection worked well when we set our laptop near the front window, closest to the router in the office.

Thanks to Mary Jo and her staff for making our stay so enjoyable. We will definitely stay at The Merriweather Resort in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second and third floors have a much better view than those on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of our place. we definetly look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    30
    5
    5
    8
See reviews for
64
46
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St-Lazare
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Merriweather only for one night on our way to Key West. We had no reservations in Fort Lauderdale and happily, the Merriweather had one room left! It was a full efficiency unit and was very large for just the two of us but I can imagine how practical this room would be for a few people: full kitchen, living room, two bathrooms. It was very clean as were the grounds and the pool. We were greeted at the front office by a lovely dog and once we settled in and sat outside to admire the beach accross the street, we met two cats, very much like home! The location is fantastic! As I mentioned the beautiful beach is accross the steet and the resort is right on a street lined by bars and restaurants, alot to do and see! i would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Wonderful! We are so glad you decided to stop in and stay with us. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnum Island, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Was a little worried when we traded in to this resort from our Vistana location in Orlando but left town with one of our best vacations ever.Mary Jo and staff are just downright friendly and helpful which only makes the experience sooo much better. You can not find a better location and sitting poolside with a short walk to the beach was the best. Rooms are well kept,super clean and have plenty of room ,or at least our 1 bedroom was! Never have to leave site to have a nice vacation but strip is right there with everything you could want to do or get. Hard rock casino is just a stones throw away as is "Nicks" down in Hollywood,Fla. Cvs is within walking distance to get goodies and stock up the nice kitchen in room........plus the coors light is ice cold. Book at this resort without any doubts----GREAT SPOT!!!!

Room Tip: Mary jo and staff are great,friendly and helpful and in a real way. Made our trip even better and ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
We are so happy that you had an amazing stay with us. your 25th wedding anniversary is a special time and we are thrilled that you spent it with us! Come back soon and we hope you do indeed buy a unit for the family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

The Merriweather had everything my husband and I were looking for in our 3 night stay before our cruise. #1 Great views of the ocean #2 A pool and #3 a place with a kitchen that was bigger than your average hotel room. Also got a 24/7 CVS within a couple of blocks that was not your average CVS and had everything we may have forgotten for our trip. There were places nearby to walk to for eating out, yet, quiet at night for resting and relaxing. Other guests were very friendly, along with staff, and I can see why some people stay for weeks at a time. We could have easily stayed longer!

Room Tip: We were in 101 and it was perfect on the ground floor with views of the ocean. Only problem was get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnes0taSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Wonderful! Please come back and stay longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valdosta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

This place is in the perfect spot on the beach. It is close to everything and the staff is very courteous and helpful. The only problem with rooms is how dated they are. Walking in my first impression was " the golden girls would have loved this place." The furniture badly needs updating and spot cleaning especially the couch. On the other hand the new mattresses they have for the beds are awesome. Given a chance to do over, I'd still definetly stay here!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djdrake12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We can't say enough how we appreciate your kind words and honest opinion. We are in the process of changing out dated furniture. Please stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

When I made my reservation I could only stay 3 of the 5 nights I requested since a large group was previously booked. The last 2 nights I was able to get a good rate at the Westin. I am the type of person who likes to sit outside enjoy the fresh air and sun and relax under the stars at night. I was unable to do this in a large high rise hotel such as the Westin. At the Merriweather Mary Jo and her staff make you feel welcome. And its small size makes it a more personable experiance. The grounds and rooms are well maintained. The rooms have a full kitchen an there are BBQ grills to use if you feel like cooking your own meals. The location can't be beat, within walking distance to shops and restaurants and did I mention the beach is directly accross the street. A previous poster mentioned roaches, yes I saw 2 of them too OUTSIDE my room, but I always kept my door closed and they could not get in. They were the typical big roaches that are all over Florida. Also another plus parking is included. You can pay $25.00 and up a day at the other hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pugslee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
It was great having you here! Thank you for pointing out that our parking is included in the rate, most hotels in the area do charge for parking per day. Thank you for your review and we look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We loved the Merriweather because of the location near the sea. Las Olas is very close and we are close to everything.
The kids liked the pool and our apartment was very clean but we found cockroaches. We first found a very big about 2 inches and then we found five other ... the next morning, we heard one walking on the floor. So we decided to leave this hotel. It's a shame because of these critters we wont come back here. For cons, the service was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarojimQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We agree, our location is awesome and our rooms are exceptionally clean. Regarding the roaches you encountered, we apologize this was your experience. We do have regular pest control services and unfortunately the palmetto bugs are plentiful in Florida, especially near water like we are. After recalling your stay with us, we do not have you listed as leaving early due to this issue. We take each and every concern seriously and because of your review we are taking steps to ensure that room is completely free of any bugs. If you are ever in Ft. Lauderdale again we would love to have you stay with us so you may experience the best we have to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,697 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,545 reviews
Central Beach
Marriott's BeachPlace Towers
Marriott's BeachPlace Towers
#33 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,723 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,800 reviews
Central Beach
Silver Seas Beach Resort
Silver Seas Beach Resort
#94 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merriweather Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merriweather Resort

Property: The Merriweather Resort
Address: 115 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4310
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Class:3 star — The Merriweather Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of beautiful Fort Lauderdale Beach where everything from a swim in the sea to an adventure in the Everglades are at your fingertips. The hotel is located just blocks north of the famed Las Olas Boulevard where exciting nightlife, eclectic shops and fantastic dining are plentiful. We pride ourselves in our cozy home away from home atmosphere. Whether you are a family with children, traveling for business, or just looking to relax, you will feel as though you are at your second home at the beach. We offer free Wi-Fi, daily housekeeping, and a full kitchen in every room. We are confident that you will enjoy our little piece of paradise for your next trip to Fort Lauderdale! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Merriweather Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merriweather Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing