We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
Ranked #58 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Fort myers
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

This was a great place! Well kept, friendly and affordable. I would highly recommend. My partner and I went for a getaway weekend. We were upgraded rooms with no charge. The staff are friendly and the environment is nice! Will go again!! Thank you for a great stay!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dschube1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dschube1,
We are so happy to hear you were able to sneak away for the weekend and join us! The Royal Palms is an exceptional value, with all the amazing amenities at your disposal. We take great pride in our customer service and our beautiful property. We thank you for recommending us! The best advertising is always word of mouth. We look forward to your next visit. Remember, we also offer yoga classes on the weekends and our Sunday T-dance is a party not to be missed. We can't wait till your next visit ! Follow us on Facebook for our upcoming specials and events we have in stored! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    129
    50
    40
    22
See reviews for
20
296
182
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amityville, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have stayed at Royal Palms for years and years. It is nearly the only place I think of when I think of Fort Lauderdale. I stayed there this month from June 2 through June 9, 2014, and unfortunately, this is not going to be a good review at all. Let me start off by saying that I am critically allergic to mold -- I can be hospitalized if I am exposed to mold for too long. Now that I have raised the issue, I guess you can tell what occurred.
I was in Room 1205 in the front building. When I arrived, the room had a musty smell, but I put that down to the fact that it had been raining on the day that I arrived. WOW, was I wrong. I asked the front desk to change the linens on the bed thinking that was the cause of the smell -- nope. The mold was actually all through the air conditioner in the room - the black mold just filled the air conditioner unit. I have photographs of the mold that I was able to wipe out of the air conditioner but each photo exceeds the 5MB size limit on this site so I can't post it. If anyone wants copies of the pictures, please feel free to contact me and I will e-mail them to you. The amount of mold turned white wash clothes into black piles of mold. It was just disgusting.
I stopped using the air conditioner in the trip and started leaving the windows open in the hope that the mold would abate. No, it just got worse. I had a terrible reaction to the mold and ended up in the hospital immediately upon landing at JFK Airport in New York. I went from the airport directly to the emergency room. I spent the night in Mercy Medical Center in New York, and then started a course of steroids, epinephrine, and antihistamine for an additional five days.
It was just terrible. Mold only gets that bad when there is insufficient daily cleaning. I am so disappointed in Royal Palms. It was always my favorite place to go, but being hospitalized after a vacation means that something was terribly wrong. I can't take the chance on staying there again. No matter how nice the people may be, health has to come before loyalty. Sorry everyone, but I think that everyone deserves sparkling clean accommodations.

Room Tip: The room is in a good location -- the front building is in the heart of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Chris32NY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Chris32NY1,
We are truly very sorry to hear about your recent experience here at the Royal Palms. We know in the past you had wonderful experiences with us and to hear this happen, sincerely breaks our heart. We have taken immediate action, and have called upon our entire team to remove all air conditioning units out of the rooms for a deep clean. We can promise you this will not go unnoticed. There is no excuse for this not being done. With the past busy season, it is very hard to get this done while guests are here on property. Now, being summer time we can execute this and can ensure upon your return you will not have this issue again. I hope you will give us another opportunity. Management is always on property, if at any time, you felt sick, or uncomfortable, please notify us immediately. We could have fixed this issue at that time. We are deeply sorry again. We hope you will gives us another opportunity. We would love to personally welcome you back compliments of us, to show you, that we listened and have taken the correct actions to fix this. We appreciate your honest feedback. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were planning a trip to Ft Lauderdale for Memorial Day weekend and booked the Royal Palms on the recommendation of a friend. So glad that we did! The rooms are absolutely beautiful, the food was fantastic and the service is top notch. The general manager Philip and his staff (specifically asst. manager Brian and Jeremy, Juan and Nolan at the bar/cafe) made our stay there unforgettable. One block from the beach and just a few minutes walk from the gay beach (Sebastian St) it's just an easy ride to all the hot spots in Wilton Manors. We have added Ft. Lauderdale to our list of annual vacations and will be staying at the Royal Palms every time!

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are close to the pool and bar; rooms in the back are around the back pool. Eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TimmyAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
TimmyAtl,
Thank you so much for taking your friends recommendations and staying with us! We are very happy to hear all the wonderful things about your stay. You have summed it all up! With seductive sandy beaches, sultry swimming pools, an abundance of gay business and resorts, plus add a vibrant cultural scene, it’s no wonder why travelers are flocking to North beach village for some R&R. We look forward to your next stay! Thank you again for taking the time and leaving us such a great review! If you have a moment, follow us on facebook, to see our Summer Specials and upcoming parties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The entire staff of the Royal Palms is attentive, courteous, and concerned with every detail. Manager Phillip, Asst Manager Brian oversee all operations to assure your visit is one that before you leave you are looking forward to your next reservation.

The bar is friendly not only with guests but the locals that frequent it. Juan, Jeremy, Alex, Nolan and Steven all make sure you want to stay and have "another one". They assure you are satisfied with your food order. Ritchie and Tommy, the chef's, coordinating with the bartenders assure prompt meals. You can wake up to complimentary coffee or call it an evening with a bartenders special cocktail.

Every Sunday, the Funday Sunday pool party event draws a huge crowd of locals. Like clockwork Phillip works his way through the crowd all day stopping to chat with everyone to make sure all is good and if perhaps due to the crowd size someone feels neglected, he makes sure your wants are taken care of. If you didn't know Phillip was the boss, you would be surprised because no matter how menial an immediate task may be, he is there to fulfill a request.

The hotel sits one block from the Atlantic Ocean and offers a fantastic sunrise view of the beach.

Room Tip: The front pool is great for socializing or the back pool is much quieter. Either gets the sun in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
MarkO,
Mark we can't thank you enough for your loyal and continued support! We truly appreciate your business and so happy you have made the Royal Palms your 2nd home. As a local, it's great the Royal Palms opens it's door and welcomes all to join us each and every day. With a beautiful morning walk on the beach, breakfast, lunch, and dinner with amazing ocean views, and a ice cold one to cool down the summer heat, life is good. We are so happy to have met you, you have really became a family member. Philip and his entire team will really appreciate the kind words. We look forward to seeing you soon!! Thank you again for taking the time to leave us such a glowing review! Next time you here, be sure to stop by the Bonnet house just next door! They have officially open their doors just outside our hotel, now all guests can simply just walk outside and enjoy the historic side of Fort Lauderdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was the first time staying at the Royal Palms. The booking, reservations, check in and out were quick and easy. Philip and the entire staff, Nolan, Jeremy, Juan, and others were the most welcoming and friendly team. The food and drinks were very good and reasonably priced. The rooms were comfortable and modern. Overall it was a great experience and will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Ken B,

Thank you so much for giving the Royal Palms the opportunity to have you here with us. We are truly thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful time! Our friendly team can't thank you enough for your kind words. As you mentioned, the Royal Palms offers so much for a great value that is afforded to all travelers. With the bar, café, spa and gym, everything you need is here on the property. Be sure to come back soon, we are adding 16 one bedroom apartments with full kitchens, walk in closets and living rooms for entertaining guests. For more information, follow us on facebook! Thank you Ken, we look forward to your next arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The experience was Great! Booking was quick & easy. Ryan warmly greeted us and our stay cation began. Our Suite was well appointed w/special amenities. At the Pool Bar Nolan remembered our drinks and the food was very good. We also dined at the Plaza Bistro excellent and attended an event at a sister property. I wish we could have stayed for T-Dance. Another Stay Cation is in our future!!

Room Tip: Our room was near front pool and noise wasn't an issue. I feel super quiet rooms would be the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark33021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Mark33021,
We are so fortunate to have join us. Thank you for spending your stay-cation with us! As you mentioned, booking is simple and easy! You can always call us, email or go online at www.royalpalms.com. Ryan and our Front desk staff are always here with open arms anticipating your arrival. Nolan and the bar staff, really make the extra effort in remembering drinks, names and food preferences. These are the little things that make a big difference. We are so happy you hear you took our recommendation of the Plaza Bistro and truly enjoyed your experience there! They also offer live music on the weekends. Remember, each and every Sunday is T-Dance. Come back and join us anytime. Party starts at 2 pm. Mark, once again we thank you for visiting us. Don't be shy, and stop by soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Royal Palms is a short walk to the beach! I enjoyed the "boutique" feel of this property and the front desk team and bartender are super friendly and ready to please. The rooms are thoughtfully appointed and comfortable. Overall a terrific experience from the time of booking the room to my departure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elliott1260713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
elliott1260713,
Thank you so much for your kind review. Isn't it lovely to walk outside our doors and be steps away from the beautiful beaches of Fort Lauderdale! From the moment you walk in until your departure, we truly want our guest to feel like royalty! We can't wait till your next visit. Remember, were only a phone call away! Come back and take advantage of our summer special! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beach Gardens
#65 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Central Beach
Soleado Hotel
Soleado Hotel
#28 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Central Beach
The Fortuna Hotel
The Fortuna Hotel
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort & Spa

Property: Royal Palms Resort & Spa
Address: 717 Breakers Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4119
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical sensuality meets chic urban design at The Royal Palms Resort and Spa in Fort Lauderdale. Nestled in the seaside neighborhood of North Beach Village, the sleek, stylish and sexy 66 room resort creates an intimate oasis just one short block from Ft. Lauderdale Beach. Stellar round-the-clock service and luxurious amenities such as a Bar, Grill, Spa and Fitness Center, all enhance the boutique-style enticement. The Royal Palms celebrates diversity by maintaining an all welcoming, atmosphere where creative minds and bodies can rejuvenate. We offer travelers who are twenty-one and older the opportunity to enjoy kids-free environments that encourage a higher level of relaxation. Following the mission of North Beach Village, you will be sure to gather feelings of love and happiness, while creating lasting memories of your time in this seaside destination. Play hard, rest well and indulge in all the Royal Palms and North Beach Village has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Royal Palms Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Palms Resort And Spa
The Royal Palms Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing