We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glenn A. An extroadinary experience, top of the line all the way round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
Ranked #55 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Glenn A. An extroadinary experience, top of the line all the way round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

I just returned from a very special weekend at this very special resort. this is my first trip advisor review, but i felt compelled to share it with fellow travelers.
everything from the warm welcome from the manager, to the entire professional and friendly staff, to the services offered, to the beautifully designed rooms and grounds, friendly guests, to the.... well i could go on and on. you always take a risk going to a new resort from an internet site, but in this case, the internet site doesn't do justice to what awaits you. it's also one one the few resorts in florida that offers a full bar, a restaurant, a gym, spa, etc. i know i'm going on and on like some swooning fan, but i guess now i am.
i wish the owners of this special resort the best, they gave me a lovely weekend-- and i look forward to going back. check it out, i guarantee you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: a couple of tips. if you like a quiet relaxing stay, request a room in the rear section of the resor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glennalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPAmbassador, Ambassador at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Glenn,

Thank you for your kind words. We know that it is often a risk when you select a property solely from an internet site, but as you experienced, this time it didn't let you down. Our staff is dedicated each and every day to making your stay with us beyond compare. We knew that when we moved to our new home after 20 years in our original location, that we were pioneering a new era in gay travel and it has certainly been a great time so far.

Our spa staff is the best in the business and as you noted, you should book early to insure availability. Seems like everyone wants to experience the difference.

We are anxiously awaiting your return visit. It was our honor and pleasure to spend your birthday with you and wish you many happy returns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    128
    48
    39
    22
See reviews for
20
293
182
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

I can't say enough about my Nov 2011 stay at the Royal Palms. From the moment I checked in (I was actually escorted to my room) to moment I checked out (Philip, the front desk mgr, personally found me to inform me that my taxi arrived), every need and detail was taken care of professionally, personably, and always with a smile. The entire place is brand new, clean, well appointed, and EVERY staff member went out of their way to make sure that my stay was the best it could be. Besides the spotlessly clean and beautiful rooms, two pools, fitness center, and spa, they serve great food, have an amazing bar (thanks Russell and Matt), and host community events, movie nights and T-dances. Finally, a resort that both serves and represents the gay community well. I can't wait to go back in Feb 2011.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPAmbassador, Ambassador at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Good Morning Anthony,

What amazing praise! We are so glad that The Royal Palms exceeded your expectations during your stay with us. Russell, Matt and Philip are examples of our dedication to guest service. We will surely pass along your compliments to them.

Moving into our new home this year and becoming a full service gay hotel, has allowed us to bring you amenities not often found in guesthouses. Our full service day spa, Bar and Grill and amazing poolside events make The Royal Palms THE place to stay.

We look forward to your return visit soon. Please accept our thanks for your patronage. If you would like to stay up to date on all the happenings at The Royal Palms, why not follow us on social media or subscribe to our monthly newsletter by e mailing or calling our friendly 24 hour concierge staff. We are sure they would love to hear from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

My boyfriend and I just stayed at the Royal Palms the weekend of 11/11/2011. I was expecting your average looking place and service but it was the complete oppostite. The place was Very well kept and clean and the service was amazing. Philip at the front desk was the most helpful caring person making sure that all our needs were met, my boyfriend and I wanted to have a nice romantic dinner somewhere and he new just the place to go.The rooms were crisp and clean and so was the pool areas and fitness center. We ate Breakfast and lunch almost everyday there and the food was amazing you could tell it was fresh and not just heated up in a microwave. We also got to attend the T-dance which turned out to be alot bigger then i thought it was going to and it was alot of fun. My boyfriend and i are already planning our next trip to The Royal Palms and most likely wont stay anywhere else when visiting the area. By far a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPAmbassador, Ambassador at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
We are so very glad that we met and exceeded your expectations of a gay hotel. As the largest full service gay men's hotel, we take great pride in our staff anticipating your every need and making your stay with us comfortable, convenient and memorable. Philip is a shining example of our commitment to quality and service.

Chef Alan and his staff are glad that you enjoyed having lunch and breakfast with us. Our ingredients are always fresh and prepared to order.

Experiencing our T Dance for the first time is always something to remember during your trip. It is a fun filled afternoon with friends old and new with amazing DJ's and entertainment that is beyond compare here in South Florida.

Thanks again for your kind words. We are already looking forward to your next stay. Subscribe to our monthly newsletter to keep up with all the goings on here at The Royal Palms. Simply e mail or call our 24 hour concierge. You can also stay up to date by following us on social media.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daviduk7
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

I've just returned from a stay at the Royal Palms. It's my first time at the new location and it's just great! Much improved facilities and location, one short block from the beach. The staff are fantastic especially Philip (front desk manager) who goes out of his way to help you.

The rooms are stylish yet comfortable. 24 hour coffee station is great. Restaurant on site serves good food. I missed out on the Tuesday night dive-in movie but plan to return soon to sample for myself!

To summarise, a great hotel in a great location!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daviduk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPAmbassador, Ambassador at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Thank you for staying with us David. It was indeed our pleasure to serve you. Our entire staff is committed to making your experience with us memorable. We are glad that you enjoyed the sleek stylish setting in our new home. As the largest full service gay hotel, we strive to provide value and amenities which are comparable to any mainstream hotel you may visit.

If you didn't have the opportunity to patronize the spa during your visit take advantage of it next time. It is sheer bliss.

To stay up to date on the latest happenings at the Royal Palms, subscribe to our monthly newsletter by e-mailing or calling our 24 hour concierge. You can also follow us on social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

My partner and I have stayed at the old Royal Palms (now Lush Royale) 6 or 7 times. While we still like the old spot a lot, the new RP exceeded our expectations! The renovation of this property is fantastice and spectacular! We were totally impressed by the staff starting with Phillip at the front desk who always called us by name, and always checked to see how our stay was going. Russell and Dean at the grill/bar were also extremely friendly and made sure we always had everything we needed. The entire staff was evidently concerned totally with high quality service. We were also very impressed with the food quality, it was outstanding! We also visited during two big events, the Ruff Riders calendar release party for the Animal Rescue Foundation (ARF!), and the monthly T-dance benefiting a local shelter. The events were definitely well done and fun and we were impressed that the resort does so much for the community! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPAmbassador, Ambassador at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Thank you for staying with us Jack. We were all honored to make some new friends while you were here. Philip, Russell and Dean are great examples of our commitment to exceeding our guests' expectations during their stay.

We are glad that you found the resort as "fantastic and spectacular" as we do. Our devotion to giving back to the community is evident as you saw during the charity calendar launch during your visit. We bet the new artwork looks great in your home and so many needy animals will benefit from your generousity. Thank you for being a part of such a special night with us. Our monthly T Dance always draws a crowd as you saw.

If you would like to stay up to date on the goings on at The Royal Palms, why not subscribe to our monthly newsletter? Simply e mail or call our helpful 24 hour concierge for assistance. You may also choose to follow us on social media.

Thanks again for your patronage. We are already looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

I have been to several Fort Lauderdale guesthouses and decided to give the ne Royal Palms a try. The outside is very inviting and tasteful and was greeeted by hte charming and hellpful Philip at the Front Desk. The resort has been well put together in a very bright and clean design. Two very nice pools, but suprised that nobody thought to put in a hot tub whihc hwas very much missed. All in all, a very nice visit and Philip continued to be charming and helpful throughtout

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPAmbassador, Ambassador at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Richard,

Thank you for your kind words. Philip is a shining example of our entire staff's commitment to exceeding your expectations while staying at the largest full service gay men's resort. We constantly strive to make your stay here an experience like no other. If you didn't have the opportunity to spend time in our day spa, consider it on your next visit.

If you would like to keep up with all the happenings at the Royal Palms, why not follow us on social media or call our 24 hour concierge to subscribe to our monthly newsletter.

Once again, we are happy that you enjoyed your visit with us and are already looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbelt, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We visited the Royal Palms in October, and had a great time. The resort is very close to the beach and immaculate! All the staff members were extremely friendly and the room was very spacious. The spa was great, the bar was great, the food was great, the location was great! At first, when we noticed that there wasn't a phone in the room, we were a little dismayed. However, the resort is so small that whenever we needed something, I just went to the front desk and it was brought to us immediately. The only drawback was that the bed was very creaky. However, when we checked out, I told the staff and they were going to take a look at it, so I'm sure it has been replaced by now! We've already started talking about going back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theatreguy2370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPAmbassador, Ambassador at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
We are excited to hear about your experience here at The Royal Palms Resort and Spa. Thank you for spending time with us. We know that it is a little different to not have telephones inside each room, and hope that you did not find it inconvenient. Our staff prides itself in anticipating your every need while here at the largest full service gay resort.

Your observation regarding the bed creaking has been addressed and we are working through a solution right now. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

If you haven't done so, you may wish to subscribe to our monthly newsletter. It features specials and an events calendar so that all of our guests can more readily plan their stay with us here. You may also wish to follow us on social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#27 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beach Gardens
#64 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Central Beach
Soleado Hotel
Soleado Hotel
#33 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Central Beach
The Fortuna Hotel
The Fortuna Hotel
#39 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort & Spa

Property: Royal Palms Resort & Spa
Address: 717 Breakers Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4119
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical sensuality meets chic urban design at The Royal Palms Resort and Spa in Fort Lauderdale. Nestled in the seaside neighborhood of North Beach Village, the sleek, stylish and sexy 66 room resort creates an intimate oasis just one short block from Ft. Lauderdale Beach. Stellar round-the-clock service and luxurious amenities such as a Bar, Grill, Spa and Fitness Center, all enhance the boutique-style enticement. The Royal Palms celebrates diversity by maintaining an all welcoming, atmosphere where creative minds and bodies can rejuvenate. We offer travelers who are twenty-one and older the opportunity to enjoy kids-free environments that encourage a higher level of relaxation. Following the mission of North Beach Village, you will be sure to gather feelings of love and happiness, while creating lasting memories of your time in this seaside destination. Play hard, rest well and indulge in all the Royal Palms and North Beach Village has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Palms Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Palms Hotel Fort Lauderdale
The Royal Palms Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing