We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Low Key Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Merriweather Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Excellent Low Key Motel”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed here a few times in the 70's and when I returned to Ft Lauderdale 3 years ago while staying at the Ritz, I saw the Merriweather next door. Surprised that it was still there, I knew I would check it out at some point. Well, we stayed here for a night this trip before we spent the weekend at the Ritz for the weekend…. IT WAS FABULOUS! It has the old school charm that is lost now days in the midst of the big hotels.
Check in was a breeze. The owner and staff are all awesome…really really nice. We stayed in a one bedroom suite #101 with view of the ocean. We did not bring our pet but this motel is SUPER pet friendly. The entire unit and grounds were pristine clean in spite of the rooms being around for a LONG time. The kitchen was stocked with better supplies and items than our Residence Suite at the Ritz!! For real! The pans, coffee maker, glasses and utensils are all brand new and everything worked perfectly. There is everything you would need to stay for a long time! The towels were great and the bathroom was spotless. There was a pull out sofa in the living room for our daughter. The sheets were definitely not the Ritz but very soft and spotlessly clean. Pillows were so so and could be better. We had 2 small flatscreen T.V.'s in our unit. There was nothing fancy about this place but the old school charm and excellent location is what it is all about. It had a small but very clean pool with lots of toys for kids and it had a huge patio right outside our door (which seemed to be private) with umbrella tables and a grill. The original shuffle boards were still there with the sticks. It sits on a great location on Ft. Lauderdale beach. The only complaint I had about the room was our keys did not work well. We were there such a short time I did not complain and they had warned us of this. The decor is very old school right out of the 70's beach decor but that is part of the beach charm. The one bedroom suite was 150.00 a night…How can you beat that? We will definitely be back for a longer visit. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobolito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    30
    5
    5
    8
See reviews for
64
44
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Merriweather for a week for the first time at the end of May. The furnishings in the rooms are slightly dated, but the entire resort, including the rooms, is spotless. The resort allows dogs, which is why we chose the Merriweather. We brought our small dog with us and it worked out great. The resort charged $25 for the dog for the week, which is very reasonable. Since we had a dog with us, we were required to have our room cleaned three times during the week. This was not a problem as the cleaning staff were very friendly and accommodating. There was not charge for the cleaning. The front desk staff was friendly, although there were times when we needed to speak with someone, and no one was in the office. We had a problem with one of the showers not draining, and a maintenance person was sent right away to take care of it. The rooms are quite spacious, and our one bedroom even had two bathrooms.

The only problem we had during the week was with the internet. There is "free" internet included, but it was very sporadic and temperamental. The office staff couldn't really help me other than to tell me that the internet was working for her. She advised me to come into the office to see if my internet would work right next to the router. My iPad found the signal, but my lap top didn't. Throughout the rest of the week, the internet would work off and on, which was frustrating. My guess is that the resort is using an old router, and they need to upgrade. Routers aren't that expensive, and a new router would probably make a big difference.

The pool at the resort was very clean, and there were plenty of chairs for everyone who wanted to use the pool. It was nice to be right across the street from the beach, and the office had extra chairs and umbrellas for guests to use.

Overall, we had a great experience at the Merriweather, and will definitely come back.

Room Tip: We had room 104 on the ground floor not too far away from the pool, and we loved this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSullivan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The resort is not new but has been well kept and updated. The employees have been there for many years, so each stay is like going to visit old friends.
The facility is pet friendly and has a very casual atmosphere. There are complimentary beach chairs in the office as well as towels for use at the beach.
Mary Jo, Missy and several others work the front desk. There are always a resident cat or dog in the office to welcome guests.
Clean, comfortable and very a very relaxing atmosphere.

Room Tip: The front rooms have a better ocean view. There is no fitness center or room service but I was unab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The resort is right across the street from the beach. The pool area is always clean and the perfect place to tan. The rooms are big and have a real feel of home to then. They're quiet and cool at night. The best feature are the people who work there. Mary Jo and Missy can always recommend a place for you to visit. There are always pets hanging out with them who are just as friendly as they are. Barbara, Joyce and the other ladies always make sure your room is clean and comfortable. We look forward to seeing them all again while we soak up the sun and fun in Ft. Lauderdale!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhondamgre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, Md
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Back to the Merriweather for 6 wonderful days. Perfect weather Perfect stay, don't miss out on the best spot on the beach. Thanks to Missy and the entire staff for a always to remember Birthday Trip . I hope and plan to return very very soon and would not think of staying anywhere else . The best kept older hotel on the A1A, neat, clean and always well maintained and safe. The pool and grounds are beautiful and they are pet friendly for those in need. Don't past by this Gem of Fort Lauderdale a great family place to stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LovesLauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fortlaud1212, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thanks! I'm so happy you had a great birthday here! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

the merriweather is a 1950s low rise property with easy access to the beach and restaurants, etc. I can be on the beach before guests at neighboring properties can even leave their building. I have freinds in the area....and its nice they can come visit without the cold experiences of elevators, hallways, etc. when they knock on my door....they see and hear the ocean....not the hustle and bustle of a hall full of maids carts. I've been coming here for over 10 years, and mary jo, missy, joyce, are all helpful and nice. Often i have to make many inquiries about dates, etc as I work on air travel etc....I'm sure its no fun to juggle reservations and things for a guest 6 times before finally booking...but mary jo and missy are allways nice and understanding. the sleep sofas recently had upgraded mattresses put in...so if you have a guest who is staying with you, its better than most sleep sofas. while some like to dine out for a week while on vacation...I like to cook a little and often eat in. since i work a lot when home...i don't have time to cook much...on vacation...I can barbecue or whatever since there are grills and a full kitchen here. I don't live my life at home in one room...and I don't have to here either. the beach is great for some sun...but also great for an evening or morning walk. and while it has nothing to do with the resort....I've met some great people from all over the country here. people often sit out on the veranda to have a drink or read, enjoying the view and sound of the ocean. next door is a fancy 30 story ritz carlton....they also recognize the beach here is incredible...but I'll allways choose here...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manchguy03103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fortlaud1212, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thanks for always choosing us! Your review is a great example of the Merriweather and we appreciate you taking the time to write it. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

After staying at the Hilton, Marriott, and Westin, it was time to return to traditional Floridian accommodations. We rented the penthouse, a 2 bedroom and 2 bath unit on the third floor from 12/30 - 1/7/14. It was perfect, great view, full kitchen, washer/dryer and deck. Why pay the prices of the big hotels on the beach when one can enjoy a small quaint resort such as the Merriweather. Don't get me wrong, it does not have the lavish furnishings of the big resorts but it has everything you need to enjoy a stay in Ft. Lauderdale. Seeing pets on the property gives it a home touch if you like animals. Such a great place to stay will be returning in a week for a five day stay. Emnma the cat made herself comfortable in our unit for an evening. She was a great guest.

Room Tip: The penthouse is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fortlaud1212, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Awwwwww thanks for giving our Emma some TLC, she's been with us for over 10 years now. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,486 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,658 reviews
Central Beach
Marriott's BeachPlace Towers
Marriott's BeachPlace Towers
#35 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Silver Seas Beach Resort
Silver Seas Beach Resort
#84 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
97 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,020 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merriweather Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merriweather Resort

Property: The Merriweather Resort
Address: 115 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4310
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Class:3 star — The Merriweather Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of beautiful Fort Lauderdale Beach where everything from a swim in the sea to an adventure in the Everglades are at your fingertips. The hotel is located just blocks north of the famed Las Olas Boulevard where exciting nightlife, eclectic shops and fantastic dining are plentiful. We pride ourselves in our cozy home away from home atmosphere. Whether you are a family with children, traveling for business, or just looking to relax, you will feel as though you are at your second home at the beach. We offer free Wi-Fi, daily housekeeping, and a full kitchen in every room. We are confident that you will enjoy our little piece of paradise for your next trip to Fort Lauderdale! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Merriweather Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merriweather Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing