We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oustanding Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
Ranked #56 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oustanding Experience”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

First time to stay at the RP. It was an amazing stay and already planning a return trip. Great location one block from the Beach and a short walk to the water taxi and main strip with temporary Ocean view until the new Condos are built across street. Slept like a baby. Brand new mattresses throughout. Philip the GM was very gracious and he runs a tight ship, even saw him painting one afternoon making me nervous as he was walking on the roof and guard rail ledges.....lol. He upgraded our room since it was our first stay. The staff was amazing and the grounds and rooms were spotless. Staff was always wiping and cleaning something. Very classy establishment far different from the other "like kind" places in the area. Only place to stay while in Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rp3127, General Manager at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Bryan R,
We are so happy for the opportunity to have you join us here on our property. It gives me great pleasure to know you felt comfortable, slept like a baby and notice how nicely maintained we keep the building. We want all our guest to know, just how much we take great pride in our beautiful resort. We are glad you were able to take advantage of our beautiful beaches and exciting water taxis. We can't wait till your next visit. You are family now and come visit us anytime ! Be sure next time to stop by the Plaza Bistro for dinner and live music ! See you soon !!

Philip LaFond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    129
    51
    41
    22
See reviews for
21
296
184
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

An awesome hotel and staff. This was my partner and I first time staying here while he was on a business trip. We stayed on the top floor which we can see the sea from the balcony. The place was very clean and the staff was very friendly and professional. Their restaurant have an AMAZING burger and other type of food. Juan (the bartender from Colombia) make some of the best drinks I ever had.

The only thing I did not like was the smoking in the resort but I can somewhat tolerate it. Wish there was a designated spot for smoking though.

Other than that, We are planning to make this hotel our annual destination. Thank you for all your hospitality :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mtneer_Eban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rp3127, General Manager at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Mtneer_Eban ,
Thank you for your most recent stay. We are sorry to hear you had to work but we are glad to know we were able to make it enjoyable ! The beautiful ocean views, great food and nice staff are just a few of things we offer !! Next time, make sure to stop by the Spa and gym. We want to be sure you get the full experience. Juan is great and his drinks are even better : ) We look forward to your visit. We will be sure to have your burger and drink ready for you ! See you soon.

Philip LaFond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My partner and I just got back from our Fort Lauderdale getaway trip and we can't say enough of how great our overall experience was at The Royal Palms Resort and Spa. Phillip and the entire staff were very friendly, displayed personalized service, and went out of their way to make our trip personal and enjoyable.

This was seen by every member of the team and I can't thank them enough for showcasing true hospitality at its finest. Being a hotelier myself, I was thoroughly impressed by this team and they should be commended. I personally thanked Phillip and would recommend this hotel over any. Our kudos and appreciation to the entire team.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the perfect view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rp3127, General Manager at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Bill H,
Thank you for your sincere review. Its nice to know , hard work pays off. I'm truly honored to know, someone of your caliber , was very impressed in our accommodations and service. We always take great pride in our customer service , and our property. Everyday we look for new ways to keep improving and ensuring our guest come first. We can't thank you enough for your business and joining us. We want to make everyone feel like family. We want to build relationships and ever lasting friendships. It's a great feeling , and want everyone to experience that, love and happiness. See you soon Bill. Thank you so much !

Philip LaFond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

A friend ands I recently enjoyed a five day stay. We returned this year after having an excellent visit last year. The hotel continues to be a fun and friendly place with a great staff. The property is always clean - no stray cigarette butts, empty glasses or even twigs or plants that dropped on the pool deck. The staff (special mention to Brian, Jeremy, Ryan and the cleaning crew) went out of their way to provide a great experience.

There has been a lot of chatter about the Royal Palms no longer being exclusively a gay resort. While we were there we saw a few women but it was no big deal. I'll continue to return.

Room Tip: There are two buildings - the one in front near the bar is naturally louder. The back building and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WineLuvrMilwaukee_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rp3127, General Manager at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
WineLuvrMilwaukee_W
Comfortable and Friendly is exactly who we are !! Thank you so much for your stay and making the Royal Palms your home away from home. We want to continue to always be fun and energetic . Our Sunday T - Dances are one party you do not want to miss !! Thank you for noticing the beautiful grounds and great staff ! I will be sure to let them know . Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this great review. We will be counting down the days till your return !

Philip LaFond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Excellent Hotel and Staff; Ryan T. was very helpful in assisting with our reservation. We have stayed here on two different occasions, 16 months apart, and have received very courteous and professional service both times. The rooms are immaculate and the location is convenient to the beach. The staff does an excellent job of maintaining the property.

Room Tip: This trip, we stayed on the second level by the back pool, room 2209; The first trip, we stayed on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

A group of friends and I spent a long weekend at the resort and we enjoyed the accomodations, facilities and food & beverage very much. Philip (GM) and the entire staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make our trip enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rp3127, General Manager at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Cody L,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We truly appreciate your business. We are happy to know you and your friends had a wonderful stay with us ! We look forward to your next visit ! Please feel free to keep up with all our latest events on facebook !

Philip Lafond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Royal Palms is under new ownership and part of an investor's holdings of modest, 60's-era Fort Lauderdale motels (North Beach Village resorts). At its old location it was a cute all-gay motel, but the new owner moved the Royal Palms name to a different motel in the same area. The new place is anything but royal. It's a mundane motel surrounding a concrete patio with a bland pool and bar. The rooms and lobby may have been stylishly redecorated but, as other reviewers have written, the property is otherwise pretty drab. And while the owner still calls it gay, it's just gay-friendly, and there are very better gay-friendly alternatives in town.

More important, I question the integrity of their business practices. In January, my partner and I booked a room for March for $139. When we arrived, the same room was listed for $199 and we were turned away due to an "overbooking situation." Our reservation had already been transferred to a room at a smaller, cheaper motel owned by the same company (without even an offer to refund the difference in cost). Maybe an honest mistake or maybe the owner uses the well-known Royal Palms name to lure guests who are then sent to his other properties as needed. I'd have been less angry if the manager had called us at any time before our arrival to notify us that our room had been sold so we could have booked somewhere else.

We will never again book at any of the North Beach Village resorts.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank WaterMillTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rp3127, General Manager at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
WaterMillTraveler,
We are deeply sadden to hear about your most recent stay. I can promise you this is not the norm. We apologize for error on our behalf. Due to peak season, and unforeseen emergencies that may arise, we are sorry we had to move your room to another location. We honestly cherish your business and hope you will give us another opportunity to have you join us. We will continue to improve and I will be sure we communicate better when emergencies arise. Thank you for your feedback , it will not go unheard. Please give us another chance, we hope to hear from you soon !

Philip Lafond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,017 reviews
Central Beach
The Fortuna Hotel
The Fortuna Hotel
#41 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
176 reviews
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Soleado Hotel
Soleado Hotel
#29 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
92 reviews
Beach Gardens
#66 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
243 reviews
Winterset Hotel
#74 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort & Spa

Property: Royal Palms Resort & Spa
Address: 717 Breakers Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4119
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical sensuality meets chic urban design at The Royal Palms Resort and Spa in Fort Lauderdale. Nestled in the seaside neighborhood of North Beach Village, the sleek, stylish and sexy 66 room resort creates an intimate oasis just one short block from Ft. Lauderdale Beach. Stellar round-the-clock service and luxurious amenities such as a Bar, Grill, Spa and Fitness Center, all enhance the boutique-style enticement. The Royal Palms celebrates diversity by maintaining an all welcoming, atmosphere where creative minds and bodies can rejuvenate. We offer travelers who are twenty-one and older the opportunity to enjoy kids-free environments that encourage a higher level of relaxation. Following the mission of North Beach Village, you will be sure to gather feelings of love and happiness, while creating lasting memories of your time in this seaside destination. Play hard, rest well and indulge in all the Royal Palms and North Beach Village has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Palms Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Palms Resort And Spa
The Royal Palms Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing